We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better in summer than winter”
Review of Luna Sonrisa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valparaiso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luna Sonrisa
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better in summer than winter”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed in the upstairs apartment for a few days. Although the apartment is quite nice and would be great if you wanted to cook your own meals in the lovely kitchen, there were some other issues. We there in what is effectively winter and although it wasn't that cold outside, it was frigid in the apartment. Showering was miserable because it was so cold in the bathroom. There were no heaters or anything. Furthermore, the pipes are apparently old and thin, so you can't flush toilet paper there. That's already sort of gross, but it's even grosser that trash cans weren't emptied daily, which should be required if you have to put that in the trash.
There is free wireless internet on the main floor and below but it doesn't reach the apartment. There is also a computer with free internet in the basement.
The best part of the place is the breakfast. Delicious coffee, homemade bread, homemade jams, and fruit. Great!
The location is good for accessing nice walks to many of the most colorful and wealthiest parts of town and it's a nice walk to La Sebastiana. There are some good restaurants close by, but they seem to be open when they feel like it, and not when they claim to be open.
Finally, they only take cash, which is kind of absurd for a place that costs about $90US per night. They neglected to tell us until we were about to check out so we had race to the ATM to get more cash.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    52
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
10
60
56
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

This was a hostel for a older travelers. This hostel was comfortable, located on a quiet street, perfect location, safe, architecturally interesting, spacious common areas, friendly and knowledgeable staff. Breakfast in Chile is usually comprised of bread, butter, jam and Nescafe but here, homemade bread, fruit and tasty coffee. We had a car and had no trouble finding parking on the street. Our spacious room faced the street and it was quiet. The only drawback was the lack of hot water for showering. There was also no heat, but that was no problem because there enough bedding. (Many Chilean hotels do not have heat.) The staff offered laundry service: no self-serve laundry service. And, English is spoken if that is a concern.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navajo_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed here two nights and loved it. Great location for seeing the art work and the port. The hosts were terrific and facilities were fine. Stayed in a private double with shared bathroom and found it to be quiet. Great kitchen facilities. Very helpful hosts. Felt safe walking around here at night and it was really convenient to every part of town we wanted to see. Walked to the port, to Pablo Arruda's, and saw the best artwork in this cerro allegre area. Breakfast was good but not as great as we had expected, just the usual bread and jam.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherylri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

I have travelled to many countries around the world, and throughout Latin America, and taking into consideration price, cleanliness, comfort, food, friendliness and general ambience, this hostel comes out on top.

The atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming and the bilingual staff are very friendly. The owner is great fun to talk to and is hugely knowledgeable about Chile, having written a famous travel guide to the country - he can advise you on virtually anything you want to know, not just about Valparaiso, but about all of Chile.

The building itself is a large house on one of Valpo's most beautiful hills. It is high-ceilinged, with a calm, fresh and airy feel to it. It's kept spotlessly clean...

If, like me, you're an eater, you will be very pleased by the breakfast. It is a virtually 'all you can eat' experience of fresh local bread, jams, cheese, fruit, tea and coffee etc etc. The conversation is usually good at breakfast time too.

I would recommend this hostel to both young and mature people (I'm somewhere in between!). I have stayed there 5 times so far, and I will continue to visit for as long as I keep returning to Chile.

Room Tip: Try to reserve at least a week in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathal94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed in a twin room for 2 nights and we wish we could have stayed longer! We arrived on the bus from Santiago and were able to catch the public bus to the hostel area of Cerro Alegre which is definitely where you want to stay when visiting Valparaiso. We managed to find the hostel quite easily as it was only a 5 minute walk from the bus stop. On arrival the staff member spoke amazing English and was able to give us a lot of information about the city, including the areas to avoid and what to take with you for the day. Our room was lovely and spacious with very comfortable beds. There were 2 communal areas, one just outside our room and the other downstairs next to the kitchen so there was plenty of space for relaxing at night. There was also a book exchange and a wide range of travel books which you could borrow to plan your visit and ongoing travel. The internet was free and breakfast was included in our room rate as well. This included bread, cheese and fruit which was a perfect start to the day. The best thing about this hostel was how safe it felt as at night, the surrounding could feel a little bit dodgy due to lack of lighting in the streets, so it was nice to know that we could come back to somewhere secure. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and I would recommend it to anyone looking for clean and comfortable accommodation in a prime location.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel10099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2011

The hostel is in the perfect location right in the unesco area on a quiet cobbled street the has an amazing view of the bay and the Andes beyond.
My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in a double room with a shared bathroom. Our room had no frills but was spacious enough with a comfortable bed and was spotlessly clean, as were the shared bathroom facilities. The showers were hot with good water pressure.
On arrival we were given a map and detailed information (in perfect English) about what we could do (both in and around the city) during our 3 days in Valparaiso as well as which parts of town should be avoided.
It is worth staying here for the breakfasts alone – whole meal bread, fresh fruit, good coffee… Breakfast is shared by all the guests on one big table which adds to the cosy friendly vibe of the hostel as a whole.
This is certainly not a party hostel and the common areas are closed at midnight so the hostel is pretty much silent after that meaning that we slept really well.
A few more plus points - a big kitchen with decent pots and pans, a couple of nice bars and restaurants close by, reliable fast Wifi, staff who seemed genuinely interested in helping us make the most of our stay.
These guys are obviously well travelled and get all the simple things right – completely recommendable!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here for 5 days. Our rooms were plain but clean. The breakfast was yum as other reviewers have noted. The staff were helpful and attentive, warning us about Valpo's "Forbidden Zone" (were one only goes if one wants the gritty street crime experience!)
Our room had a private shower which was recalcitrant about giving us hot water and unfortunately the room, and the front of the building in general, was collecting fumes from the malfunctioning heater downstairs.
The owner gave us a very good tip about going to see the wild seals down at the pier, which was one of our highlights from Valpo. Don't miss them! And we also enjoyed the Easter Island Museum with the shrunken heads.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyNornor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna_Sonrisa, Owner at Luna Sonrisa, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you have several positive things to say about us and we certainly take the misgivings you have seriously.

Our guests usually commend us on the quality of our showers. We have found that sometimes people have problems with the hot water if they do not follow the instructions posted in the bathroom and as a result of your comments we have made these more visible so that future guests will not have the same problem.

With regard to the heater, I am at a loss to explain what might have happened. The downstairs heater is in perfect working order and we have never received comments about this from other guests. I guess it is possible that when you were staying with us we may have been delivered a gas cylinder with a faulty connection valve but I certainly did not notice any problem at the time and if this is the case then it would have been a one off event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Volante Hostal
Casa Volante Hostal
#3 of 186 in Valparaiso
320 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal La Colombina de Valparaiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#4 of 35 in Valparaiso
452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Valparaiso
Ibis Valparaiso
#13 of 35 in Valparaiso
1,708 reviews
0.6 mi away
RC Deco Art Hotel Boutique
RC Deco Art Hotel Boutique
#23 of 35 in Valparaiso
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Sonrisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Sonrisa

Property: Luna Sonrisa
Address: Templeman 833 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2370951, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 186 Specialty Lodging in Valparaiso
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing