We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for exploring”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Boutique Acontraluz
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel deserves its high ranking. The room on the 2nd floor with a view of the port was perfect. On street parking was fine and even though we had to do 2 'laps' to find it we got there easily enough. It's easy to walk to restaurants and explore the area. Valparaiso is an amazing location - this hotel is a great haven. One small comment is that the hardwood floors make the room above sound as though it was occupied by elephants and it certainly is expensive.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dervaig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 266 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had booked another property earlier , however as the time got nearer ,we read several negative reports on that Hotel.We were so glad we decided on the Hotel Acontraluz, this place
is quite charming, and quiet.. The floor plan very open and tastefully decorated with wooden floors throughout the views from the two decks of the harbour is quite amazing..
Our room was a decent size with a large bathroom ,views onto the quiet street at front.
The front desk staff were amazingly friendly and helpful, the girls even helped drag our bags up the stairs,The coffeemaker in the breakfast room was quite a challenge but again, a really friendly helpful .staff member soon fixed us up.
We spent three nights here prior to boarding our Cruise Ship and would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exbritjenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I went there for "semana santa", 2013 (couple).
Great house, with extraordinay view.
Rooms are nice, with, at least for the one i tried, a beautifull view over the bay and the montains.
Good breakfast (until 12, which is awesome).
People working there are really helpfull, and can advise you about all the things, and, most important, where to eat.
Great moment in thise hotel, that i would highly recomand to everyone.

Room Tip: Get the rooms at the last stair. Juste awesome view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel is in an old nicely restored house with an eye-catching central staircase. We stayed for 2 nights in a sea view room. The rooms are basic, but clean and spacious. The staff is great - very accommodating, and helpful in finding out any information you need and setting you up with tours and activities. The buffet breakfast is available till noon and was by far the best on our trip. Highlight: enjoying a nice bottle of wine on the terrace in the evening. Expensive!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmattu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed in a room with a balcony facing the hill and it was wonderful. The room was nice and very comfortable. They also helped us get hooked up with a wine tour to casablanca valley with Oliver (very much recommended!). The location was also great - very close to a lot of good restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cobolovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We checked in and upgraded to a room with a balcony looking over the harbour. Definitely worth doing. This is a lovely hotel with nice staff and good service. Nice touches like 24hr availability of water, tea and coffee on tap. It is in a nice part of town and is a haven of peace in a high paced city.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Acontraluz for 3 nights and had booked the top floor sea view suite - wonderful. Having travelled the best part of 27 hours before arriving in Valparaiso, we were ever so slightly worried whether the hotel would live up to it's reputation - it does! Lovely welcome, great staff and very comfortable room. The views from the verandah are superb. Everyone at Acontraluz are so pleasant, helpful and warm - nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is in a very safe area with a huge choice of dining options so try them out! Loved it!

Room Tip: Go for the premier sea view suite on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coxyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.2 mi away
Palacio Astoreca Hotel
Palacio Astoreca Hotel
#7 of 35 in Valparaiso
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zerohotel
Zerohotel
#10 of 35 in Valparaiso
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cirilo Armstrong
Hotel Cirilo Armstrong
#8 of 35 in Valparaiso
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
735 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Sutherland House
0.2 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#5 of 35 in Valparaiso
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Acontraluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Acontraluz

Address: San Enrique 473 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2370854, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range: $161 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Boutique Acontraluz 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Boutique Acontraluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing