We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Very good food, service is friendly if a bit overwhelmed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baco Vino y Bistro

Baco Vino y Bistro
Ranked #29 of 4,138 Restaurants in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Chilean, French, Seafood, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Providencia
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good food, service is friendly if a bit overwhelmed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My brother-in-law is French and he loves going. We've been there several times. The food is invariably good (try the duck and foie gras), and the prices are reasonable for Santiago. The wine selection is also good. The place is always full, which leads to some anxiety from the staff. A few months ago I reserved for a group of ten. When I arrived, I saw they had placed us in the cramped, undecorated and badly ventilated second floor. After some complaining, the manager put together some tables on the first floor and all was good. Overall, this is a worthwhile visit, but be prepared to be patient when you go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chilean2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    832
    531
    133
    31
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
95 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Excellent relation price/quality, good taste and a big wines chart. Absolutely recomended for couples, friends, families...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gonzalo294305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
244 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“A personal favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Baco is a personal favourite for three reasons:

1) the service is incredible considering you are in Santiago.

2) the price of wine is about 120% to 140% of the retail price in opossition to most places in Santiago where they are established in between 190% to 300% of the retail price.

3) their sublime cassoulet.

I think is better if you go with a group since the lighting does not make it such a great romantic option.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ignacio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Maryland
Level Contributor
222 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for a good time with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

This is my second review of this place and I continue to like it. If you want to learn about Chilean wines, this is great option. Many options by the glass. Charcuterie and cheese plates are great. Entrées are traditional French. Our waitress was very attentive . Make reservation; this place is always full. Prices are very competitive.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MonGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“RUDE Management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We visited on an overcast Sunday afternoon. 3 adults, 2 kids. The restaurant was about 1/4 full. Service was passable until a manager came over told us that our kids (8 & 3) could not eat the hamburgers that we brought in, even though we had them eating off plates and they were almost finished by the time she came over. We civilly indicated that we didnt know that they had this policy to which we got a very terse reply that we didnt ask. We have done this before at many comparable level restaurants (nice but not 4 stars by any stretch), We had only been served the foie gras and drinks at this point which appeared to be store bought. I can understand and respect this policy if we had known and if she had been remotely polite in discussing it with us. They were not busy and the kids had almost finished, she easily could have handled this in a better (read:not condescending) way. Her attitude, not the policy is why we will not be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Expat_in_Chile_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baco Vino y Bistro also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Baco Vino y Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing