We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Valparaiso”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Cirilo Armstrong
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Valparaiso”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and we booked a late transfer from Santiago Airport with them too. The hotel have few rooms but very nice. It is clean and spacious. Since the hotel is on a hill, the view from the room is spectacular. We loved the breakfast, very healthy ! The staff is very nice and try to accommodate you as much as they can. Also, the competitive pricing is attractive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricMToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    82
    17
    4
    5
See reviews for
61
157
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

The staff were fantastic! Super friendly and helpful. Very nice and genuine people.
The breakfast was very nice (toast, fruit, delicious yogurt).
I liked the location, easy to walk everywhere we wanted to go. And the view from our room and what appeared to be all rooms was very good. Nice balcony. There was some sort of kitchenette but we didn't end up using it. Good restraints nearby.
Bed was a little bouncy but no big deal. Its a small boutique hotel. Didn't need air conditioning the big fan cooled the room just fine.
The shower is on a hot water tank but we didn't have any problem with it. Bathroom is a little dated but it didn't bother me. The room was very clean.
There was a big wind storm one of the nights and a tree was banging on the window so didnt sleep very well but with the fan on the sound was almost gone. I blame Mother Nature for this one.
Overall very happy with this hotel, good view, clean room, the price was right and the staff couldn't have been nicer.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed in this boutique type hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. The location was great and the reception team very accommodating, helping with tours, transfers etc. best way to get to santiago is by coach. Highly recommend the Casablanca wine valley tour (wine tours valparaiso - Michael), and here are some awesome restaurants within walking distance of cirillo Armstrong. The loft bedrooms provide a breathtaking view of the coloured hillside terrace houses and particularly impressive at night. Showers are not great, but the wood fireplace makes up for this.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at Cirilo Armstrong two nights ago. As a family of 3 traveling together, this was a great place to stay as they offer larger "suites" for 3 or 4 people. We chose the 4-person one since it was a bit bigger and offered more space- don't be fooled by the kitchen though, as it's not really meant for full-blown meals, and there isn't air conditioning which can make for a hot night of sleep as there is a bedroom upstairs. My artist mother was instantly in love with Cirilo, as it's a boutique hotel. If you're looking for luxury, look somewhere else, but if you're interested in a cool atmosphere, something different than a normal hotel, a clean and friendly place to stay, Cirilo Armstrong is your place. We paid $250 for a night here, which included the 4-bedroom room and breakfast the next morning, which consisted of natural yogurt, fresh-squeezed orange juice, fresh-cut fruit, cereal, and coffee.

When we checked in, Lily was very helpful at getting us into our room, getting the car parked where it should be (free, by the way), and helping us navigate Valparaiso with some maps. We decided against any of her recommendations for restaurants and went to Cocina Puerto (highly recommended) for dinner, but she at least pointed us in the right direction! When we returned, the internet service had gone out- it's spotty, so beware if you're a business traveler who needs unflappable service. We also interacted with Elisabeth who was very friendly and went out of her way to help us find the directions to a vineyard we were visiting; she also kept our bags in storage while we went and explored Valparaiso the day of checkout, without charge. The staff here is great overall!

Unlike some other reviewers, we found this to be a great place to stay and had no problems with the hot water, noise, or privacy. As a student, I found this to have more of a high-end hostel than a true hotel style to it, but we all agreed as a family that it was perfect for our one-night stay. If you're spending a few days in Valparaiso, give Cirilo Armstrong a try.

Room Tip: Ask for the suite away from the staircase for a quieter night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmiller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Cirilo has a great location in Valparaiso. its walking distance to the best bars and restaurants. The rooms are big but basic, yes, its expensive for what you get. But the service is great as well as the breakfast. The only downside is the hot water- you get around 15 mins of hot water then you have to wait a few hours for it to heat up again.
If you like boutique hotels and dont really care about the price, this is a good option.

Room Tip: At night you can hear a lot of street noises, ask them if the have a room thats quieter... wish i ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Io A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at Cirilo Armstrong for three nights at the end of our South American trip. For newbies (like us), Valparaiso comes as a bit of a shock - initial impression is quite gritty. We found the hotel and were surprised that we needed to walk down a staircase just to get to the front door. However, the desk staff was extremely helpful in getting our bags inside and geting our car parked (they offer parking for an additional fee, totally worth it - you don't need a car in Valpo).

Our room was extremely spacious and bright - huge windows. It had everything we needed, even a functional desk and a fridge. It's true that there are lots of dogs in Valpo and they will wake you up with their barking, but you get used to it and it's that way throughout the city.

A big highlight for us was the neighborhood, which is wonderful - quaint and picturesque and safe. We also enjoyed the breakfast each morning. Good food and tasty coffee. We never made use of the evening wine bar, but it looks pleasant.

The other big highlight for us was the staff. We found everybody to be so helpful, one young woman got us a reservation at Pasta e Vino, a very popular restaurant nearby. They were able to offer good recommendations on other restaurants and activities during our stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Expensive for what is offered. Stayed by myself for two nights at the Cirilo Armstrong. I booked this hotel through booking.com and ended up paying $210 per night. For that price I didn't expect a Four Seasons experience, but I at least thought I would be staying at decent hotel. First off, the beds are super uncomfortable the rooms are extremely cold at night and the breakfast is served in a long mess hall style table, very little privacy. In total it was a very unpleasant experience. No one even bothered to ask how my stay was, or if I was enjoying myself. Stay away from this "boutique" like the plague.

Room Tip: I wish I would have seen this site before booking with Cirilo Armstrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fauna
Hotel Fauna
#4 of 35 in Valparaiso
480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palacio Astoreca
Hotel Palacio Astoreca
#7 of 35 in Valparaiso
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Higueras
Hotel Casa Higueras
#2 of 35 in Valparaiso
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Thomas Somerscales
Hotel Casa Thomas Somerscales
#14 of 35 in Valparaiso
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cirilo Armstrong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cirilo Armstrong

Property: Hotel Cirilo Armstrong
Address: Calle Capilla c/Escalera Cirilo Armstrong 12 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2340000, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cirilo Armstrong 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Cerro Alegre, steps from the center of Valparaíso, there hides the Hotel Cirilo Armstrong nailed on the gully Miraflores with an impressive sight on the local scene and the inhabitants. The hotel is a work of respectful architecture of his environment and coherent in the election of his materials and is located in a declared zone patrimony of the Humanity by the UNESCO. From the stairs, a simple front hides in his interior this hospitably, luminous and wide hotel of apartments of 650mt2. The Hotel Cirilo Armstrong has a great hall to realizes his generous spaces and the genuine work with noble materials, later to distribute to 11 exclusive apartments designed tastefully and warmth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cirilo Armstrong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing