We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”
Review of Las Vacas Gordas

Las Vacas Gordas
Ranked #166 of 5,605 Restaurants in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chilean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Our grill has been specially designed to serve up the most delicious meats you have ever tasted. Please come join us and experience the quality we have been serving for over 20 years
Reviewed April 10, 2019 via mobile

The food was not good. We ordered avocado salad and became an avocado cut in slices. We also ordered 1 beef fillet for 2 girls (price 9,89 pessos) and became 2 portions - chiefs recommendations (19,89 pessos). Of course they changed the bill, but if we hadn’t looked attentively we would have paid.
It wasn’t a nice experience and I cannot recommend the place.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank 300danceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (739)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 739 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2019 via mobile

We have just returned from a dinner that we had looked forward to based on the glowing reviews. Surely previous reviewers are kidding.
Wife had filet that turned out to be a large flat piece of meat that bore no resemblance to filet steak as we know it. Dry and tasteless. No condiments, mustards or sauces were offered. We asked for mustard but several waiters could not work out what we were asking for. There are none on the table.
We were finally offered a mushroom sauce that we were ultimately charged $9 for.
I had a shashlik of meat, chicken and sausage that was rudimentary. Ok but not restaurant standard. French fries were reheated. Football caravan standard.
If this is class cuisine in Chile then some contact with the rest of the world is required.
Our waiter was young and tried hard but his seniors were offhand and service is not a priority.
A half bottle of cab sav was good but plaudits to the winemaker.
Avoid.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank pies2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2018

We fund the place based on the recommendation in Rough Guide. As this was our last meal in chile before flying back home we wanted to have some proper chilean steak.
Las Vacas Gordas proved a perfect choice, just as expected. The food was delicious and the portions enormous, just as we learned to expect in Chile.
The service was top class, helpful, informative, highly professional and cheerful.
Also a great wine selection to go with the steak.
Highly recommended.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank miko_ajw359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2018

Efficient service, good food, nice atmosphere, restaurant full of people (tourists are a minor part of that). It delivers exactly what the customer would like to get. Prices are reasonable

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aybeesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2018

We were staying just around the corner and didn't want to go too far for dinner so chose Vacas Gordas.

It was a good choice as the steaks were fantastic - we've had good steaks in Texas and Argentina and these were up there.

The service was good too and the one small detail we will remember is the beautifully cooked and presented vegetables - not something steak restaurants always get right.

The meals were terrific value as well.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cbglos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Vacas Gordas also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Las Vacas Gordas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing