We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One is good...the other terrible”
Review of El Otro Sitio

El Otro Sitio
Ranked #917 of 4,706 Restaurants in Santiago
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
BRASILIA
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“One is good...the other terrible”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The largish Peruvian restaurant at Avenida Escriva de Balaguer (in the attractive little ersatz pueblo near the River Mapocho) is superb. foreign visitors would love the ambience of the whole place. This elegant restaurant is decorated with typical Peruvian handicrafts, excellent ceviches, aji de gallina etc, all impeccably served. Expensive but well worth the effort and cost.If you don´t fancy Peruvian there are othrs (Italian) inthe same development. Parking a bit crowded but you can usually find a space.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    63
    25
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Tastes like refried food”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I went to the restaurant at Borde Rio yesterday at 4:30 pm, we had lamb, lomo saltado and duck. The only one that looked ok was the duck, both the lamb and the meat were clearly cooked for a while, way pass the point and dry. Also the mashed potatoes were hot on some spots and cold on others, a microwaved heating. And even though the restaurant was empty we were all the time trying to catch the attention of the waiter. I love peruvian food but this one is not a good example.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Efrago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Peruvian food”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Enjoyable, but the food is not out of the ordinary. Pisco sour is recommended.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank avb0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good spot. Good Peruvian food. Strong Pisco. A bit pricey.”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

My girlfriend and I enjoyed lunch "El Otro Sitio". We found it by chance while walking around the area of Bellavista.

We started with a pisco sour Peruvian style (with egg white). It was good but super strong. We enjoyed the "ceviche clasico" and the "seco de cordero" (braised lamb shank).

The atmosphere is nice and the service is good too. The restaurant is set in the courtyard of an old house and has a spiral staircase leading to the next floor.

We paid around 44,000 pesos for our meal. This is similar to what we would have paid in London. We would have expected it to be cheaper in Santiago but all in all it was a good experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hola_bg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Great Peruvian food”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Although a bit expensive, but very good quality and service

Helpful?
Thank KarinLeeHayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Otro Sitio also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to El Otro Sitio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing