We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Boutique Acontraluz
Nearby Hotels
$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Fauna(Valparaiso)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$165
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$84
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel 17(Valparaiso)
$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$130
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Valparaiso(Valparaiso)
$76
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Zerohotel(Valparaiso)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveler rating
190
71
9
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
71
9
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscerro alegretop floorbalcony roomthird floorhelpful employeeslarge balconylovely hotelhamstea and coffeeno elevatorpublic areasthe breakfast areaconverted houserestaurant suggestionschilliquiet streetfamily home
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 271 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here in April 2013, near the end of our trip. This boutique hotel is possibly the finest we've ever stayed in. The property is composed of 2 houses which were lovingly and spectacularly combined to make one incredible small hotel. It is meticulously appointed, without being ostentatious and provides the most comfortable and welcoming atmosphere imaginable.
Our room on the 2nd floor had an incredible harbor view, was spacious and well appointed. The breakfast each morning was varied, plentiful and delicious, served until 12 each day. Coffee and tea, as well as snacks were available all day.

Both the serving staff and desk staff were exceptional and kind, helping with restaurant suggestions, taxi cabs, and anything else we needed.

After returning from a day of sightseeing without a bottle of wine, Jose, the and his lovely wife, made sure we had a bottle to sip and enjoy from our veranda and the top floor deck. Spectacular!

While this is not an inexpensive hotels, we felt the cost was were worth the money and we would recommend this hotel to all.
When visiting Valparaiso, this is a must stay!

Room Tip: Absolutely get a room facing the harbor. You will not regret the extra cost.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mdfrdgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here and loved the Hotel, we had it all to ourselves!
Breakfast is a very good selection of cheese, meats and jams with yoghurt and cereal to start .
Tea and coffee and endless supply of bottled water, fruit or biscuits to snack on.
Service was good.
It seems to be a very quiet time here, not everything was open and hardly any one else around in the shops or bars that are open which resulted in a lack of atmosphere all round - I certainly recommend this Hotel I am not sure I recommend Valparaiso as a destination this time of year.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pabsie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our room had a large terrace overlooking the bay and the city. It was expensive but worth a splurge. I'm so glad that we purchased the room with the balcony. We spent each night out there with a glass of wine. Their wifi works on the balcony too. The staff was super kind and breakfast was tasty. A funicular/ ascensore is near the hotel that can take you down to the town plaza shops. Also, the hotel is a few blocks near a bus stop that can take you to Pablo Neruda's house or the local bus station. Bus to Santiago was only about 8 USD and departs every 30 minutes. The hotel a renovated older building that was very clean and historically preserved. They were receiving an award on the day we were there for being the only solor powered hotel. Kudos!

Room Tip: I think out room was 207 and it was on the corner with a city and bay view
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ramonwdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

A very lovely property located in a thriving area of fine restaurants. I was in Valparaiso once before in 2005 and the scene has changed a lot--it is a thriving urban environment built on what was once a major, cosmopolitan center. It makes San Francisco look like Kansas.

The staff are very friendly and helpful--there is always someone around who speaks English if you need it. The property is lovely. We took a harbor view and it was a perfectly delightful setting by day and even more so in the evening. Our room was spacious and nicely furnished, although it would have benefited from a small desk or table and the bathroom was fairly elemental.

Overall, a great experience; it was a reasonable value that we would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dallas-Voyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel deserves its high ranking. The room on the 2nd floor with a view of the port was perfect. On street parking was fine and even though we had to do 2 'laps' to find it we got there easily enough. It's easy to walk to restaurants and explore the area. Valparaiso is an amazing location - this hotel is a great haven. One small comment is that the hardwood floors make the room above sound as though it was occupied by elephants and it certainly is expensive.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dervaig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews