We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the Housekeeping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Boutique Acontraluz
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Weybridge, UK
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Shame about the Housekeeping”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

This is a very attractive Hotel on the inside with really great views over the bay and city. The rooms are reasonable but the water pressure in our shower was poor and the bath slow to empty, all signs that Housekeeping controls are not in place. The bathroom lighting in our room was poor.
Other than that the staff were very helpful and it is a very quiet Hotel and considering the location that is amazing. I would worry about lack of air conditioning in the rooms in the really hot weather.
Breakfast was a little basic with some items being kep in a cold fridge which is not good when eating fruit.
Would I stay again, YES

Room Tip: If you cann afford the rooms with a view over the bat you wont regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    63
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
161
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Acontraluz is a beautiful old home renovated as a boutique hotel. The rooms are lovely and the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The views over the harbor are stunning.
Breakfast was very good and the afternoon cakes were delicious. There are many restaurants within walking distance.
The area around the hotel is very hilly and there is no elevator in the hotel so one needs to be agile to really enjoy the area.
We would return to this property is we were to come back to Valparaiso and would recommend it to our friends

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candsontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Ideal location for cafes bars and restaurants wonderful views Spacious bedroom and en-suite very clean Excellent breakfast I found the staff pleasant and helpful especially because of the disruption caused by the construction work in the immediate area I would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MELVYN N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Brilliant view from the balcony overlooking the entire bay of Valparaiso. Make sure you also take a look after sunset! The hotel has a rustique atmosphere and an open staircase takes you up to the levels of the house where the rooms are. There is no elevator. Heavy construction work in front of the hotel caused quite some noise and it was very difficult to reach the hotel by car because of all the construction work, also elsewhere in the neighbourhood. The staff was polite, but not very accommodating. The first morning our breakfast stood in a fridge from where it was served to our table. The second day there was a little buffet set up. For the price you are paying I expected more in this area.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrisWevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HULL
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

The hotel Acontraluz is a nice boutique style hotel; the property appears to be a fairly recently renovated property on a hillside overlooking the port. As the property is set on a hillside you need to be quite agile, someone with mobility problems would struggle especially as the roads are under construction preventing cars from accessing the street the hotel is located on. Good quality restaurants are however within a short distance of the hotel. The whole of the area seems to be undergoing a process of gentrification, so that it should be very pleasant upon completion though it may be at the cost of the area losing some of it character. The renovation of the property itself has been sensitively undertaken highlighting a number of the original features of the property, so that it is both quirky and has some character. One of the best features for me was the views from the patio and balconies at the rear of the property. I enjoyed the views with a cup of tea or coffee which was available throughout the day and inclusive in the price of the stay. The staff were helpful and pleasant; breakfast was to a good standard with a good range of options. The room I had was a reasonable size and the bed comfortable. The room I had was at the front and faced onto the street, catching the sun in the afternoon and evening; however I imagine it could get quite warm and stuffy in the hotter months especially as there is no air conditioning.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

As others have already pointed out, the hotel is in a great accessible location. Walk to cafes, bars (Pisco Bar is great!), etc. However, it would have been helpful to know in advance that many streets, including its own, are closed for construction, so was pretty difficult to find and unload the car.

The house is very pretty, nicely renovated. The views of the harbor are gorgeous, however our room on the third floor faced the mountains and still had a nice view. Downsides are that the room was very tiny (almost not enough space for two suitcases), and it was quite hot in the afternoon without a fan or AC. Breakfast was fine (toast, yogurt, etc) and the bottled water and fruit availability was great.

Overall it was a nice place to stay, but I would choose a different option next time. It's more like a B&B than a boutique hotel - nice, pretty, clean but for the price, not a "boutique" experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed here early November of this year. Quite difficult to locate due to ongoing street closures however, well worth the effort. A family run establishment with staff who are committed to looking after the customer. Our room was beautiful with a terrace and of course a harbour view. The hotel itself has been refurbished to a high standard with many unusual features which include the staircase. The breakfasts were very good indeed with tea, coffee and soft drinks available throughout the day and evening. There are many bars and restaurants within walking distance, some good and some not so, a bit of trial and error required. One excellent place is the Sabour Color Gourmet Bar on Templeman. Downtown is worth exploring although, the upper levels are far more interesting. Use the finiculars, these are great fun, practical and cheap.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hallroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Higueras
Hotel Casa Higueras
#2 of 35 in Valparaiso
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palacio Astoreca
Hotel Palacio Astoreca
#7 of 35 in Valparaiso
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fauna
Hotel Fauna
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#4 of 35 in Valparaiso
443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zerohotel
Zerohotel
#8 of 35 in Valparaiso
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Acontraluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Acontraluz

Property: Hotel Boutique Acontraluz
Address: San Enrique 473 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2370854, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Boutique Acontraluz 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Boutique Acontraluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing