We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning views; relaxed atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Boutique Acontraluz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Boutique Acontraluz
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Stunning views; relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

I enjoyed staying here with my wife. The welcome was warm, and our room, decorated in the period of the house, was roomy and had a balcony to relax on.

However, we had a small problem with the plumbing and we were immediately transferred to a room on the top floor, which had modern decor (and plumbing), and and even better view from its own balcony.

The views are superb, and you can watch the sun come up, and also enjoy a sundowner from the same spot high above the city.

Breakfast was a simple buffet, but fine for us. The staff also suggested several good restaurants nearby to have dinner. All those we tried were excellent, and only about a 5 minute stroll downhill.

Once you get your bearings you can easily get to the hotel using the nearby funiculars. It was delightful being in this historic house, overlooking the city surrounding the bay.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view. You won't regret it.. Note that you may see and hear other guests on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    61
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
157
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had a nice experience at this hotel for our 1 night stay. The rooms were clean and the balcony was incredible. It really is a no brainier to try and book a balcony room if you can. Waking up in the morning with the view of the sunrise and fog hovering over the water was unbelievable. Breakfast was good and just what we needed before we started our day touring.

Room Tip: Splurge on the rooms with balconies as they are the best feature of this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Charming address in a renovated house at the heart of the old valparaiso. The hotel offers nice, clean rooms, some with view on the port of valparaiso.

Hot water and efficient heating well appreciated by a cold winter night. Cosy tea time / breakfast area. Good service, english spoken.

The hotel is very well located and all highlights and restaurants of the old city are at walking distances.

Room Tip: Ask for a view on the port
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg-Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We spent one night pre-cruise in this delightful hotel, located on a quiet street on one of Valpariso's hills. The hotel is a great mix of old and modern. Beautiful hardwood floors, old fashioned furnishings, but with a very open concept in the public areas. We splurged and stayed in a room with it's own terrace with wonderful views of the city and the Pacific Ocean. The beds were very comfortable, the linens of nice quality, and the bathroom was very modern and functional. The wicker furniture on the terrace was quite comfortable too.
The staff was very friendly and accomodating, even before we got there. At our travel agent's request, they arranged for a car to meet us at the airport in Santiago, and the driver, Aldo, was pleasant and informative. He provided us with a mini tour of the city before delivering us to the hotel. When I enquired about somewhere to purchase a bottle of wine to take with me to the ship, I was given a tour of the hotel's wine cellar, and was able to buy a bottle at a decent price.
A breakfast buffet is included in the price of the room, which we enjoyed both the day of our arrival and again the morning we left for the ship. Our driver, Aldo, was called by the staff and he picked us and our luggage up a short time later and transported us to the pier.
I would not hesitate to stay there again, and would recommend it to those seeking a special place to stay. They have a wonderful website with 360 degree views of the hotel, inside and out.

Room Tip: Our room, 102, had wonderful views of the city and the Pacific from our private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flamomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the Hotel Boutique Acontraluz. First of all, if you are looking for a boutique experience, this is not. It is a bed and breakfast "hotel" with a very expensive price tag. The smallest lowest priced rooms are over $200. The rooms with a view top $400. We loved the hill neighborhood and choices of restaurants. Breakfast is good and typical of very other hotel we stayed at in Chile. We had a street view. Valparaiso is lovely. Chile is a very expensive country to visit so I think this hotel was a good, but not great choice for our stay there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank janecois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

A lovely boutique hotel in a good location with superb views of Valparaiso. Very welcoming, it has a calm, peaceful and relaxed atmosphere and it was a great place to finish up our trip to Chile and wind down after our busy programme. The room although not big was very comfortable and well appointed with a good bathroom and it was very pleasant to sit on the balcony and take in the amazing cityscape around us. the large balcony on the top floor gave super views over the port. The staff were very friendly, helpful, informative and efficient and seemed very concerned for our wellbeing and that we should enjoy our stay. The building is light and airy and together with its furnishings is very interesting and full of character.
Breakfast was good with plenty of choice, and complimentary coffee, tea, water, cakes and biscuits are available all day - which is rather nice.
Location is good with a five minute walk to the Concepcion Ascensor which takes you right into the centre of the city, and there are several good restaurants within a couple of minutes walk.
We thought it a delightful place to stay.

Room Tip: The junior suites seem to be the best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

After a long flight from the UK and a car journey of around an hour and a half from Santiago airport, it was a real relief to be dropped off at Hotel Acontraluz. The front desk staff of this small boutique hotel were very helpful and attentive and the property itself is fascinating.
The location was excellent for exploring the hilly, characterful part of Valparaiso (watch out for the doo poo though when out walking ). The readily available complimentary coffee/tea/biscuits was a nice feature. There were very interesting views of the harbor from the common balcony area on the 2nd floor, which we found to be a haven. Eating breakfast/drinking a coffee on the ground floor verandah was a joy. The breakfast and its service was good.
If you want a large, air conditioned, amenity full hotel block by the sea this hotel will not do. If conversely you are seeking character and attentive service in an interesting location the Acontraluz is spot on.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 34 in Valparaiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Higueras
Hotel Casa Higueras
#2 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zerohotel
Zerohotel
#8 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palacio Astoreca
Hotel Palacio Astoreca
#10 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fauna
Hotel Fauna
#4 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Acontraluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Acontraluz

Property: Hotel Boutique Acontraluz
Address: San Enrique 473 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2370854, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Boutique Acontraluz 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel Acontraluz is not only one of the best boutique hotels in Valparaiso city, with an excellent infrastructure, good taste, and quality.The best part of staying here is being able to share the experience with the owners, who are in charge of assisting the travellers and delighting them with stories about the port city and the best tips for an unforgettable stay at, Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso.This 13-room hotel is part of the history of the city, because it is a German remodeled mansion from the turn of the 19th century. It features high-end amenities and a distinguished design: welcoming nooks, ample rooms, dining rooms, terraces, garden, bar, wine cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Boutique Acontraluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing