We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous view”

Restaurant La Concepcion
Ranked #3 of 441 Restaurants in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Salt Lake City
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous view”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was our second trip to Valparaiso. Returning to La Concepcion was a must-do! The view is fabulous, service attentive and fun! Food is above average!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mw84108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,100
    433
    129
    29
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los altos
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful views and wonderful meal”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

On a Sunday evening after a late afternoon arrival on the bus from Santiago, we were looking for a dinner place, and walked into La Concepcion by chance. We liked the look of the menu, and once inside, we were told by a local sitting at the bar: "why not go upstairs, same food but better view." And boy, was he right. The harbor lights were twinkling romantically and the view improved as the night darkened. Our dinner was very good, among the nicest that we had in Chile, and the service was exceptionally friendly and gracious. There were almost no other diners (but we were eating at a very un-Chile-like early hour - around 7 pm), so we had a leisurely dinner at our own pace. We enjoyed a local Carmenere with the meal. Overall a very lovely evening. All the food that we had in restaurants in Chile was somewhat pricey - we usually paid about the same as you would in any higher-end restaurant in the US, but this certainly was very good value for the money. We highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ejbaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great dinner!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Ate here alone during a solo trip to Valparaiso and had one of the best meals of my trip to South America. Delicious food, great wine, and very friendly but not overbearing staff. But the best part was the unbeatable view!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessicabesack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A safe choice, stunning view”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The view of the Harbour was the best! Really impressive.
The food was good, but not really outstanding and a little bit pricey.
We had a steak that was nothing really special but still more than ok. It`s a safe choice it you have a business dinner. If you are searching for something special, there are many little restaurants in Valparaiso that provide you a more unique experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I had a great experience on this restaurant, amazing food, excellent service, nice scenery, etc. after trying many restaurants in Valparaiso, I can definitively say that this one was the best one of all.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Conchiurquiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Concepcion also viewed

Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 

Been to Restaurant La Concepcion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing