We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, friendly and helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Latitud 33 Sur
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Charming, friendly and helpful”
Reviewed March 3, 2010

Latitud 33 is a small hotel with a lot of caracter and right in the middle of the most picturesque district of Valparaiso, close to a lot of good restaurants. Very clean, good breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff, went out of their way to help me get my camera repaired when it was damaged in a mugging attempt - there are some areas of Valparaiso where you should be extremely careful, they will also advise you on that.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKWorldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    60
    20
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
56
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2009

Pros:
- Very clean and charming boutique hotel. The rooms were amazing. Brand new.
- Friendly and flexible staff. They would prepare breakfast even after the regular time.
- Located close to amazing restaurants on Cerro Concepción.

Cons:
- A bit difficult to find
- Acoustic isolation is not good. We could heard people walking on the reception.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FMassuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2009

The bottom line is they refused to respect the law in Chile that if paying with a foreign credit card the tourist does NOT pay local tax (IVA). Management acknowleged the law but would not explain to us why multiple different rooms with different prices in chilean pesos had the same price in US dollars - ie they are ripping tourists off. The reception staff were fantastic and agreed with us and offered us the best price she could - then on check out the manager at first refused to acknowledge her error, and then also tried to charge us much more than the price that was agreed to at check in!!!!! something I hate!........ anyway
The rooms have lovely colour schemes, but are very noisy both late at night and early in the morning.
The location is excellent and deserves far better attention than the managers are providing.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank paulycleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauderhill, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2009

We stayed at Hotel Latitud 33 Sur on the strength of one review (another was posted during our stay) that said the place was a gem, and I must say, we agree wholeheartedly! Two things stand out for this hotel: the design and the staff.
The design is a remodeling of an old building in a historic district. Each of the ten rooms is different, each fascinating with unique touches. We were in no. 10, which was very comfortable (once we got the heat turned on...May is late autumn there). The multi-story structure has lots of touches that are well thought out.
The staff members were superb! Some spoke excellent English, others did not, but each was unfailingly courteous, helpful, and welcoming. They were helpful beyond what would have been expected, even assisting with the local police (we got a parking ticket). Their suggestions for restaurants and other destinations were very valuable.
The location is in the middle of Cerro Concepción, one of the best districts for getting the flavor of the town. It's tricky to find, so follow the map posted on their website exactly...don't try to second guess, or you'll get hopelessly lost, like we did. They also have free internet and a comfortable and stylish commons area.
Only downside is street noise...the local cobblestone streets make quite a sound in even light traffic, like rushing waters. I found this oddly relaxing, though not all would do so.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentheEnchanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

We spent only one night in this hotel, just before starting a cruise. The hotel is very modern and clean. Our room was small (where to put the suitcases!) but functional. There's a computer in the downstairs area that's always available and has a broadband connection. Morning breakfast was fine (and included). The staff was helpful; they even helped in getting our suitcases down the 1/2 block long alley to the taxi.
The neighborhood isn't gentrified (yet), but we felt completely safe walking there at night. There are several restaurants just 2-3 blocks away. There's a funicular 2-3 blocks away that takes you to the downtown.
Finally, don't miss the jewelry store on the right at the entrance to the alley leading to the hotel. The owner (Victor Hugo) makes excellent gold and silver jewelry.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbjii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

I spent two nights here in May 2009, and would return in a minute. The Latitud 33 Sur is a charming little boutique style hotel right in the middle of the Valparaiso tourist areas--you really couldn't ask for a better location (don't be alarmed that it isn't on a street, but rather an alley--it's fine). In a district of historic buildings, this appears to be at least partially new construction, with exposed beams and windows at unusual angles. There are 10 rooms. Mine had a queen bed, flat screen TV, and windows overlooking the street. Linens and beds are of good quality, and the room is immaculate. Two downsides: the wi-fi never worked in my room (I used the desktop downstairs), and there is the potential for the place to be noisy--wood floors and high ceilings don't muffle sound well. There weren't many guests during my stay, so it wasn't an issue, but I could see that it might become one. On the plus side were the most substantial breakfasts that I saw in South America (and they have their own espresso machine!), and most importantly--fabulous staff. They accomodated my every request, and went out of their way to make sure my stay in Valparaiso went well. Somehow, they made the place seem home-like--I had to remind myself that I couldn't go to breakfast in my pj's. I even got a wonderful hug as I checked out.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beglisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANTA FE
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

The Hotel Latitud 33 Sur is in the heart of Cerro Concepcion in Valparaiso, on Pasaje Templeman. It is spotlessly clean; the beds are very comfortable with high quality linens; breakfast in the cafe is simple (coffee, tea, fruits, breads, ham and cheese) but abundant and fresh with excellent service. The decor is fresh and interesting, mixing artistic elements with old world touches. It has two comfortable lounge areas to relax, read, use the wireless internet (or shared computer) and meeting other guests. But most of all, the staff is exceptionally friendly, helpful and goes above and beyond your expectations to make sure your stay not only at the hotel, but in Valparaiso, is memorable. My only complaint was that the many windows in our rooms (9 and 10) were exposed to afternoon sun, making it very hot in the early evenings during our February stay. Otherwise, service and staff are tops and I would definitely stay again. A gem in the heart of Valparaiso.

  • Liked — The staff and the cleanliness
  • Disliked — Afternoon sun made our room unbearably hot
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cjsantafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Valparaiso
Ibis Valparaiso
#13 of 35 in Valparaiso
1,690 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montealegre de Valparaiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
665 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ultramar Hotel
Ultramar Hotel
#18 of 35 in Valparaiso
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Terranostra
Hotel Terranostra
#16 of 35 in Valparaiso
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Latitud 33 Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Latitud 33 Sur

Property: Hotel Latitud 33 Sur
Address: Cerro Concepcion Pasaje Templeman 183, Valparaiso 2370763, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Latitud 33 Sur 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Latitud 33 Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing