We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveler rating
195
72
9
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
72
9
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cerro alegre top floor room balcony third floor lovely hotel tea and coffee no elevator lovely balcony public areas chilli the breakfast area converted house restaurant suggestions family home breakfast each morning amazing views two nights
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 277 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

Thank you to everyone at the Hotel Boutique Acontraluz for making our short, but very memorable stay in Valparaíso so enjoyable. The hotel has been beautifully furnished to a very high standard and there is plenty of space on the ground floor and indeed on the upper levels to enjoy the stunning views of the harbour. We were lucky to have rooms with balconies as, I think, most of them do and enjoyed the gorgeous sunsets of an evening or two. The rooms themselves were very spacious and light with very comfortable beds and plenty of storage. Breakfast was ok, not a great variety of choice but some delicious meats and cheeses all the same. Thank you again.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2018

Superb cozy hotel - it felt like a home. Rooms big and spacious with lovely bath tub. Staff on hand at all times. Breakfast was the usual, however I did get a teapot - the only time in a four week stay in Chile.
The location is the best for exploring Valpariso.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank zoey613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2018

Acontraluz is a beautiful house in Cerro Alegre , right where old Valparaiso vibrates.
The view from the rooms on top floor is astounding, the rooms themselves are comfortable, no AC but none needed, no TV which is nice, but no in room telephone which is less nice since you have to go down and back up the stairs each time you need something from reception, since there is no elevator. So, travel light as you have to take your luggage upstairs, literally, yourself. One staffmember is exceptional, Roberto, always pleasant, willing to help, and has a great musical taste ! Impossible to get a better 270 degree view of the whole of the city and harbor.

Room Tip: Definitely one of the two rooms top floor with a view of the harbor : breathtaking.
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlescooler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2018

First time in Valparaiso. Delighted to be booked into this boutique family hotel, beautifully created out of original houses and preserving the character of an elegant family home. Seems we also benefitted from a great location in the old town high up one of the many Valparaiso hills. Sights in every direction and short walks to a range of restaurants as the hotel does not have a restaurant. We ate in some style at Pasta e Vino which does exactly what it says ! Enjoyed a walk to Paseo Yugoslavo, reflecting strong immigrant influence from that region, and from there via the ascensor (funicular) (Pesos 200) to Plaza Sotomayor and the waterfront area. Map essential and a short taxi ride back up the steep hills. A very warm welcome and all day access to coffe and tea-making in the comfortable lounge areas. Excellent breakfast freshly prepared. Lovely balcony/terrace at top of hotel with suites on either side.

Room Tip: Next visit I'd book top floor suite (305 ? 306 ?)
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2018

We really enjoyed stay here buy not for its star rating. It’s charning, but rather different to any other place I’ve stayed. The rear balcony available to all guests is idyllic and the staff are quietly pleasant and attentive. Breakfast was fresh and attractively set out in a charming breakfast room.
The downside is that the room was a little small, had a tiny hair dryer, no tissues, no tv although we didn’t miss it. On international star rating scales, I think 2-3 star would be more accurate. However, the delightful, quirky experience was really lovely and we recommend the hotel without reservation.
Very well placed to allow guests to walk around the old town with its vast array of wonderful wall art.

Room Tip: Room with a rear view might be quieter, occasionally barking dogs in Valparaíso
Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank mrsalisone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews