We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Santiago”
Review of Borago

Borago
Ranked #80 of 4,700 Restaurants in Santiago
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Vitacura
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best in Santiago”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Excellent restaurant and outstanding service. Up to now our best experience in Santiago. The concept is innovative and the food is great. Flavours are unique and very well achieved. There is also some fun in the presentation of dishes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank alejandrotl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    618
    143
    89
    53
    86
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cartagena
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“awesome dessert”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

nitrogen frozen items, great flavors, berries, sorbet, crunchy textures and a macaroon of dry ice, awesome

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank svnt3stngray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
463 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Go to Santiago just to eat here”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I've been fortunate enough to eat at Can Roca, Arzak, Mugaritz and many other superb restaurants over the years. And this restaurant in Santiago is up there with them. Foods and tastes you may never have had before. All delicious, with amazing service as the chefs serve and explain your dishes to you. we don't drink alcohol so we paired our meal with juices. But these are not juices like you've ever had before. The cost was ridiculously low. About $66 for about 10 courses and $19 for the juices. everything superfresh, everything local. Even items like incredible white straberries, only ripe 3 weeks a year. Go to santiago just to eat here. You won't be disappointed. Just superb

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bigvicSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unique and memorable experience”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My boyfriend and i are foodies and our guidebook mentioned it was an experimental kitchen. They wernet kidding, we got the wine and food tasting menu and it was very well done. They like to incorporate elements of the earth and the garden in the food. During the tasting menu we had pebre mixed with actual dirt and served in a flower pot. We also had the beef course while surrounded in dry ice fog because thats the natural environment of the cow? Also a liquid nitrogen mint that dissolved in your miuth and you breathed out smoke. Go for the novelty and not necesarilly the food and you will be pleasantly surprised. We would go back because the menu is seasonal and changes. Not cheap though....

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank eliswift4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Definitely different”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Hubby and I have eaten a lot of tasting menus at some of the best restaurants around but this was truly a unique experience. The restaurant is in the ritzy area of Santiago, kind of like Rodeo Drive in Beverly Hills. The decor is very modern and minimalist so you really focus on the food in front of you. We opted to do the tasting menu with the wine pairings and then off we went on a journey through Chile. That is the whole intention of the menu at Borago - to take you on a journey to all parts of Chile. To sum it up, the food was some of the most unusual I have had and I am still trying to wrap my head around some of the dishes. Our first course included edible "dirt" and we ended with a frozen dessert that had us breathing smoke out our noses. If you are adventurous, this is the place for you!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borago also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Borago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing