We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (901)
Filter reviews
901 results
Traveler rating
434
315
92
43
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
434
315
92
43
17
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 901 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2017

Going through the reviews I see that noise has been an issue for around 3 years or so??? So Happy House why don't you fix this. Or don't you care???

We arrived after a 12 hour drive in an overland truck and stayed two nights before a 38 hour flight combination (hours and transit times). As you can imagine we were looking forward to a decent nights sleep both nights.

Not to be sadly!!

There was a rugby team at Happy House during our stay and to say they broke all the rules is not an exaggeration. Sadly neither the team manager/coach nor the hostel management chose to do anything about the drunken louts who ran rampant on the first floor ALL night. On arrival from wherever they were at around 10:30pm they then (team and coaches) drank and partied all night long. Screaming, shouting, hysterical laughing and pounding feet along the old creaking floorboards drove us insane.

Twice we approached the night staff who simply shrugged his shoulders and advised he tried but they would not listen. Eventually my partner went upstairs where she encountered drunk coaches/managers (the team manager) slumped on a chair, clearly drunk as a coot. The rest of the team were running around in their shower towels either oblivious or totally disinterested in our issue.

Our only relief was when tiredness or stupor overcame them at around 6am.

But it did not end there.

At breakfast a pair of players decided that playing 'rap' at maximum volume whilst eating their cornflakes would be a good idea!!!!

A RED CARD of note for Happy House. Nice venue but I am sorry to say never again!!

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2017

Alan Cooke,

Again the same review that your partner made here with a different account and the same review you´ve already made on Facebook. We never have choosen to do anything about these kind of problems (which aren´t frecuent like you describe by the way), that´s completely false. Please rememeber that you were traveling with a large group of people from a UK agency which weren´t the most quietest guests either. And apart from that you stayed only one night with this UK agency and just one more on your own, so you can not simply judge us so severely for this experience. You have taken the time to go through old reviews to keeep attacking us and that has to stop now. Let it go and stop taking advantage of the situation. We are not willing to be extorted in exchange for avoiding bad comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2017

The overlanding company we travelled with ended their trip here. Foolishly we decided to keep life simple and pay the significant extra costs of staying on at the hostel for our last night in Santiago to try and ensure a comfortable and good nights sleep prior to our flight home.

OMG the NOISE. I have never experienced anything like it. A visiting rugby club. For two nights. On both nights the noise did not ease until 5.30am. Repeated requests to the lovely night porter made no difference whatsoever as he was hopelessly outmatched by 30 screaming rugby oafs.

While I've read the hosteliers comments on previous complaints about noise that "we cannot control bad behavior" of other guests, that is fair enough but there is absolutely no attempt to sound proof the rooms. We lay in bed and watched the ceiling light swing like a pendulum because of the racket directly above. Equally the "party" area offers zero effort to prevent the racket made by 'badly behaved guests' roaring through the rest of the hostel. And, by God did it roar.

My feeling is, that if you are going to take a block booking of 30 plus young rugby players, you either have a system in place that ensures the rules are obeyed or shut the hostel to other visitors. To offer accommodation to other users on nights where you know there is going to be noise is immoral. And to even imagine that 30+ rugby players are gong to be quiet - well that just plain stupid.

We asked for a refund but were told this was impossible and this left me very annoyed, not so much because of the expense but the principles behind it. We paid for a service - a good nights sleep in quiet, clean surroundings - we did not get it.

This complaint is not lightly made. We had a 38 hour travel time from Santiago back home, the last part of which was a section where we had to drive. we had no choice but to get back home so could not sleep along the way. Dangerous, exhausting and infuriating and I would never ever recommend this hostel to anyone.

Their only concern is bottom line and while on the face of it, it's a nice hostel, should anything go wrong, you're on your own mate, and that to me is unacceptable. A decent establishment takes the rough with the smooth. This one does not.

Room tip: Try somewhere else
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jen-2266
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Dear Jennifer,

We are sorry to get this review from you. On our side things are very different, especially when we´ve made a lot of efforts to ensure a good night´s sleep for everyone. We are the ones who have to deal with people who some times don´t follows the rules that we´ve established to everybody gets a nice experience. It´s difficult and often taken lightly by those who see it from outside only, but we still respect your opinion. Unfortunately this time we didn´t get in advance the profile of the group that the agency we work with brought here. If we had known that it was a rugby group, but above all, that they would have a bad behavior, we would certainly not have accepted them.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2017

The Wifi does not work properly. The included breakfast offers sausage and sweet stuff, but no cheese or a healthy bread. The whole atmosphere is more like a hotel than a hostal, so young people may miss a vivid atmosphere...

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimkim444
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2017

Dear Kim,

We are very sorry to get this evaluation from you. We really don´t understand the critic here, but if you were expecting parties all the time, you were staying at the wrong place definitely. We provide several activities for our guests to have fun, but at the end of the day we still need to care about a good night's sleep for all. Breakfast is a buffet service which includes everything (not sausages by the way) and it does have healthy options like fresh fruts, natural juices, eggs and so on. One of the most prestigious and praised service is the breakfast, so we insist, we really don´t get the critic here.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2017 via mobile

Spent a night here en route. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Place was an older building with a funky vibe. Breakfast was pretty basic. Quiet neighbourhood but walking distance to the centre of town. Common space multiple terraces one with pool table. Outside pool

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Nlenigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2017

Dear Nlenigma,

We are very happy to have received your feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit.

Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2017

I booked this place because of its good location. But to my surprise, it is the very beautiful place. The architecture and decoration inside the building totally amazed us. We liked this hostel. The staffs were friendly and helpful. But a little note about booking a taxi. We've heard about the taxi scamming thing in Santiago, so we had the hostel staff booked the taxi to airport for us in the day we check out. By the reservation process we were informed that the total price was 15000 CLP and we paid that money to the hostel staff in advance. We even confirmed again with the hostel staff who booked us a taxi that the price is the final price, and he said yes.
But in the morning, the taxi driver came and picked us up. We observed that he opened the meter and the meter was accumulating. When we reached the airport, the taxi driver told us that 15000 CLP was just for reservation fee and we need to pay for the meter. Totally nonsense.. We insisted not to pay that added money. After a bit of argument, we left without paying any extra and he went frustrated. It would not be like this if i'm travelling alone. I would have given him that money and leave the car immediately to secure myself first.
I suddenly wrote an email to the hostel and told him this story. We just want an explanation. I personally think that the hostel had nothing to do with this scam. But it shouldn't happen to anyone. The hostel explained that it must be misunderstanding or something. But even that, it's not okay at all.
So, make sure the price you paid is the total price, confirm the price with the driver again before getting in the car.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jittyjitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2017

Dear Jitty,

Thanks a lo for your great evaluation and comments. Thanks you also for clarifying the taxi situation for all the user of Tripadvisor. As we´ve already explained, we only act as intermmediary with this transportation service. We don´t even make any profit from it. Unfortunately there are still some dishonest people in the taxi bussiness. What we did after getting your complaint was informing the taxi company about the situation and not to call them again.

Greetings from the entire Happy House Hostel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews