We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat, meat, meat...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Hoyo

El Hoyo
Ranked #154 of 4,526 Restaurants in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, Chilean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Arlington, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Meat, meat, meat...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

All of the food was delicious and authentic. Not sure what you'd order if you were a vegetarian though!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank VATrav3l3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    110
    38
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
111 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Comida deliciosa e farta em Santiago”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Ótimo restaurante. Comida saborosa, ótimo atendimento e preço justo. Recomendo, assim como o Anthony Bourdain recomendou!
Great restaurant. Tasty food, great service and fair price. I recommend, as Anthony Bourdain recommended!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre_RJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Don't eat breakfast before you come”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

This restaurant was featured in No Reservations and this was the reason for going. We had to start with terremotos and these were the best I had ever had in my 1 year living in Santiago. They weren't too strong or too sweet which is often the case. We shared some beef (mechada), arrollado (spiced pork wrapped in pork fat), costillar (roasted pork belly and ribs) and pernil (giant pork leg). The beef was a little dry, the arrollado was infesting but a little fatty, costillar amazing and the pernil was surprisingly good as it was very seasoned and tender - explains why the family of 3 next to us ordered one each! The mash was great too. You can walk to the restaurant in the day time from estacion central the but maybe not at night. Not for vegetarians!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sezstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best "picada" in Santiago, a Must Be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Last week i met my parents, they were on the way back from a trip to Peru. So i travelled to Santiago and the perfect place to see them was "El Hoyo" (The hole) i had many references of this restaurant so i was waiting years for this moment.
If you like very tipical places, this one was inspired and keep the original style of the restaurants of the working class of the 50's.
We had 4 different plates, Pork Leg, the hole pice of pork leg with 3 big potatoes on a plate. it's very difficult to eat it all, but i made it. it was boiled probably for hours, so it was very tender and yummy. The other highlight was the "arrollado" half piece of arrollado, Pork meat rolled on the pork skin, this was my favorite, i'll definitely come back and ask for this one. the drinks were coca cola, but i had a "terremoto" another must be, it is white non filtered wine with pineapple icecream, sounds weird but it's just delicious, try just one, you don't notice it but it's very strong.
The service was fine, very familiar place and very noisy, the place seems to be safe but if you are a tourist be sure and take a taxi to get there. it is close from train station so there's a lot of people, then be careful.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Diego_Hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
129 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A "picada" (dive) with the best food in Santiago”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

It is not the best neighborhood in Santiago, but it is totally safe. You get in a taxi and get off in front of the door and when you are ready to leave, they call you a radio taxi to take you back to wherever you are staying. The food is typical chilean fare: pork, beef, empanadas, pastel de choclo (corn pie) humitas (chilean tamales), boiled beef tongue, etc. The portions are enormous! I ordered pork shoulder, chilean style, thinking I would get a few slices: for about $16 I got the entire pork shoulder on my plate. (The next day I was out early looking for stray dogs to feed them...) The interior is lively. The service excellent.
You must try a "Terremoto" (The Earthquake): This is home made unfiltered white wine with a scoop of pineapple sherbert. It comes in a tall glass and you should NOT drink two! If you want more, you ask for a "replica" (a copy) which comes in a smaller glass, so you won't get tipsy! The unfiltered wine is higher alcohol content. A real chilean treat. Also try "Pebre", the chilean version of home made salsa!

  • Visited September 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Veriuska_vee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Hoyo also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to El Hoyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing