We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, beautiful city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Higueras
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This boutique hotel was wonderful. It was situated right on the hillside of Valparaiso overlooking the harbor. The staff did their best to speak English and helped us navigate the city as well as make dinner reservations for us. The room was large with a nicely appointed bathroom and wi-fi that worked for the most part in our room as well as on the main floor. Breakfast is a buffet held on the main floor with the option to eat out on the patio overlooking the colorful hillside of Valparaiso and the harbor. Truly a gem. The only drawback, though common among these small hotels in Valparaiso, is parking. I lucked out and was able to find street parking each night, but for those less willing to hunt, you have to valet park and that can be a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Casa Higueras
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 501 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour of Chile in November 2012. This is an excellent location to explore Valparaiso and surroundings. Room was spacious and well-equipped with great views. Hotel restaurant is superb and good value for such excellent cuisine. Hotel staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKtraveller560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Casa Higueras is such a personal place. You feel at home. Only a few rooms, but with charm and good views. The pool is extremely refreshing. Unlike others it is not heated, so you can keep swimming forever in the nice climate.

All my best reccomendations to this lovely hotel in Valparaíso.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slopetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We were headed out of Valparaiso on a cruise and could so easily have missed this city (many of our fellow cruisers just transferred directly from Santiago). We are so glad we didn’t as we had a terrific day.
The hotel is lovely and located just at the right level on the hill to be able to walk to restaurants without having to climb. Really special views and a lovely outdoor restaurant for breakfast and dinner. The bed was super comfortable.
We were in room 8 which had a nice living area – more of a junior suite than a room – but did not have a balcony. We found the bathroom very dark and the shower (in the bath) a bit of an undignified clamber to get in and out of. I slid and a week later still bear an enormous black and yellow bruise down the back of my thigh. At night we had the window open and there was some noise from the port but with it shut the room was a bit too warm. Fortunately we had our ear plugs so slept like babies.
The highlight was a walking and public transport tour arranged via Casa Higueras with Macarena. She only works at weekends so we feel very lucky to have had her as our guide. She had such passion and enthusiasm for her subject it was totally infectious. It was great fun to travel on the funiculars and on a local bus. I didn’t think looking at graffiti could be so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fleetcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with a wonderful view overlooking Valparaiso. It was like staying in a private villa. We had dinner in the restaurant's outdoor patio - stunning views of the city. Our room was large, but there was only one small window and not much of a view. It was also a little dark, due to the dark wooden floors - would have liked brighter light bulbs. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel if you want the feel of staying in a beautiful villa, and don't mind paying a little more for it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kt149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Located on a hill overlooking Valparaiso Chile, this hotel has lots of dark wood interior as many of the houses in the town. So bring a flashlight as the lighting is totally inadequate for the rooms. This lets it down. Staff are very friendly and helpful and the balcony restaurant has a great view over the port. Great starting point for casual walks around the old quarter of the town and near to the funicular that takes you down to Piazza Sotomayor. Sadly the entire town is covered in graffiti but still worth a trip and this hotel is well located.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony room on an upper floor. No air conditioning so could be warm in summer.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giocant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Lovely hotel in Cerro Alegre, only a short walk to a couple of the main funiculars & to Cerro Concepcion where there are a number of good cares and restaurants. The hotel itself is charming and the staff were unbelievably friendly & helpful. We had a lovely room (no. 8 - though no balcony) with a amazing view. There is a great pool and lounge area which gets a good amount of afternoon sun. Breakfast was included and was delightful. We had one dinner in the hotel restaurant & whilst it isn't the cheapest, the food was excellent. We spent four nights there & didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: If the weather is warm, ask for a balcony room. If it is cool, ask for rm 8 as while it doesn't...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baucau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palacio Astoreca Hotel
Palacio Astoreca Hotel
#7 of 35 in Valparaiso
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fauna
Hotel Fauna
#4 of 35 in Valparaiso
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
457 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cirilo Armstrong
Hotel Cirilo Armstrong
#9 of 35 in Valparaiso
293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Gervasoni
Grand Hotel Gervasoni
#20 of 35 in Valparaiso
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Higueras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Higueras

Address: Higuera 133 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2370540, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Valparaiso
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valparaiso
#6 Family Hotel in Valparaiso
Price Range: $226 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa Higueras 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A simple façade of Higuera street hides the inside of this sophisticated and warm boutique hotel of over 1600 square meters, that occupies the five floors of an original mansion, where you can find 20 guestrooms decorated with taste and elegance. On the garden level you find the pool with a line of white sun chairs. The spa invites the guests to a complete relaxation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Casa Higueras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Higueras Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing