We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Destinia.com
StayForLong
eDreams
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (901)
Filter reviews
901 results
Traveler rating
434
315
92
43
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
434
315
92
43
17
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 901 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2017

I spent just over a week at the Happy House Hostel. It is very centrally located which makes it easy to get to all the touristy places. I would stay there again if I ever go to Santiago. The staff were very friendly and helpful booking my day trip to Vine Del Mar and Valparaiso.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 540gavinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2017

Dear Gavin,

Thanks a lot for your great evaluation and kind comments about our property. We always try to give our best to provide a quality service to all our guests. Glad to know you could experience that.

We wish you the best and we´ll be waiting for your next visit.

Greetings from the entire Happy House Hostel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2017

We loved Happy House Hostel the staff were always pleasant and helpful it was a lovely old building renovated, great large comfortable rooms we had the double room with the private bathroom. Nice Breakfast. And in a great area.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank faynebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2017

Dear Faynebe,

Thanks a lot for your great evaluation and kind comments. We are glad to know you´ve enjoyed your stay at our property. We wish you the best and we´ll be waiting for your next visit.

Greetings from the entire Happy House Hostel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a private room with shared bathroom for 3 night.

Hostel is located in Barrio Brazil, within walking distance to main square (approx 10minutes). There is a supermarket, restaurants, bars etc all nearby.

The building itself is incredible. Huge rooms with high ceilings and shutter windows. Really very nice. Our only complaint was that we had a room facing the main street and the windows were not very useful for keeping out the noisy traffic which woke us during night and early morning.
Also there was no heater in our room which was not a problem as it was not too cold but may be an issue during winter!

Wifi only really worked reliably in the communal areas. Lots of lovely areas in hostel including sitting room with TV, outdoor patio area and large kitchen fully equipped for cooking.

Overall recommended but maybe ask for a room not facing the Main Street!

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great evaluation, comments and also suggestions. Regarding to the windows, I´m glad to inform you we are working on getting double panel glasses for those rooms facing the street. Anyway and as you may note, Moneda isn´t a street with a lot of traffic (buses or similar), but we agree it´ll be better to have these kind of windows. We do provide heating for all our types of rooms (including the dorms) for winter season, which starts the 1st of May. The heaters on rooms with shared bathroom and dormitories are movible, that´s why you dind´t see it, but they´ll be available from the date mentioned.

We hope to see you back soon. Greetings from the entire Happy House Hostel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights. The first night i was in a 3 bed room which was really spacious and clean, although right at the front of the hostel so very noisy, also we couldn't get our safe to work and i know a lot of other people couldn't either.
Last two nights was in a 6 bed mixed dorm, it was very tatty but beds were reasonably comfortable and had lockers.
Location was pretty good, about a 15/20 minute walk right into the very centre.
Laundry was a self service which cost $5000 clp, I didn't use it as our tour guide recommended which use the laundrette just around the corner as it was the same price and they did it for you.
Kitchen was very small and only one hob for a lot of people as its a very big hostel, also it wasn't particularly well equipped.
I didn't use the pool so cant review.
Reception were very helpful at organising an airport transfer which was really good and only cost $7000 clp.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Kathy1365
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2017

Dear Kathy,

Thanks a lot for your great evaluation, comments and also suggestions. As you were part of a big group, sometimes it´s difficult to fill everone´s expectations, especially if 40 people decide to use the guests kitchen at the same time (or being loud), however, we´ll keep un eye on it in order to always have all the neccesary utensils for cooking.

Greetings from the entire Happy House Hostel team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2017

This was an ideal location. It is very convenient for bus, metro and links to airport. It is quite close to the city centre and all the things a tripper would want to see. It's clean, the staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast is very good. Overall, it's excellent value. Would definitely recommend and would chose when I return to Santiago.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank _stephenhaines4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2017

Dear Stephen,

Thanks a lot for your great evaluation aqnd kind comments. We are glad to know you´ve enjoyed our services and facilities. Thanks for the recommendation too. We can´t wait for your return. You´ll be very welcome at your home in Santiago.

Greetings from the entire Happy House Hostel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews