We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fish, seafood and local flavor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oda Pacifico

Oda Pacifico
Ranked #83 of 416 Restaurants in Valparaiso
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, Chilean, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Eastern Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great fish, seafood and local flavor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Our tour guide Hector Medina brought us to this restaurant for lunch. We chose to sit indoors (there is a terrace) but we still had a beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean. The staff was courteous and the food of a very high quality. A meal for three cost 41,000 Chilean pesos (approximately 60 US dollars). This was a good choice for experiencing typical Chilean fare.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clara1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    127
    46
    31
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
123 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Great View and Very Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

My wife and I had lunch there on a bright, sun shiny day. Our server, Sayed, pointed us in the direction of the day's seafood specials, which we chose, and both started with the ceviche. My wife had a fresh, clean Sauvignon Blanc and I a lightly oaked Chardonnay to accompany our respective choices. Dessert was a vanilla panna cotta drizzled with a blueberry/raspberry sauce. My espresso was the best coffee I've had so far in Chile.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Scenic View, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Although from outside might look uninviting and empty, do enter and walk up to the terrace. Then you decide!!! The views are stunning and, in winter you'll find one or two fireplaces on, the music is calmed and combine perfectly with the scenery.
Tables looking for the bay and the lights of Valparaiso mirroring in the ocean waters do well for a romantic diner.
Sea food was fresh and perfectly cooked, seasoning good. Service kind. Presentation was nice. in winter ask especially for a specially hot plate (the only complain I may have)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank guadasabate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Chile so far...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I am writing while still on the road, but really want to rave about Oda Pacifico. We arrived too early for dinner, but one of the staff arriving for work that night asked us to wait and said she would see what she could do. We only waited perhaps 20 minutes and the staff opened the doors to us - the only guests in sight.

The ambience was perfect - casual, yet candle-lit and beautifully appointed, with gorgeous views of the city lights. Our server helped us decide on a variety of items from the menu and even brought us sampler plates of items we had not ordered, yet he wanted us to try.

The food was exquisite. We all ordered fish - octopus to start, then for entrees we had "check fish" (which we think was grouper?), shrimp, and rock fish. Great variety of flavors and just the right amount. The pisco sours were good as well.

I would go back. I would take friends. This is a special place whose hospitality is warm and inviting. Don't hesitate to try it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mariettamom713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best meal in Valparaiso”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We travel a lot, (and we eat at restaurants a lot!), and this was our most satisfying meal throughout our trip to Chile. We did have one particular dish at another restaurant that was better, but for the overall experience, quality of food, etc., this was the restaurant we would go to again. We tried the other "top" restaurants on Trip Advisor, and this was our absolute favorite. Also, when talking to the locals as well as the tour guides, this was the restaurant they liked the most. We went for lunch and sat on the patio. The views were phenomenal. It was probably one of our most memorable parts of our trip to Chile. If there is one restaurant you go to, you MUST visit this restaurant!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MAF1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oda Pacifico also viewed

Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 

Been to Oda Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing