We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Valparaiso Experience Apartments
Nearby Hotels
$118
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Fauna(Valparaiso)
$138
$111
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Valparaiso(Valparaiso)
$76
$74
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$165
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel 17(Valparaiso)
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Zerohotel(Valparaiso)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveler rating
147
23
2
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
23
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscerro bellavistagreat apartmentsamazing viewsfull kitchenplace to stayperfect locationbarthostcityharbourneighborhoodterracesupermarkethillcruise
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 174 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed 2 nights in the 2 bedroom Valparaiso Experience ECCO apartment on the first leg of our trip to Peru. We would have liked to stay longer as we enjoyed the grungy city and all the interesting street art . These apartments were a great choice for us. Bart was a wonderful and interesting host. We drove from the airport to the steep street as per the instructions - which was surprisingly easy, despite our tiredness. There was plenty of parking on the street. The apartments were a little bit difficult to find at first, and are down a very steep staircase. When we first arrived the apartments felt a bit damp as there had been some very heavy rain but with a few days of better weather this was gone. We ate at Espiritu Santo nearby which was great - one of our most enjoyable meals on our trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizF_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valpo-Experience, Owner at Valparaiso Experience Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Great having this nice family from New Zealand at one of the ECCO Duplex apartments the last nights of June, winter and low season here in Chile. Arriving just after a heavy rain fall, they enjoyed some sunny days, although as mentioned in the review, 2 nights is hardly enough to enjoy all the diverse and corful city of Valparaiso has to offer.
We look forward having back at Valapraiso Experience, safe travels!
Bart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We are halfway through our first trip to Chile and had the pleasure of staying one night with Bart and Marcella at Valparaiso Experience. Our family (2 parents, 1 teen daughter, 1 grandfather) rented two ECCO apartments for extra privacy and we were very happy with our stay. The apartments are quiet, spacious, and well-equipped with everything needed. And the views are beautiful! This place provides excellent value for your money.

Bart is an outstanding host. He greeted us like we were old friends and gave us an orientation to the city. Yet also very professional - good communication, reliable and prompt. We took his recommendations for restaurants (Oda Pacifico - wow, perhaps the best meal we've had in Chile - and Espiritu Santu) and we were glad we did. My only regret was that we did not have another day or two to spend in Valparaiso - it would have been worthwhile to book 2 or 3 nights to have more time to see the rest of the city.

Be prepared to walk a lot in this town. And be aware that it looks a lot "scruffier" on the outside than it does indoors! A building may look very run-down and neglected on the exterior, yet the interior will be polished and beautiful. This was a delightful surprise for us. You should also know that if you are driving to Valparaiso Experience, the road up the hill is quite steep. Don't be alarmed if your tires squeal a lot.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariettamom713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valpo-Experience, Owner at Valparaiso Experience Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thanks Karen for your kind words, the 2 next door ECCO Duplex apartments was just a perfect set up for your group, and as you said the only thing missing was another few days to enjoy all there is to see and do! You will love the Atacama dessert, and should you go sandboarding, con cuidado!
Safe travels & hasta pronto
Bart
Valparaiso Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We just concluded a wonderful stay at the Valparaiso Experience. Bart and Marcela are wonderful hosts. He is fluent in many languages and easily helped our group explore the city in French, English and Spanish. We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 floor apartment for 4 nights with a lovely view of the city and ocean from atop the Bellavista hill. The apartments are located on one of the steepest streets in the city which is both interesting and exciting to navigate by foot and car. With lots of local knowledge and recommendations to guide you, I can't think of a better place to stay if you visit Valparaiso.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valpo-Experience, Propietario at Valparaiso Experience Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

This multilingual group - two couples from France & US - arrived on a Sunday around mid night and enjoyed their ECCO Duplex Apartment so much, they stayed an extra night, and drove straight to the airport with a stop in Casablanca valley. Great guests, a pleasure to host, and thanks for the great photos!
Safe travels & hasta pronto
Bart
Valparaiso Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We just finished a 5 night stay in one of Bart’s ECCO apartments. It is fantastic! This is the place to stay in Valparaiso! I had found his location and website last year during our first trip to “Valpo”, and then read all about he and Marcella’s business and various lodging options. When I first enquired for our upcoming trip Bart responded immediately with a welcoming tone and complete information. All the communications about booking and the inevitable changes were done quickly and clearly.

When we arrived and met Bart for the first time he helped us carry our bags down the stairs and with parking our car. When we opened the door to apartment #2 and saw the furnishings, cleanliness, modern kitchen, deck and THE VIEW!, we knew we were going to be happy! Then Bart became the perfect host and concierge with a full briefing on the apartment, dining options, local attractions, etc. He also has it all laid out in a guidebook that is kept in each apartment. Everything has been thought out and prepared, nothing has been overlooked for the vacation renter.

The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are modern with plenty of warm water and privacy, the Wi-Fi and TV’s are fast and new, it is a place you could live for a long time. And then Valparaiso! It has become our favorite city in the world – bohemian, artsy, freewheeling, random and reckless – with wonderful charm, character and cuisine all in the nicest weather you can imagine. Some might find it dirty or loud but it is safe and has a special feeling you will not find in many corners of the world; we love the place.

Book with Bart and the Valparaiso Experience, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tyd6spl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valpo-Experience, Propietario at Valparaiso Experience Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thanks Pete for the detailed description of your Valparaiso Experience, much appreciated.
For us it is a true pleasure to host such interesting and nice guests like you, specially sharing the love Chile and particularly the city Valparaiso. Untill very soon, safe travels!
Bart
Valparaiso Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our experience of renting the ECCO apartment for 3 nights went smoothly from initial inquiry to departure day when Bart called us a taxi and carried our luggage down the stairs when we left for our cruise. He speaks 5 languages and seems to love his work: he certainly made us feel personally welcomed and was very accommodating with our need for early check in. He is available on site if needed for any questions or concerns. The apartment is quite comfortable and I recommend the ECCO apartments' double glazed windows if you are sensitive to the ubiquitous Valparaiso barking dogs!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RavenGirl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews