We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Como Agua Para Chocolate

Como Agua Para Chocolate
Ranked #39 of 4,339 Restaurants in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Providencia
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The food is really good. I went there twice... The best dish I tried was the filet mignon wrapped in bacon with vegetables. Mmmmmmm. And they cook salmon perfectly there too. The prices are a bit higher than other nearby places at around $20 usd for a main but it's still comparable to the price of an average meal in other cities. In terms of wait times, yes it is very crowded and very popular with tourists so it's almost impossible to get a table between 8pm to 11pm on Thu - Sat so you'll either have to book or go early or super late.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank braz1lnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,919
    2,336
    834
    236
    166
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
244 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere and that's it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Food is good but definitely not great and sort of overpriced.

The atmosphere is great, there is great care in the decoration of the place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ignacio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“mixed feelings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Maybe our expectations were too big, or it was because we went on a Friday evening and it was very crowdy, or whatever, but we have mixed feelings about this restaurant. Positive: charmed by the name - the food was good, the service too - that was not the issue. The thing is that I think the restaurant is a bit victim of its own success: you can not make a reservation, unless (long?) in advance, and only for half of the resto - we only decided a few hours in advance, so we went on time. There they keep you waiting for half an hour until the reservations hopefully don't show up. In our case we were lucky: there was a free table - unfortunately next to the front door, and I can assure you that winters in Santiago can get pretty chilly without heating. After showing our disappointment there appeared to be another table upstairs...under the airco/heater so our noses got stuffy. I admit it was not easy for the resto either since we were 7 people. We ate a tasty meal but according to our opinion the price was also tasty (we paid more than 300 dollar for 7 people - only some of us had a dessert - which was very good!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hearty serves of food in in a lovely location filled with locals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Delicious pisco sours and ceviche. The mixed grill was huge and would have fed 4. Good wine z d snappy service. Non - English speaking staff but very helpful

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oliveoily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“great night out - easy, tasty, happy.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

fresh king crab, good quality ingredients, nice combinations of flavours and food combos, great pisco sour, and attentive engaging service. Helpful in taxi troubles and generally really enjoyable. Lovely atmosphere!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank krisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Como Agua Para Chocolate also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Como Agua Para Chocolate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing