We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO MUCH FUN!!!”
Review of La Piojera

La Piojera
Ranked #213 of 4,566 Restaurants in Santiago
Cuisines: Bar, Chilean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centro Histórico
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“SO MUCH FUN!!!”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

this restaurant was FILLED with locals enjoying empanadas de pino and drinks called terremotos. Everyone was drunk in there. It was a lot of fun and one of my favorite memories of Santiago!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jessicaflippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    251
    124
    45
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A truly chilean experience”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

I've been at La Piojera many times and in that place you can see tourist, locals, students and an impressive array of different people getting together to enjoy tipical chilean drinks and food. The variety in drinks is not huge but the main thing there is to enjoy a good time listening to the live music people that street musicians usally play, when you're there you have to try 'El terremoto' (the earthquake) wich is their signature drink and be careful with it, since is a very POWERFUL earthquake.

Recommended if you don't care about a place not being fancy or shiny.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc3lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Crowded little bar”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This whole in the wall is always full of drunks, business professionals, and foreigners taking pictures. It's more than over-crowded, loud, they could use a couple more bartenders to cut down on wait, and the bathroom is disgusting, but I love it. It's fun for about an hour before you feel like you need to have some elbow room.

Despite popular opinion, they do not have the best terremoto around. (Terremoto is a classic drink basically of pineapple ice cream, cheap wine, and the Chilean version of brandy [pisco]). I prefer El Cazador (Abdón Cifuentes 130, Santiago) where they're cheaper, sweeter, and you'll actually be able to find an open table!

Helpful?
Thank wiscondinavian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“dirty pub”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

the waiter was very slow,crazy people inside the bar, go and drink one earthquake and go out

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seilorjunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic atmosphere, but BE CAREFUL”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I went several times. Many times I had a very good time. But sometimes I was annoyed by drunken Chilean people. And waiters/barkeepers tried many times to charge more or give me less money back. So I would say, go there, but be careful.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mr G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Piojera also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to La Piojera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing