We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where am I?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Flaubert

Le Flaubert
Ranked #174 of 4,526 Restaurants in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Providencia
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Where am I?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Old Paris in Santiago...? Piaf on the music and wonderful elder Chilean wait staff. Reasonable, ample and good food; with caring and helpful staff. Clearly an "old guard" place with high end Chilean families.... But not sure what era. Interesting time and space warp.

Wait staff Is very helpful, caring and supportive. Kudos to Oscar!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tallmantraveling49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    95
    25
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Had dinner early, pretty slow but food was very good except one dish.
Ceviche with shrimp & artichoke was excellent as was the pâté and filet mignon. Congrio eel was like rubber. Quiet atmosphere and right down the street from le reve. Prices were reasonable, about $60 for 2 apps, 2 wines and mains.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcopolofl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraza
Level Contributor
286 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A very special place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Orrego Luco street is already a good intro to the Flaubert, a kind of romantic street. It's a dreamy restaurant, with it's front counter, it's salon and it's rear dining area. The service was very attentive and professional. The best Pisco Sours were served and the wine choices are excellent too. I had the best crab gratin ever and the meat of the main course was of the best quality. The desserts were ok and the cafe (Ristretto) wasn't. Going back to Santiago I will eat there again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UbErich F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cosy, charming and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

This restaurant has the right idea. There's a short but perfectly apportioned menu on a chalkboard and that's all you need. No specials, no changes. Far too many restaurants, I find, have far too long menus, meaning I spend ages choosing only to covet my neighbour's dish.

No such worries here. Our charming waiter, upon discovering our lack of Spanish took it upon himself to painstakingly explain each and every dish, complete with sauces and accompaniments. Santiago has no shortage of nice restaurants but a dearth of nice waiters to work in them. So this was very appreciated.

A round of pisco sours (for the hombres) and extra brut Chilean sparkling wine (for the damas) gave us all a pleasant buzz before a great slab of homemade paté and house bread rolls arrived for the entrée.

For mains, I had a perfectly cooked filet with another slice of paté and potato gratin. The others had the sea bass and very finely sliced steak atop with rosemary and sea salt. Everything was cooked superbly and tasted great.

Accompanied by a beautifully soft, mellow Carmenere from Vina von Siebenthal.

And some delectable desserts - creme brulee, ensalada de fruta and chocolate mousse.

We could have sat there another hour with at least another bottle of wine. This is a fantastic restaurant - cosy, charming and delicious. We will definitely be stopping back again to try the rest of the menu, and maybe a cup of tea.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HM0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
153 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Charming place and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

The first great thing at Le Flaubert is that at least on sunday there was no smoking area, so I could focus my olfate on the food. The lady that received us was very nice and educated and promptly took us to a nice table on the back looking at the garden, not amazing but at least green. I loved the fact that they don´t have a paper menu and instead a black board with the options hand written. For appetizer we ordered a fresh goat cheese with rosemary, green pepper corns and olive oil, simple and great. The wine was also served at the right temperature just waiting for the main meal. My fiancee had the duck and I had corvina, both well prepared, and I must say next time I´d rather have the duck. Unfortunately we didn´t have time for dessert. The service was good and the price acceptable (42000 pesos). And if you park at Providencia don´t forget to ask for the parking ticket for 1000 pesos, much cheaper than what the parking lot will charge you.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Efrago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Flaubert also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Le Flaubert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing