We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best ceviche”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mestizo

Mestizo
Ranked #37 of 4,526 Restaurants in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best ceviche”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Try the Ceviche Chileno and the dulce de leche ice cream (helado)!

It's far from Downtown and the taxi ride may cost a little too much.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AndrePBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,431
    912
    275
    104
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Afternoon in the Winter Sun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

The service was wonderful, the food local and delicious! We sat outside with the sun shining and had a wonderful view and a wonderful time

  • Visited July 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ozekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prostejov, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Seafood as good as possible. Tasty !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I like location (park) and service - maybe I´ve got good servant (Peruvian guy). Anyway if you like seafood, I would recommend this one !

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tomas_Bastinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A beautiful place but bad service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

i was invited to this restaurant last Friday. The view over a big and well maintained park was magnificent. But we have problems with the service. The main meals came after nearly one hour. The waiter told us that they were "problems with the oven".
In order to accommodate more people they arranged a lot of table outdoors, but although the night was not cold, it was not comfortable. They provided "ponchos" but legs became to be cold.
The meal was dissapointing. The risotto had not big grains and it was full of long and thin peppers.The service was not extremely warm.
The place is far from the Metro.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Revtra0151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place, good food but very poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

As always the place is great, specially in summer. The ambience is also good, the food was good although there are no many choices of healthy or light food, but the time it took to have the dishes served was horrible. It took more than an hour and a a half. At the end we left before drinking our coffee because we couldn't stand it any more - took more than 20 minutes.

Helpful?
1 Thank Luis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mestizo also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Mestizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing