We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to spend a week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Valparaiso Experience Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Santiago, Chile
1 review
“Great place to spend a week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed for a week in the Bellavista Cottage, a two-bedroom place with a lovely view of the Valparaiso bay.

Bart welcomed us, gave us a lovely bottle of Chilean wine, and walked us through everything we needed to know about the local area. He was ridiculously responsive whenever we needed anything or had questions, and even went above and beyond by getting my wife a birthday cake -- a kind gesture he certainly didn't have to do.

As long as you're up for climbing the hill and the stairs, the Valparaiso Experience is a great choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gyardley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bart K, Owner at Valparaiso Experience Apartments, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Perfect get away of a couple of Canadian professionals living in Santiago, via Chile Startup program. Very friendly guests, happy to organize a private wine tour in Casablanca, and to arrange a birthday cake in the apartment upon return. It's all in the details, glad you enjoyed your Valparaiso Experience!
Safe travels, whenever you like to visit Valparaiso you have your home here, hasta pronto
Bart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    22
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
61
39
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Summer is high season in Chile so to get an apartment the size and rates of what VE can offer is truly a joy! I recommend anyone who wants to go to Valparaiso to stay here especially if you want to feel like home ;p

The apartments are cozy, equipped with practically everything which makes cooking your own food easier. I would say that it is a homestay so don't expect a hotel level service. No breakfast or restaurant available in this place but Bart is so very helpful recommending places to eat and visit and even made a useful guidebook for his guests.

Booked the Bellavista Cottage which is a very cozy 2-bedroom apartment with its very own garden with peach tree and barbeque pit. Then Bart showed us one of the Ecco Apartments which was available then, so we immediately decided to change rooms because the view at Ecco is truly spectacular!

Definitely will be coming here again soon! And thanks Bart for the assistance and it was great meeting you!

Room Tip: Get the Ecco Apartments with a beautiful view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezzthetics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valpo-Experience, Owner at Valparaiso Experience Apartments, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thanks for sharing your Valparaiso Experience, great you enjoyed your apartment with views.
All our apartments are fully equipped and come with a bottle of welcome wine, tea & ground coffee and coffee machine, like home, and as you said, with better views! And like home, self serviced, or eat out at any of the nearby restaurants on Bellavista hill.
Safe travels & hasta pronto!
Bart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I spent 3 nights at VE recently and loved it.

I was in apartment No2., its well appointed, offers great views, great location with easy access to centre of Valparaiso and the owner knows the area really well and is super helpful.

Its perfect for a one or 2 couples or a couple with 2 kids.

Would I stay again? You bet.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank advrider-ox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valpo-Experience, Owner at Valparaiso Experience Apartments, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thanks Steven for sharing your Valparaiso Experience, glad the apartment & service met your expectations and more, as you put well: a few nights of comfort & luxury to recover from the Dakar 2014.
Safe travels and hasta siempre!

Bart
Valparaiso Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We have stayed in these apartments multiple times, and have always been very happy with the location and facilities. The owner and manager, Bart, is always very available, friendly and helpful.
Most recently, we stayed in the Queen Mary Duplex, which is very comfortable for 2 families of 4. We love the decks and the views, each night enjoying a drink whilst we cooked on the parilla.
The neighbourhood of Cerro Bellavista is appealing to us, being surrounded by street art, some great restaurants and cafes, but it is also feels more real, less gentrified than other more touristy areas, and we felt we were living more among local residents than hotels. Thanks again, Bart!

Room Tip: There are two double rooms, one of which is very large with amazing views. There are 2 twin rooms, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolittledallimores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valpo-Experience, Owner at Valparaiso Experience Apartments, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Having stayed several times at our apartments, with friends and family, it is like home in Valparaiso - with great views; and with a sunny and mild climate year round, a perfect getaway from Santiago.
Hasta pronto amigos!
Bart
Valparaiso Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Three friends and I stayed in one of the Ecco Duplex units for a week in early November, and the overall experience was wonderful. During trip planning, Bart was always available through email to answer any questions we had. He helped us organize transportation from and back to Santiago, wine tasting, and a sailing trip, which were all great and very helpful in planning.

Bart met us when we arrived and provided all the information we would need for a great week, including maps and wonderful restaurant recommendations. The Ecco Duplex unit was very clean and had ample space for 4 individuals, plus amazing views. The location was great, a quiet neighborhood but a short walk from anywhere in the city. Bart made himself available every day for questions and would stop by to see how we were doing and to chat.

Overall, the apartment was a great base-camp for an amazing trip and experience in Valparaiso, highly recommended and service from Bart was top notch. Would certainly come back if in Valparaiso in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valpo-Experience, Owner at Valparaiso Experience Apartments, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thanks for a great Valparaiso Experience guys, a pleasure to help prepare your trip to Chile and make transport and tour arrangements! The ECCO Duplex apartment with 2 bedrooms & 2 bathrooms, ample living and kitchen and the terraces with great ocean views is the perfect set up for your group, we look forward having you back soon. Feliz 2014 & safe travels!
Bart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

The Bellavista Cottage was perfect for us--(my husband, 3 year old and I) there was even a deck with a grill! The views are amazing and you are in walking distance of Pablo Neruda's house as well as great restaurants. Bart and his family were warm and inviting and so helpful in pointing us in the direction of places to see within Valparaiso. We neglected to realize that the time we were going (near September 18, Chile's national holiday) was a time many things would be closed. Bart helped us find food and places to go--actually walking us to different spots. The guidebook he put together was perfect and we were even greeted with a bottle of wine. The Bellavista cottage was the perfect place for us to feel both the independence of being in our "own home" as well as the helpful hand of someone in the know. Bring warm clothing as it can get quite cool at night...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valpo-Experience, Owner at Valparaiso Experience Apartments, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thanks for your kind words Nadia, it was great having you here and meeting! We look forward having you here again for a few days soon, so our boys can play together in the garden of the Bellavista Cottage! Now mid December, with summer starting next week, temperatures are ideal and the peaches are nearly ripe and juicy! Safe travels & hasta pronto

Bat Koning
Valparaiso Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

My partner and I decided to have 3 days in Valparaiso to visit friends before heading home to Sydney after visiting Brazil to see her family. I had organised the accommodation from Sydney online and found Valparaiso Experience Apartments through trip advisor. Bart was helpful, professional and understanding when booking the apartment and seemed excited to meet us !
He organised transport from Santiago but gave us many options to choose from. On arrival all went to plan we were met at Santiago. We were driven to Valparaiso by a charming driver and personally met by Bart on arrival to help us with our luggage and then showed to our apartment. A bottle of complimentary Chilean red was a nice touch after settling! The apartment was clean and had an amazing view over the harbour. We had friends to show us around but Bart was more than willing, knowledgeable & passionate to offer suggestions. He had also just had become a father for the second time recently so he was very proud but exhausted and so was his beautiful wife but more than willing to accommodate any problems we might have had ! Downside is a steep hill to endure when stumbling home but Bart will inform you the Taxis to get if need be ! Thanks Guys!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 23goodthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valpo-Experience, Owner at Valparaiso Experience Apartments, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thanks for your detailed review and sharing your great Valparaiso Experience, glad you enjoyed the apartment, service and location so much!

Safe travels & hasta pronto

Bart
Valparaiso Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.6 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 34 in Valparaiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.3 mi away
Verso Hotel
Verso Hotel
#5 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Valparaiso
Ibis Valparaiso
#15 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fauna
Hotel Fauna
#4 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nomada Eco Hostel
Nomada Eco Hostel
#1 of 183 in Valparaiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valparaiso Experience Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valparaiso Experience Apartments

Property: Valparaiso Experience Apartments
Address: Pasaje Santa Margarita 234 | Cerro Bellavista, Valparaiso 2371881, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 183 Specialty Lodging in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valparaiso Experience offers great ocean view apartments on a superb location on Bellavista hill, Valparaiso, Chile. This colourful city is declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, very lively & enjoyable, and probably Chile's most attractive city: while here, make sure this will be the highlight of your trip, and stay in one of the home rental apartments of Valparaiso Experience: 4 bedrooms & 2 bathrooms Queen Mary Duplex with large terraces, 3 bedrooms Pablo Neruda Apartment, 2 bdrms Bellavista Cottage with garden, and 4 new luxury ECCO Duplex apartments with ample terraces (2 bedrooms + 2 full bathrooms each); all are fully furnished and boast spectacular views over the Pacific ocean, Andes mountains and coastline. Rated excellent on both Flipkey and Tripadvisor in 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 thanks to great reviews from guests, ideal for families with children, groups, couples, solo travellers, business trips, long term stays. Welcome to your Valparaiso Experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Valparaiso Experience Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing