We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“authentic sushi but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurant Japon

Restaurant Japon
Ranked #73 of 4,526 Restaurants in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $60
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“authentic sushi but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Japón makes authentic sushi (and is in that sense better than Kintaro) but it's a bit overpriced, hence the loss of one star.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pclslyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    95
    31
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best japonese in Santiago !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I am very picky about sushi...El mejor japones de Santiago, sooo feeshhh, try shimp tempura, one of the best ever !!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yasna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply the best Sushi in Santiago”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have been to many many places in Santiago looking for good Sushi. There are some good places but very few can be categorized a Very Good. Japon is the best sushi we have had. Good Atmosphere and Service is consistent. The place is a little hard to find the first time but worth it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Expat_in_Chile_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I would definitely go back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

First off let me say the service was great! Having lived in Santiago for a couple of years now I´ve learned that´s not something that should be taken for granted! We were a fairly large group and ordered a mixture of hot dishes and sushi/sashimi but the food came out pretty quickly and was really good. It´s a traditional restaurant so you need to take off your shoes before sitting down at the table (so wear socks!). I ordered an "Arcoiris" and was very satisfied. I asked the waiter for a drink recommendation and he suggested a maracuya sour- it was delicious! The ice cream tempura was a great way to to end the meal. I would definitely go back

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yesenia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easter Island, Chile
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“excelent, great quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

excelent, place, isn´t not cheap but they have a great food´s quality, nice decoration and friendly stuff

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jlizama16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Japon also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Restaurant Japon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing