We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valparaiso Experience Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Valparaiso Experience Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed in one of the newer two bedroom apartments that Valparaiso Experience offers. The views are stunning and the owner was amazing. We were welcomed with a bottle of wine and all of the information we could ask for. The apartment was very clean and the kitchen well stocked so we could cook for ourselves if we wished. We experienced an earthquake during our stay and the owner arrived immediately to make sure we were ok and all was safe. The rooms were spacious and the beds comfortable. For the best experience in Valparaiso stay at Valparaiso Experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GnomeHome416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valpo-Experience, Propietario at Valparaiso Experience Apartments, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Hi dear family, thanks so much for your true contribution! It is great to know you enjoyed your stay so much at the ECCO duplex apartment, specially while you are such experienced travelers with a clear and critical eye for comfort and service. The only but is you might have wanted to stay longer to enjoy the city and surroundings, well, another good reason to return soon!

Safe travels, and hasta pronto
Bart & Marcela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    22
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
61
38
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concepcion, Chile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

This place is amazing. We decided to stay here during our wedding week in Valpo, mainly because of the view, but we fell in love with the place before we even arrived because of the amazing owners. Bart and Marcela made us feel so incredibly welcome and could not do enough to help us organise our week. Without them our wedding would have been a LOT more stressful. They went above and beyond and the Valpo Experience has become much more than a place to stay in Valpo (which we will do every time we go there from now on) it is a place where Bart and Marcela, our new friends, live.

So much more than incredible views, it is a place that anyone will feel comfortable and at home. It is definitely our new home away from home.

Additional add-ons are available, including the Chef Experience where chefs from a local restaurant come to your apartment to cook for you. This was great for our family, so they could experience traditional Chilean food cooked in front of you by top class chefs. Also, transfers to/from Santiago airport can be organised with a very friendly driver.

Thanks again Bart and Marcela, you made our wedding so very special. If I could rate higher than 5 stars I would.

The happy Australian (married) couple.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valpo-Experience, Owner at Valparaiso Experience Apartments, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Hola queridos amigos!
What a fantastic week, what a celebration, what a great experience with your kind and fun friends and family, this is truly an exteaordinary experience!
It is an honor to host all of you, a special mention should be made that so many of your friends and family came over all the way from Australia to your wedding week here in Valparaíso, which is really unique and one of a kind. This is only possible because of who you both are, a beautiful and unique couple, now married forever and ever after!
Glad we could help out with the organization, this is what lifeis about, travel and enjoy the now!

We will see you soon, you are invited to our deck terrace for a BBQ and pisco sour!

Bart & Marcela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

The modern, well equipped apartments are centrally located, with a view that will captivate you for hours. Supermarkets, panaderias are close by. There are plenty of restaurants, museums and galleries within walking distance, and all around is the unique heritage that makes Valparaiso fascinating. Wi-fi access will satisfy those who need to be connected, although with so much to do we did not touch the tv. Those who are security conscious need not worry- the villas are quite secure. Bart, the owner, is unobtrusive but always helpful. Nothing, from buying art to organising a wedding, seems to fluster him. We had a wonderful stay and would recommend it to families, couples, friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spacekat9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valpo-Experience, Owner at Valparaiso Experience Apartments, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Hola amigos!
Fantastic having you here and knowing you enjoyed so much, it was a great week with many activities and events, a real celebration! We are very pleased with the whole organization and ambience, the people make the difference and you were really a pleasure to deal with, and host you all in the apartments; thanks for be so kind and respectful!
Hopefully you can return to Chile soon, enjoy the rest of your travel and hasta pronto!
Bart & Marcela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
free for a year!
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

This is a great place if you want to live a bit of real Valpo! If you are looking for the fine linens, 24hr room service and the breakfast buffet then look elsewhere, but if you want to get a small insight into what its really like living in Chile then stay with Bart.

We, us and four young kids, stayed in the Pablo Neruda apartment for 10 days in January and will definitely return when we are back in Valpo. The apartment has a good kitchen and living area plus three bedrooms, which is rare for somewhere advertising six, and great views down over the harbour. It gave us all the space we needed to relax, get school work done and watch the boats in and out of the harbour!

We lived in Chile 10 years ago, and are returning for an extended stay with family and chose to use Valpo as our base versus Santiago. We love Santiago, but Valpo gave us easy access to vineyards, other costal destinations like Vina, Algorobo and Zapallar.

Valpos charm is exploring the back streets, enjoying good food, watching locals go about their daily chores and watching harbour life go by! Valpo is deservedly a world heritage site, its unique and full of character, but to fully appreciate it you need to work through the layers of graffiti, dog excrement and smell of urine! Extend your stay in Valpo, relax into the cites rhythm and you will love it!

Thank you Bart!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valpo-Experience, Owner at Valparaiso Experience Apartments, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Hola querida familia,
Thanks for sharing your Valparaiso experience here, we are glad the apartments served you so well for your family of 6, and perhaps it is good to mention the location is really central, just steps away from everything and yet away from it all, well worth the staircase alley the apartments are located on. Your observations about the city of Valparaiso are very true, this is a place to absorb, observe breath and enjoy: the varnish might come off here and there, but the wood underneath is fine timber.
Safe travels, and hasta pronto,
Bart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Pablo Neruda apartment for a week over New Year's and had a wonderful time. The apartment was equipped with everything we needed and looked even better than the photos. Enrique was always happy to help with any questions we had and Bart was super friendly and helpful; without hesitation he made numerous phone calls for us to line up a great New Year's dinner and gave great advice (and a great napkin map!) on some places to check out. We were even invited up onto the large balcony to watch the fireworks on New Year's Eve with Bart, his family and some other guests.

A great place to stay at and explore Valparaiso, we'd love to return some time soon!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwpaul01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valpo-Experience, Propietario at Valparaiso Experience Apartments, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Hola amigos!
Thanks so much for your stay, it was great to have you here and we really enjoyed watching the fireworks together; thanks also ought to go out to David who invited us to his home the Queen Mary Duplex for New Year's. Good luck in Santiago de Chile, and whenever you feel like coast and ocean views, our doors are open!

Saludos
Bart
Owner Valparaiso Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

Great place to stay. Shops and restaurants r nearby. The beach is a short metro ride away. U can also just sit on the balcony and enjoy the view.
Bart the owner is very helpful.
Like any big city u need to pay attention. The locals will warn u to be careful but we felt perfectly safe.

Room Tip: Large apartments with two bedrooms...can easily share with another couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herrie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valpo-Experience, Propietario at Valparaiso Experience Apartments, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
Hallo reis vrienden,

Great to meet you and glad you enjoyed the new ECCO duplex, that´s the idea great place on a great location and even better views! Thanks for sharing your Valparaiso Experience with fellow travelers. safe travels, hasta pronto

Bart
Valparaiso Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed at Bellavista cottage for 4 days prior to our cruise and loved it! Enrique greeted us and was available throughout our stay as well as arranging our taxi and helping us with our luggage when we left. Could not have asked for a better host.
The apt was great! Funky and unique decor with all the practical things to make our stay enjoyable. Loved the area; which was like living in an art gallery. We had a couple minor issues which were handled immediately and that's the real test of a good place. We can all experience a problem but in this case the handling of it was perfect. Thanks Bart and family ... we will return....just wish it could be tomorrow. Judy and Brian

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valpo-Experience, Propietario at Valparaiso Experience Apartments, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Hola dear couple!

Thanks so much for your stay and kind words, it is great to know you had such a good Valparaiso experience. The new duplex apartments are now decorated and ready for you visit; the good thing about tomorrow is, it is almost there, start preparing for your return travel to Chile, we have our doors wide open for you!

Safe travels, saludos cordiales

Marcela and Bart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Valparaiso
Ibis Valparaiso
#14 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 34 in Valparaiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Verso Hotel
Verso Hotel
#5 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fauna
Hotel Fauna
#4 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Casa Higueras
Hotel Casa Higueras
#2 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valparaiso Experience Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valparaiso Experience Apartments

Property: Valparaiso Experience Apartments
Address: Pasaje Santa Margarita 234 | Cerro Bellavista, Valparaiso 2371881, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valparaiso Experience offers great ocean view apartments on a superb location on Bellavista hill, Valparaiso, Chile. This colourful city is declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, very lively & enjoyable, and probably Chile's most attractive city: while here, make sure this will be the highlight of your trip, and stay in one of the home rental apartments of Valparaiso Experience: 4 bedrooms & 2 bathrooms Queen Mary Duplex with large terraces, 3 bedrooms Pablo Neruda Apartment, 2 bdrms Bellavista Cottage with garden, and 4 new luxury ECCO Duplex apartments with ample terraces (2 bedrooms + 2 full bathrooms each); all are fully furnished and boast spectacular views over the Pacific ocean, Andes mountains and coastline. Rated excellent on both Flipkey and Tripadvisor in 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 thanks to great reviews from guests, ideal for families with children, groups, couples, solo travellers, business trips, long term stays. Welcome to your Valparaiso Experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Valparaiso Experience Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing