We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa Higueras
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful hotel”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We spent 4 nights at this lovely hotel. The rooms are large and comfortable with a beautiful bathroom. The staff are so helpful, accommodating and cheerful---they helped with directions, recommendations and ideas for activities. The restaurant serves delicious dinners, with excellent service on a beautiful outdoor patio.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marys1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    115
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
43
346
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed 3 days (from Mon. to Wed) at Casa Higueras, boutique hotel located in Cerro Alegre, which along with Cerro Concepcion is one of the most fancy areas of Valparaiso. This area is safe for tourists, but that doesn't mean its clean, so as in the rest of Valparaiso, you are likely to find dog poop every few blocks. Wear comfortable shoes (forget about sandals) and a hat that won't fly away. (Don't worry if the hat makes you look like a tourist; pick pockets will know if you are one even without the hat; and you will avoid sunburn).

At Casa Higueras we stayed at room #10; the bathroom was comfortable & large enough, but the room was somehow small, a big bed and that would be it. If you don't like small bedrooms, I recomend choosing a larger room.

We specifically asked -and payed for, around U$400 per night- for a room with view, and it had, a very nice view of Valparaiso port (check picture). Keep in mind that at night time, it might be hard to fall asleep (it was so for us) due to the port is quite noisy and keeps running until late hours, if not all night long. We had to sleep with the window closed (if you like to sleep with the window open, you might as well bring ear plugs).


THE GOOD:

- The restaurant; Montealegre. Its terrace has a stunning view of Valparaiso bay!!

- Good service and a very nice chef that cooked me a delicious customized Gluten-Free meal (note: If you have some food allergy, have in mind that in Valparaiso special foods are hard if not impossible to find. Its better to buy the essentials in Santiago and then bring them along with you. TAKE MY CASE; days before my arrival the hotel had emailed me confirming they had GF bread, but only at breakfast they realized they hadn't!)

- The pool area, though somehow small, is quite relaxing and perfect for reading a book. There's a dry heat sauna in the pool area that's included. Other indoor common areas of the hotel are also comfortable & have nice views.

- If you appreciate antique architecture, you'll like having the opportunity to be in real Valparaiso antique house, with wooden floors. At Valparaiso you might find that some modern hotels have transformed their antique houses so much, they don't actually look like Valparaiso houses anymore on the inside. (note: If you are visually impaired, you might find that Casa Higueras is a bit dark and with a lot of steps, since its built over a steep hill; however there's an elevator).

- The amenities: Bath salts, hand-made soap, incredibly soothing body lotion with natural oils.

NEEDS TO IMPROVE:

- The hotel entry card of our room kept failing during the 3 days we spent there. Every time we would leave the room, the card would not allow us back in. So we would have to head for the lobby (which was some steps away from our room) so they could reset it.

-Our room was quite noisy in the mornings, as it was located just in front of the hall leading to other rooms (steps away from the lobby). Around 9 am we would wake up with the noise from trays, other guests talking as they passed by, etc. I recomend placing a rug in the hall that will help to reduce noises such as footsteps.

-The mattress & sheets were fine except for...a polyester blanket! For U$400 per night, I was expecting some goose down duvet. Eventhough it was summer, nights are chilly enough to have some light feather duvet..but a polyester blanket??!! That's OK for a cheap hotel.

- Parking. When we checked-in, we parked our car outside the hotel, and the staff offered us to store it in some other place they had at a 5 min walk. When we were leaving, they said we had to pay U$60 for the 3 days our car was in the storage, roblem is nobody told us about that charge beforehand.

- Curtains. The window leading to the balcony was very close to the bed, and the heavy curtains made me trip upon them when going in our out of the balcony. I guess that can be easily solved by installing a pair of curtain tie back hooks.

Summary; Perfect for a romantic getaway.

If possible, avoid week ends as most likely the hotel & restaurant will be full. Mondays I don't recommend them either as most restaurants close on Mon. Booking from Tues to Thurs in low season is perfect!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia_Andrea_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Spent 2 nights here. This is a small luxury hotel perched up on the cliff and near a funicular down to the port. Could not fault anything apart from fact that no comfortable chair in the room. Room 16 had amazing views and was very spacious. guest lounge superbly comfortable, again with fantastic views. Luxury bathroom. Lovely infinity pool , again with a great view. (I'm getting repetitive here!)Food great, service very attentive without being intrusive. ALL the staff were great, from the front desk, to the waiters and the cleaner. Simply can't WAIT to go back and have another drink at sunset on the terrace.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, amazing views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

A very comfortable hotel which was exactly what we needed after three weeks of travelling around Chile.

Our room was comfortable with lovely views and very peaceful. The pool area was also lovely and private with again, exceptional views over the bay.

Service from reception was a little lacking in warmth but was certainly adequate.

We ate in the restaurant twice, once for lunch which was exceptional and then again for dinner on our last night where we had very good service but there were a couple of food issues, one of which was tarte tartin which was served ice cold after a very long wait. The chef did apologies but was a bit of a pity.

We were an early departure for our transfer back to Santiago for a flight to Buenos Aires so a packed breakfast was arranged however, there was no way of providing coffee despite there being a night receptionist on duty.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Amazing find tucked away in the back streets of Valparaiso. There is a wonderful terrace tha looks out over the harbour that is perfect for an afternoon bottle of delicious Chilean wine. The restaurant is first class, the service is excellent and the food unbelievably good and in comparison to London amazing value. We had the best stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: We booked through an agent so didn't investigate rooms. Ours was at the back with a bit of a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I only had one night at the hotel. We had a very comfortable room on the first floor next to the street. It was a bit noisy at night. Next time I would request a room at the other end of the property. The staff was very helpful with directions and recommendations. Breakfast was typical but graciously served and service was attentive. We waited in the lounge for our pickup and enjoyed the beautiful harbor view.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LNM1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Casa higueras is a well appointed and located boutique hotel within walking distance of main sights. The hotel's communal facilities are excellent . The bar and pool are well appointed with great views. Virtually all staff are friendly, knowledgable and helpful. You could have an excellent experience here, depending on two things. The first is to check your specific room as those on the top floor are dark with little natural light. The second is an off-hand, rude receptionist who lets the staff team down. If you check that your room has a harbour (not a hill side) view you should be fine.

Room Tip: Avoid hillside view rooms on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hkroverSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
672 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palacio Astoreca Hotel
Palacio Astoreca Hotel
#7 of 35 in Valparaiso
312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fauna
Hotel Fauna
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#4 of 35 in Valparaiso
452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cirilo Armstrong
Hotel Cirilo Armstrong
#10 of 35 in Valparaiso
289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Valparaiso
Ibis Valparaiso
#13 of 35 in Valparaiso
1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Higueras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Higueras

Property: Hotel Casa Higueras
Address: Higuera 133 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2370540, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Valparaiso
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valparaiso
#6 Family Hotel in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa Higueras 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A simple façade of Higuera street hides the inside of this sophisticated and warm boutique hotel of over 1600 square meters, that occupies the five floors of an original mansion, where you can find 20 guestrooms decorated with taste and elegance. On the garden level you find the pool with a line of white sun chairs. The spa invites the guests to a complete relaxation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa Higueras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Higueras Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing