We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Boutique Acontraluz
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed one night and the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. What a beautifully restored building.
Our airline lost one of our bags and they tried their best to help us with the many Spanish speaking phone calls we had to make trying to locate the bag. We had arranged for an early morning tour and they were more than happy to start the complimentary breakfast service for us a half hour earlier than scheduled. There was enough variety to please everyone.
The rooms are quaint but have all the amenities that one could need. The scenery was beautiful and the location excellent for our walking tour of the old city.

Room Tip: No elevator so if you have a lot of luggage you want to be on the lowest possible floor. The staff i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathyLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 262 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2012

My girlfriend and I were recently on a trip across Argentina and Chile, and Valparaíso was one of the cities we were most looking forward to visiting. We had heard that Valpo was sort of hectic, so we decided that this would be the one city where we'd splurge for a nicer hotel, especially considering that we would be coming from what we thought would be a harrowing bus trip across the Andes (which in fact, was quite pleasant).

This hotel had been highly recommended by a journalist friend who had spent time in Chile, and the view alone atop Cerro Alegre is worth the room rate. We stayed in one of the simpler rooms facing the street, and even though there was significant construction outside, we were very comfortable. José, who runs the hotel, is very friendly and courteous; he offered us very useful suggestions for restaurants and walks in this fascinating city. The breakfast is also very generous and has something for all tastes. The only criticism I have was the lack of hooks for towels in the bathroom, but that should not dissuade you from staying in this truly lovely place.

I really cannot emphasize the beauty of the view from the terrace in this hotel. Every spare minute I had while in the hotel was spent on the top floor terrace. The views after the morning fog burns up and at night are nothing short of spectacular.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

My husband and I had only one night to spend in Valparaiso and we wanted to splurge... Hotel Acontraluz met all our expectations and beyond! We reserved one of the 2 suites on the top floor which have a private terrace overlooking the city and the bay. The views were stunning, the room was very well decorated and super comfortable. We were greeted by Jose, who was the most gracious and helpful host ever.
It's worth every penny, but the hotel is on the more pricey side so sometimes this can come with a certain amount of snottiness (on the part of the staff and also the guests!)... but not at Acontraluz! The atmosphere was super relaxed, and we felt comfortable in every way, at all times. Oh and the breakfast is scrumptious!!! You can take it on the terrace which overlooks the hotel's small garden and Cerro Alegre... Perfect!
We were very sad to leave and if our travels lead us again to Valparaiso, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flo-er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This is a very nice but somewhat pricy boutique hotel on Cerro Alegre overlooking downtown Valparaiso and the harbor. It is in an old restored mansion, but the interior common spaces are very modern. Our standard double (cheapest rooms at the Acontraluz) with a small terrace and hill view was $192, but a lovely terrace on our floor had a spectacular view of the bay, as does the dining room terrace. Room was very comfortable and spotless. Breakfasts are very good and you can eat out on the terrace. Coffee, tea, cookies or pastries and fruit are available in the dining room free at any time day or night. Owners are very nice. The hotel is well located for tourism. We found only one restaurant nearby, but there are other choices a short walk down the hill. We stayed 3 nights and loved the city and the hotel. Good Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: Hill view doubles (cheapest rooms in this hotel) on top floor have access to a large terrace overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

This is a very attractive Hotel on the inside with really great views over the bay and city. The rooms are reasonable but the water pressure in our shower was poor and the bath slow to empty, all signs that Housekeeping controls are not in place. The bathroom lighting in our room was poor.
Other than that the staff were very helpful and it is a very quiet Hotel and considering the location that is amazing. I would worry about lack of air conditioning in the rooms in the really hot weather.
Breakfast was a little basic with some items being kep in a cold fridge which is not good when eating fruit.
Would I stay again, YES

Room Tip: If you cann afford the rooms with a view over the bat you wont regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Acontraluz is a beautiful old home renovated as a boutique hotel. The rooms are lovely and the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The views over the harbor are stunning.
Breakfast was very good and the afternoon cakes were delicious. There are many restaurants within walking distance.
The area around the hotel is very hilly and there is no elevator in the hotel so one needs to be agile to really enjoy the area.
We would return to this property is we were to come back to Valparaiso and would recommend it to our friends

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candsontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Ideal location for cafes bars and restaurants wonderful views Spacious bedroom and en-suite very clean Excellent breakfast I found the staff pleasant and helpful especially because of the disruption caused by the construction work in the immediate area I would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MELVYN N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.2 mi away
Palacio Astoreca Hotel
Palacio Astoreca Hotel
#7 of 35 in Valparaiso
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
725 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zerohotel
Zerohotel
#9 of 35 in Valparaiso
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Higueras
Hotel Casa Higueras
#2 of 35 in Valparaiso
531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cirilo Armstrong
Hotel Cirilo Armstrong
#8 of 35 in Valparaiso
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#5 of 35 in Valparaiso
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Acontraluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Acontraluz

Address: San Enrique 473 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2370854, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range: $178 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Boutique Acontraluz 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Boutique Acontraluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing