We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice for seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Ancla

El Ancla
Ranked #133 of 4,534 Restaurants in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Soups, Chilean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Providencia
San Francisco
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great choice for seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Authentic Chilean seafood in charming building.
It was close to our hotel so walked over. Reasonably priced.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank shoshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    188
    76
    34
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Recommended by other Americans we met on street”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We ate here our second night in Santiago. I had a seafood chowder which was good but my wife had a fish au gratin that she was not crazy about. The service was good and the wine menu was reasonable. We actually went back a second time.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mdyersr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weinheim, Germany
Level Contributor
354 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

I had machas (Chilean clams) with Parmesan cheese as a starter and a great ceviche as the main course. Service is ok, not always very fast. However, the food is excellent and the place has a nice atmosphere. Compared to general prices in Chile the anker ("El Ancla") has a good price-quality relation. Expect to spend some 20 to 25 USD per person (not including alcoholic drinks). All in all, I clearly recommend this place!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saltacity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Offers great food and makes you feel at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

El Ancla is a restaurant that makes you feel at home. We had one of the most enjoyable dinners here during our recent vacation in Santiago. Of course the food served here is very good, but the warmth and friendliness of this place make your experience even more rewarding. We had our table in the room facing the street. The wall was decorated with images of fish and sea creatures in stunning colors.

Overall El Ancla is cozy, and welcoming without any pretensions. It's a type of place that provides your experience of a city or a place with a special flavor and intimacy that you remember with fondness for years to come and cherish to return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shankar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've been to this restaurant twice and both times the experience has been fantastic. The food is delicious, but my advise is to order one starter to share and regular main courses, because the portions are generous ... especially the mussels!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ro_Santis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Ancla also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to El Ancla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing