We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Appalling almost non-existing service - try another place”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Tip y Tap

Tip y Tap
Ranked #241 of 4,526 Restaurants in Santiago
Cuisines: Bar, Chilean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Las Condes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Appalling almost non-existing service - try another place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Half an hour after ordering food a waiter came and said the order was lost that I had to reorder. Since I was bored an exhausted I deciden to change to "menu del dia". The waiter said he would serve it "al tiro" which seems to mean "we'll think about it". After another long delay a starter came and after another long delay, the main course. Dessert which was included never came. To pay the bill I had to beg for it at the counter. I paid cash and again I had to wait and wait to ask for my change. I asked for the manager to report this and he sort of shrugged his shoulders and wondered why I was complaining. To add insult to injury due to the delay I lost my tour to Concha y Toro vineyards. Obviously not a happy experience. This happened at Tip y Tap at Parque Aruaco.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RinRanKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    172
    80
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
212 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“You can count on it...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

There are several locations over Santiago and your experience may vary depending on what store you visit. We Chileans are very fond of our sandwiches and Tip y Tap has been making great sandwiches for quite a while. The flagship restaurant is the smallest of the franchise but it has the mood of an old bar and the waiters have been there forever, so you feel like a regular.. Great draft beer, efficient service and consistent quality.. a good place to go with friends, family or even a date. I love the Churrasco, a thin slice of steak with mayo and avocado.. Wash it down with a cold beer and you will be in heaven..

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RicardoCub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“ideal place for a decent beer and tasty snack”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Went there twice, once for a late-night beer and snack, once for a light lunch. Very good beer (like many Chilean bars/cafes: I recommend Kuntsmanns Torobayo or Austral Calafate - both tasty amber beers like British bitter); excellent sandwiches, fresh and good value (I had the Naturista - i.e, veggie). Service varies, but the waiters know their business. A popular place - lots of families there on Saturday lunchtime. Ideal place for a decent beer and tasty (and healthy) snack (they do main meals too - but we didn't try them).

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alanlid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
far away
Level Contributor
192 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fast Casual and Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Tip y Tap restaurants are all over Santiago. It's a great place for a hearty lunch at a reasonable price. They love avocados in Chile (they call them Palta), and they put it on everything. Try the Lomito Palta, a huge sandwich of sliced pork slathered with avocado. It's definitely big enough to share, as is most of the food served in restaurants in Chile.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank nznorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago Chile
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Reasonable prices and good food with large portions such as the sandwiches.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank greyinsantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tip y Tap also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Tip y Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing