We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Historic Quarter of the Seaport City of Valparaiso
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.00*
and up
Small Group Tour: Viña del Mar, Valparaiso and Wine Tasting in Casablanca Valley
Ranked #17 of 142 things to do in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
275 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“So much to see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We went with a private tour guide and had a nice day in Valparaiso with this included. It's not the cleanest of cities, but yet there is so much to see and do. Having a guide may help many feel more comfortable since I know that it helped us. We never felt unsafe but it's all these weaving roads and I would think it would be easy to lose your sense of direction. So many picture ops and lots of monuments and old buildings. I don't know that I would want to be walking around here at night, but during the day, it seemed fine.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank tdtid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    202
    69
    15
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
807 reviews
480 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
“Interesting and different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

You will never get bored as there is so much to see. A little grubby in places but there are great views, good restaurants and it is pretty safe to walk round during the day. A photographer's paradise.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not that great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

This area is ok to walk around in and see the monuments and old buildings. There are many restaurants where you can sample local dishes at good prices but they close at 6 pm because this area is considered dangerous at night. I was disappointed overall. There are dogs lying on every corner and you need to be careful that you do not step in their droppings.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 366PKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Who did they bribe?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

This should not be a UNESCO World Heritage Site. They must have bribed someone to get the designation. Most of the really old buildings are shells and facades, with newer building behind or inside of them. The others are in poor repair. If you are here anyway, take the Tours for tips which meets in the Plaza Santamayor at 10 Am and 3 PM. Look for Waldo.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderWoman735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
243 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Get up and away from this area...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Arriving after our Antarctic cruise, strolling in this area was a disappointment. We were told it is dangerous, especially at night. Get up into the higher parts of Valpo.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathyindenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Quarter of the Seaport City of Valparaiso also viewed

Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 

Been to Historic Quarter of the Seaport City of Valparaiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing