We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I called it the Dope-tel, because it was that awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cirilo Armstrong
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Cheesy but true!

I loved this hotel. The rooms are SO cool— a duplex with a table, living area, kitchen area (no pans or pots? but a stove, 2 plates, two sets of dishes and a fridge) on the first floor. THe bed and bathroom are on the second floor. You get a little balcony to see the stellar views during the day and twinkling lights at night.

Breakfast was so good— crunchy granola with sour, kefir-like yogurt, a tiny cup of fresh fruit, homemade marmalade, hearty flaxseed bread, fresh cheese and ham. And of course, freshly squeezed orange juice ( I am a stickler for FRESH vs. concentrate so I know the difference from a mile away!) and coffee or tea that stays very hot in a little hot pot :) If you want it in your room there is no extra charge.

Sparkling clean room. Attentive staff—they could answer ANYTHING, they knew EVERYTHING there was to know about the room and seemed to genuinely like and care about the guests. And they made rockstar awesome, cheap, strong pisco sours for us at their extensive cash bar that doubles as the reception desk).

You just feel cool inside the lobby— tons of architecture books, beautiful modern design (yet homey feeling), and perfect location for bars and restaurants.

If I were going to make one suggestion, I would say that they need to make the internet connection stronger since we needed to go to the lobby more than once to get fast WiFi.

I am a total hotel snob and I've stayed at some really posh places. This hotel is great. Choose it!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emorloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 300 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

This was probably one of the unique and beautiful places I have ever stayed. All the rooms are loft-style, and 2 floors so if stairs is a problem I would not recommend this place. Other than that, the place is amazing. Decorated with mostly local art, cozy and unique. Every view from the room and the hotel itself is picture perfect. The people at the hotel went out of their way to help us with anything we needed. There's a reason this place is number 1. It's great. Steven and Jeff. Boca Raton Fl USA

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevenBFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My stay on this hotel was really fantastic. The rooms are clear and biggest (I got the big one) and the place is very well located close to the best restaurants on Valparaiso.

You can walk by the city from the hotel and also you can go to the La Sebastiana (Pablo
Nerudas's house) walking.

You can choose to have your breakfast in your room or on the hotel lobby.

Staff is very sympathetic and show us the best places to visit in Valparaiso. I strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EduardoDias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

we loved Valparaiso and we loved this hotel. it is matching the surroundings so well. everything is perfect. location, staff, atmosphere, views, room comfort, breakfast, common areas.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qq_q_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We have just returned from some time in Valpariso. We pre-booked to stay at Hotel Cirilo Armstrong and at first was concerned when the taxi driver had no idea where it was. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the wonderful staff of this boutlique hotel. It didn't take long to realise that actually it was perfectly located for many great restaurants, and for great walks to admire the local artwork. The hotel itself is very unique and so different from many other hotel experiences during our journey. I admit going to the room without any radio, clock or TV was a little daunting, but we very soon appreciated the quiet and serene setting of this hotel. At the time of our stay, we were the only guests there, so you could say we received "specialist" treatment, but I am sure that the wonderful staff would be the same at any time. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this area. PS - breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeamMargery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Valpariso is a wonderful place - right next door to the concrete resort of Viña del Mar,which is horris. Meanwhile Valpariso and is so atmospheric in a run down but bohemian way. Now undergoing a renaisance. A real mix of design styles including art deco and great examples of English Victorian design mixed with grafiti. Do you get the picture! This is like Brighton is to London.

Standing out from all this is the newly built apartment hotel Cirilo Armstrong, run but its owners. Simply duplex style "lofts" with kitchenette with space to keep the pisco sour cold. Great double height glass windows and some "lofts" have terraces.

Great location only minutes walk from numerous restaurants including Pasta y Vino and Cafe Turri - see my reviews. One has great food and the other the best terrace and view in town.

The view could be described as urban, but with a twist of the neck you see the sea. No road noise but beware of the barking dogs!

I loved the open plan breakfast area with communial tables and milk cartons, Wonderful organic bread.

I have stayed many times and love the place, which is VERY reasonable.......so keep quiet!!

Room Tip: Reserve one of the lofts with a terrace. Great space to read in the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GOWITHTHEFLOW10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My fiancée and I received a recommendation for this hotel from some young Chileans we met a few days before our stay. We called for a room the same day we were to arrive, and they held it for us. Though a bit hard to find, this hotel is located within walking distance to many trendy restaurants, but on a quiet block. The room was modern, clean, with a great balcony, and we loved the little loft with the bed. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. We ordered our breakfast to the room, and it was prompt and delicious. We loved it so much that we stayed another night! Even though it was last minute, the staff was able to change some reservations around so we didn't have to switch rooms. Overall, we would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: February 2012
1  Thank CMG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
706 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palacio Astoreca Hotel
Palacio Astoreca Hotel
#7 of 35 in Valparaiso
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Verso Hotel
Verso Hotel
#6 of 35 in Valparaiso
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Thomas Somerscales
Hotel Casa Thomas Somerscales
#14 of 35 in Valparaiso
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fauna
Hotel Fauna
#4 of 35 in Valparaiso
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cirilo Armstrong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cirilo Armstrong

Address: Calle Capilla c/Escalera Cirilo Armstrong 12 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2340000, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range: $122 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cirilo Armstrong 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Cerro Alegre, steps from the center of Valparaíso, there hides the Hotel Cirilo Armstrong nailed on the gully Miraflores with an impressive sight on the local scene and the inhabitants. The hotel is a work of respectful architecture of his environment and coherent in the election of his materials and is located in a declared zone patrimony of the Humanity by the UNESCO. From the stairs, a simple front hides in his interior this hospitably, luminous and wide hotel of apartments of 650mt2. The Hotel Cirilo Armstrong has a great hall to realizes his generous spaces and the genuine work with noble materials, later to distribute to 11 exclusive apartments designed tastefully and warmth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cirilo Armstrong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing