We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in Valparaiso”

Delicatessen Emporio
Ranked #60 of 441 Restaurants in Valparaiso
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Lugar intimo y acogedor con variada gastronomia y enfasis en el servicio.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Valparaiso”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We saw this restaurant written up in a weekly bulletin that was posted in our hostal and decided to give it a try. It was a long walk downhill from where we were and we arrived there just as we were about to give up on finding it. We were glad we did. It's a prix fixe menus with aperitif, starter (we had the soup) main meal (roasted chicken with risotto) and dessert (tiramisu). There were other more exotic options available, such as salmon and a ceviche starter, but we weren't feeling adventurous that night. No matter, it was all delicious and well-presented. The tiramisu was just ok, but the desserts in Chile always seem a bit underwhelming. In this case, the filling was eggy rather than creamy. This is a minor complaint, however. We would definitely return here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hgavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    50
    10
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best meals of my life!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stumbled upon this place because it was on the same street as our hostal and holy cow... It was outstanding. For about $6,000 pesos I had a pisco sour, an amazing salmon ceviche, a huge and flavorful piece of albacore with rice and an incredible blackberry mousse. My husband had a delicious Caesar salad, authentic gnocchi and the best cream brûlée we've ever tasted. GO!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great little restaurant”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I really liked this place with only a few tables - short menu with daily specials, veey good and affordable, and the service was excellent. The interior was also nice, even the music - I can really recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lars A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent fodd and supreb service!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Walking around the steep streets of Valparaiso we stumbled into this nice looking restaurant for lunch. Who would've known that the food would be exquisite for this price (Daily specials). The price included soup or salad, main entree, drink, desert and even a Pisco sour. The restaurant owners are the servers and cooks. No wonder we had this great experience. They took over the restaurant 6 months ago and have turned it into one of the best restaurants in town. Their daily specials even accommodate for Gluten Free needs. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oscar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Little Gem”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stumbled upon it while wandering, and glad we did. Food was incredible, service impeccable. The pisco sour was the best I'd had in Chile, and I definitely sampled a LOT.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dragonflyto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delicatessen Emporio also viewed

Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 

Been to Delicatessen Emporio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing