We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of the best hostels we've stayed in” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luna Sonrisa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valparaiso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luna Sonrisa
Certificate of Excellence
Wien
Level Contributor
205 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“one of the best hostels we've stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2009

the rooms are simple but for the price we payed it was absolutely ok. the staff is extraordinary friendly and helpful. the provide a map of valparaiso for every guest with all the important sights and walks and additionally explain very detailed how to get everywhere, the make suggestions where to go for dinner and even made reservations in restaurants for us. the location of the hostel is on of the central cerros and it was very quiet at night.

  • Liked — staff and general atmosphere
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faulentssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    52
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
10
60
56
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2008

Best Hostel we stayed in during our stay in Chile and Argentina.
Very Clean, nice rooms, hot showers>
Two best features:
* Friendly staff: speak very good English and know the city and surroundings very well. They will help you with whatever if they can, make reservations and give you honest opinions about offered tours.
* Breakfast: Fresh fruit and fresh, REAL coffee!
Clearly very experienced travelers.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TomasRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2008

Through the internet we booked a room with harbor view. It was the most expensive room of the hostel (39.500 Pesos) and was advertised as a luxury apartment. The accomodation was o.k. but we agreed at the price only on the basis of getting a room with a view over the harbor. It turned out, that we had to lean out of the window and look at a right angle along the front wall of the building to see a small fractioon of the harbor. When we realized the error the manager (Owner??) Juan Eduardo had already left for the weekend, and when he was contacted by the staff he blamed a former secretary for the error in te coorespondence with us but was not prepared to compromise. In my opinion Juan Eduardo cheated us and he should not be trusted.
Rainer Sturm, Bornstrasse 14, 20146 Hamburg/Germany

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank crrastorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2008

Luna Sonrisa is a great hostel. My room was spacious, the water pressure was good, the shared spaces in the hostel were comfortable and clean, the location was wonderful and the price was right. Plus, Juan Carlos (like the King of Spain) was my wonderful contact at the hostel; he waited up for my arrival (after 11 p.m.), helped make dinner reservations, and provided wonderful maps and directions for exploring Valparaiso.
Details
Room: Big with tall ceilings, clean, comfy bed, private bath and relatively quiet.
Hostel: Common kitchen with fridge, stove, and hot water for tea. Small patio for smoking or sitting outside. Breakfast was simple with fresh breads, various jams, fresh fruit and cheese, and coffee made from a french press.
Location: Cerro Alegre, World Heritage part of town. Up a big hill (as is most of Valparaiso) near small shops and restaurants. Felt like a safe area (relatively speaking.)
Cost: $29 per night - but there are cheaper rooms too. (Must pay in Chilean pesos, which is better for the exchange rate anyway.)

  • Liked — Big room, location, and friendly service
  • Disliked — Nothing, all was good
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jessica022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2008

My sister and I stayed here for two nights, and we were happy to have splurged to get the 1-BR apartment. It's in the perfect location in town, on a steep and colorful cobblestone street in the heart of the World Heritage part of town.

Our little apt had its own kitchen and bath, a high-ceiling living room, and a big bedroom with a loft area where the bed is. The apartment faces front and our view was all the way to the water.

The owner of this place wrote the Footprints guide book, and while he wasn't around there was another 30-ish guy who was EXTREMELY helpful and hospitable. He was like our own personal tour guide, he loves food and gave on-the-mark descriptions of restaurants, neighborhoods, and sites.

From service to location to the clean and modern apartment itself, this place was the perfect place to use as our home away from home. One thing to note is that it's not marked from the outside with a sign -- so go by the street address when you're looking for it.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hochrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2008

The Luna Sonrisa is a lovely small hostal, with a dorm and a few private rooms. I stayed in a single room, which although small was comfortable and well-maintained. None of the rooms are ensuite, but as the hostal is so small sharing a bathroom isn't a problem. The hostal is on one of the main Cerros, and is close to lots of cafes and restaurants. The staff/owners were very friendly and welcoming and I felt very much at home. The guest kitchen is very modern and clean, and the small common area is comfy enough - it maybe just needs internet access to be perfect. But the best thing about the Luna Sonrisa is the free breakfast! Lots of fruit, proper coffee, and fresh bread and home-made jam. It's worth going just for the breakfast alone!

  • Liked — The free breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirumir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 34 in Valparaiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fauna
Hotel Fauna
#4 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Volante Hostal
Casa Volante Hostal
#2 of 179 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Joya Hostel
La Joya Hostel
#3 of 179 in Valparaiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Acuarela
Hostal Acuarela
#9 of 179 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Sonrisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Sonrisa

Property: Luna Sonrisa
Address: Templeman 833 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2370951, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 179 Specialty Lodging in Valparaiso
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing