We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing experience in dining”

Fuente Alemana Alameda
Ranked #26 of 4,526 Restaurants in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food, Chilean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Delavan Wisconsin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“An amazing experience in dining”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We are staying at Hotel Orly in the Providencia section of Santiago. My wife was hungry and I said I wasn't but that I would walk down the street with her so we could get something for her to eat. We came to this big diner style restaurant called Fuente Alemana which Lomito and other such sandwiches of beef, pork or chicken. With each you can add toppings of avocado, cheese, tomato and or mayonnaise or sauerkraut. This is all served on a sturdy bun. Beer and soft drinks are also served. The crowd of patrons is very friendly, all gathered to gorge themselves with these creations. There are at least 20 cooks and servers working hard to keep up with the demand. This was at about 8:00 p.m. My wife are half her meal and had the rest wrapped. Cost with drink about $7000 CHP or $14.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    982
    574
    150
    35
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pinjarra, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“An experience”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for local with a twist of old school then this is the place for you. meat, cheeses, avocado, mayo and tap beer. All good

Helpful?
Thank kiaorabro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A dining institution! A must visit!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This place is amazing. It reminds me of Schwartz's Deli in Montreal. It's like stepping back in time. Go there for lunch, order one of the amazing sandwiches and a beer, sit back and enjoy the action. The waitresses are sweet "old dolls" who are fabulous.
It's worth the wait for a seat at the counter.
You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Herrie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the visit!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

It appeared to be a place where the local working class people visited during lunchtime for a wholesome meal and quick drink. Try the rumano, this burger was simply overflowing with goodness! After a heavy hearty meal, wash it down with the beer on the tap, very refreshing!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ohyeahpandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What the locals like to eat ”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

This is a perfect way to experience what locals like to eat. It is an institution so for that reason alone it is worth a trip. The food was good but don't expect something life altering, it is more about the ambiance of the place than the food. I botched my order on my first trip and had a mediocre sandwich, reasoning being this place gets super packed from 2-4 pm. You need to elbow your way to the main counter and practically yell to one of the ladies in the center with your order. So that resulted in a lack luster sandwich. I decided to try it again and this time I went a bit before the rush at 1:30, but trust me it was still busy. Second time was the charm, I ordered a Lomito Italiano and a schopp. The Lomito is what they are famous for, a beef sandwich and the 'Italiano' style means topped with tomatoes, avocado and mayo. Schopp is a term they use for beer and in this case is their own draft beer. I would say my second experience was a lot more enjoyable. A few tips: try and sit at the square bar area it is such a treat to watch the ladies make the sandwiches at the center grill. When you are finished eating find the woman that served you ask for el boleto (ticket) and be prepared to repeat what you ordered- no they don't give you a slip when you 1st order. Then take that slip and pay at the cashier by the front, after that come back to the area your lady is covering to leave her tip (10% is customary here). You can either give it to her directly or make sure she sees you put it into the wooden shoots that are located at the end of the square bar.

Helpful?
3 Thank MoeLarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fuente Alemana Alameda also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Fuente Alemana Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing