We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ViaVia Hotel Valparaiso
Ranked #5 of 97 Valparaiso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We found this highly rated on booking.com and the price was very reasonable, so we booked last minute before leaving from Santiago. The owners are from Belgium and they have done a nice job of remodleing this art deco house. The breakfast was very good, offering cereal, fresh juice, breads, cheeses, fruit etc. The location was great, just a few steps from all of the artsy shops and cafes. Great views of the town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 129 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2012

I stayed at ViaViaCafe with my cousin this weekend and we really loved this place. The owner and the rest of the staff are amazingly friendly, funny and always willing to help. The room and bathroom were super clean and breakfast is a real treat! The location as well is good, just on Cerro Alegre, were you can find all the restaurants and shops! Again, can only recommend this place!
PS: the value is the best I had so far in Chile, by far!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannes21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

My partner and I spent two nights at Via Via Cafe this past week and absolutely loved it! The staff was welcoming, charming, and the breakfast was amazing! We are so happy with our choice, we cant wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

We had the most lovely time staying at Via Via. The service was impeccable – both friendly and competent, with everything taken care of even before we knew we needed it. We had the very spacious corner room (El Aconcagua, room 2) with the lovely view and over rooftops towards the harbour from one side, and down into the secluded courtyard of the café from the other. The décor was simplistic, but in keeping with the Art Deco architecture of the building. The food was outstanding! The only problem I found was that it was so delicious, and the choices so to my liking, that I often ordered more food than I really needed!

We enjoyed the services of Christian the Van Man who drove us from Santiago airport to Valpo after a late flight (much more pleasant than trying to do the public transport thing late at night). He also put us in contact with Michael the German Pirate, who gave us two informative, fun days of tours – one around Valpo, the other down south to Neruda’s house and environs. We saw sides to the city that we wouldn’t have normally had access to (and he ensured that we knew which areas to steer clear of when alone). A very unique experience and highly recommended.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the El Aconcagua room (room 2) - large with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bontaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We enjoyed our stay immensely, friendly staff, good wine, excellent service in every way. Quiet at night, different spacious rooms. I would recommend it to anyone, except maybe people with trouble walking stairs, as there are no elevators and the house are some steep stairs from the street level.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbergaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We arrived one morning at 8am after an overnight bus fro La Serena, we had no reservation.
The lovely cleaning lady opened us the door, and sat us down to a coffee and some warmth!
She then called the owners who told us that yes they did have a room that night, and that they thought the people were leaving early, so we could put our bags down in our room, and go freshened up. Having travelled 50 countries, it is a rare occurence to have that happen, and demonstrates some of the nicest customer service I have ever experienced. As if that weren't enough, their location is great on one of the many Cerro's of Valparaiso, looking out on the bay and at the sunrise! The rooms are clean and very roomy, but the BEST thing about this hotel is THE FOOD!! Price quality were of a level I have hardly ever seen or tasted. And just in case my wife and I weren't true to our sense due to the long night and no sleep, we ate all of our meals at their restaurant, and were blown away every time! Their lunch special is particularly well priced and really REALLY good! We told them to never fire their chef, they promised us they wouldn't!! This location is new, the owners and staff are just great and super accomodating. Maybe as they develop they could introduce televisions in their rooms, or have a common area, but aside from that, it was an absolute pleasure to be there.... really!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WildLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Visited Via Via this past month (March, 11), and will definitely be going back again. The food was delicious, and included organic and vegetarian options. The (free included) breakfast? To die for and super healthy. You will not find a better breakfast in Valparaiso.

The room (we had the Aconcagua room) was spacious, impeccable and had a very cute view. Furthermore, the compound was extremely safe, as you need to be buzzed in to come inside, so you feel very safe.

The staff could not have been nicer and more accommodating (they speak English and Spanish). This place is close to everything - Valpo's restaurants and major sightseeing points of interest. All of this for a a great price that beats the competition. Clear out of the ballpark.

Totally recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Topanga123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
705 reviews
0.8 mi away
Verso Hotel
Verso Hotel
#6 of 35 in Valparaiso
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Valparaiso
Ibis Valparaiso
#12 of 35 in Valparaiso
1,803 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ultramar Hotel
Ultramar Hotel
#16 of 35 in Valparaiso
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Puerta Escondida B&B
Puerta Escondida B&B
#2 of 97 in Valparaiso
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ViaVia Hotel Valparaiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ViaVia Hotel Valparaiso

Address: Almirante Montt 217 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2380008, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Valparaiso
Price Range: $55 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — ViaVia Hotel Valparaiso 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, clean and comfortable hotel in the hills of Valparaiso. Cerro Alegre is part of Valparaiso UNESCO world heritage zone. We provide extended tourist information and a complete breakfast. Warm water is privded by solar power ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your ViaVia Hotel Valparaiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing