We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Polite staff and good food”
Review of Cafe Forastero

Cafe Forastero
Ranked #1 of 53 Bakeries in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Description: Be welcome to visit our Specialty Coffee Shop in downtown Santiago. Enjoy our fresh roasted, carefully prepared coffee beans along with delicious cheesecakes and cakes. Our sandwiches and salads are to die for too. All made with fresh ingredient and craft bread. Most of us speak english and are willing to aid you have a nice time here in Chile. Recently moved to the historic Barrio Yungay. Bienvenido Forastero!
Restaurant details
Description: Be welcome to visit our Specialty Coffee Shop in downtown Santiago. Enjoy our fresh roasted, carefully prepared coffee beans along with delicious cheesecakes and cakes. Our sandwiches and salads are to die for too. All made with fresh ingredient and craft bread. Most of us speak english and are willing to aid you have a nice time here in Chile. Recently moved to the historic Barrio Yungay. Bienvenido Forastero!
Reviewed November 11, 2018 via mobile

This little café is the perfect representation of Santiago’s style: essential and friendly. There aren’t many food option but it’s all made at the moment. The raspberry natural juice with the add of ginger was very good. We only had a caprese sandwich with it (two kind of bagels were missing...) and the guys agreed on the add of avocado in it; we very much appreciated it. We recommend it if you want some privacy with your partner or to write down on your journal :)

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank liciatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lejacobo, Manager at Cafe Forastero, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2018

Hello! Thanks for this nice depiction of our place, 'essential and friendly'. I think I agree completely with that :P
Now, regarding to items missing from the menu. We've been working hard on that so it won't happen again. It's difficult to have everything fresh all the time, but hey that's our chore :)

Thanks again for this nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 136 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2018 via mobile

A small coffee/tea shop that doesn't offer a regular coffee (just espressos, mochas, capaccinos etc.). I have no complaints with the place, just don't think it should be ranked anywhere near a top place to eat in Santiago

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lejacobo, Manager at Cafe Forastero, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Ouch, feelings hurt, man. But I understand.

Happens that we're big fans of pourover and filter coffee in general, which is close to 'regular coffee'.
We use special beans, close to the best you can find around.

If you're around some other time please take some time to chat a bit with us, you might find the reason of our ranking.

Thanks for this review, though :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2018

One of my favourite cafes in Barrio Italia, really nice atmosphere and really good coffee too. The staff are really friendly, they have an outside area for the summer too.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cemm0rgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lejacobo, Manager at Cafe Forastero, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2018

Hey! Altho we have closed for good our place in Barrio Italia, we work hard to maintain the atmosphere, mood and coffee quality in our HQ in Ricardo Cumming, which is still open.

Thanks for this review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2018

These guys know their coffees and will present you with at least two delicious recently toasted varieties in a plethora of preparation styles.

The bagels are delicious, I recommend getting the breakfast combo. This is a great place to stop by if you have a bus out of Los Heroes or if you around Av. Ricardo Cumming, Barrio Brasil, etc.

Definitely go here for your coffee fix.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank daniel_j_ettinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2017 via mobile

Went for a cappuccino and a snack (California bagel) today with my friend. The coffee was so good that we stayed for another one and also had a delicious cake for desert. All food was excellent, but the cappuccino was world class. Accompanied by great service, we'll be back soon!

Date of visit: December 2017
1  Thank Navigator732584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lejacobo, Manager at Cafe Forastero, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2018

Heey! So glad you had a nice time at our place!
We really strive to serving nice coffee, and Felipe, is most def. world class at making sweet sweet capps.
We also love bagels so having nice salmon (which we make ourselves, ehem) bagels is a must.
Thanks for these great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Forastero also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Cafe Forastero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing