We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No excuse for poor customer service”
Review of Happy House Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Happy House Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Do not get me wrong this hostel looks and feels great and the breakfast is the best that any hostel has ever delivered to me but what annoys me is that its costs nothing to be nice and friendly and when I am paying $50 for a double room in a hostel I expect you to be extra attentive.
The staff bring this otherwise perfect (except for price) hostel down. They seem to be going completely through the motions and would prefer to sit at reception and surf the net rather than help you out.
The hostel would benefit more from having a robot working behind reception

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lamby1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (737)
There are newer reviews for Happy House Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 737 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

This place is a really nice one to stay in Santiago, not so far away from the center by walk. It's really lovely, the breakfast (included) is really good, the staff is friendly. It's a bit noisy though.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jb g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is a great hotel and I do highly recommend it in terms of security and services that it provides, however we were made to feel unwelcome customer service when we arrived that morning lacking.

we were told to pay up front even though we said were staying for a few days or we risk loosing our room. they wanted my passport as security deposit when I said I want to go to the cash machine which I refused I only pay the little cash I had for one night. and were told we were not guaranteed a room for subsequent nights. on our last day I found couple who were paying at check out. so not much consistency it sour our arrival into Chile. great location etc.. but customer service is very poor.

Room Tip: stay on the 3rd floor best rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

best hostel during our 4 weeks in argentina & chile! bright and clean rooms, pool, sunny terrace, perfect breakfast, super friendly and helpful guys! a perfect place in the middle of santiago! in walking distance you've got a supermarket, the subway, bars in the brasilien quarter and midtown is just a 5 minutes walk away!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank BobZack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

A good choice for Santiago.

Location: near Plaza Brasil, a good area. Walking distance to city centre although not right on the doorstep.
Value for money: I stayed in a private room with shared bathroom. Generally nice room although a little tired round the edges and potentially a bit noisy as there was a shared balcony outside. Clean. This place is not really cheap but it is decent value.
Breakfast: excellent, with choice of scrambled or fried eggs and delicious fresh fruit juice.
Atmosphere: very good, friendly staff and guests, solo travellers can easily meet people in the shared kitchen (oh yes, and there is a supermarket quite nearby too). Attractive building.
Has all the extras that travellers appreciate: wifi, computer, laundry service.

Bad points: hardly any. Potentially not the quietest place ever, with creaky wooden floors (although I wasn't bothered). Takes a long time for water to run hot in showers (old building). Not extremely cheap, but then Santiago is not a really cheap place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillie_Langtry_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The hostel is located in an old mansion which has undergone an impressive restoration within the last couple of years. Despite the age of the building the rooms showers and communal areas are spotlessly clean. We had been informed before arriving that the hostel was exceptionally lively and in keeping with this the hostel has the appearance of something crossed between a swingers club and the big brother house with the outdoor neon lit swimming pool and large outside patio area. Unfortunately on the night we stayed it was fairly quite, no such activities were being practised and we even had to tip toe around one of our fellow room mates who was tucked up in bed for 7 o'clock.

The rooms were excellent value for money we stayed in a 6 person dorm which worked out about $20 / £12 per person with breakfast although we never made this as we had an early flight out of Santiago.

The only minor fault I could find was it's location, it has a few bars nearby but as far as we could work out nowhere to move onto after these bars. It is however in fairly close proximity to Los Heroes Metro Stop. Also the beer for sale in the hostel was overpriced.

Room Tip: If you're using a guide book that's over a couple of years old, make sure you've got the...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lambownumber5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Santiago was the place where we finished our round the world trip and after so many hostels we are really proud to say this was one of the best hostel of the trip. We did not expect a hostel like this in South America.
Pros:
- just the right location to move around Santiago. Near, 5 minutes walk / 400mts, from the Los Heroes subway station
- nice and complete kitchen with every tool we needed
- the staff, from around the world, was very nice and very helpful and spoke both English and Spanish
- wi-fi fast and free avaiable 24 hours
- it is located far enough from the noisy bars and restaurants
- they have a outdoor swimming pool with garden and chairs that must be really good for summer
- 20 minutes walk to the Palacio de La Moneda
- situated in Barrio Brasil full of bars and restaurants
- small shops nearby, also ATMs
- breakfast with choice of eggs, breads, jams, cereals tea and coffee and fresh fruit juices
- plentiful showers and toilets on each floor
- wonderful townhouse full of charm and character nicely decorated
- incredibly clean, with a team of live in cleaners that keep the place clean at all times
- pool table, table tennis, large television room, large lounges

Cons:
- the room, and the hostel, during winter is really cold. No heating in the rooms and the heater for the lounge was out of gas.
- only two computers working
- it is not located where things are happening (for example BellaVista). This is a cons for people anxious to party
- no TV or fridge in the room

We had a double room with closet, huge bed, spacious and comfy. First floor. Payed US$ 50/ 25.200 CLP

Room Tip: Choose a room far from the pool table (near the kitchen) and the dorms and if the hostel is full ask...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vania T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#115 of 202 in Santiago
611 reviews
Hostal Providencia
#6 of 494 in Santiago
1,020 reviews
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
H Rado Hostel
H Rado Hostel
#2 of 494 in Santiago
822 reviews
Santa Lucia
Hostal Forestal
Hostal Forestal
#4 of 494 in Santiago
244 reviews
Princesa Insolente Hostel
#18 of 494 in Santiago
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy House Hostel

Address: Moneda 1829, Santiago 8340493, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 494 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range: $15 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Happy House Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Happy House Hostel An Oasis in the heart of Santiago. Located in Moneda Street in the middle of the historic part of the city and just steps from government palace, main square and the main tourist attractions of Santiago. Happy House Hostel offers a high quality service due to obtaining Q seal of quality the S seal of sustainability granted by SERNATUR (National Tourism Service of Chile), besides having an impressive infrastructure, facilities, long market experience and strong commitment of the staff with each of its guests. Our services are: Buffet breakfast, 24 hours of reception, free internet access (Wi Fi and stationary computers), safes in private rooms and lockers in dorms, tourist information and reservations for tours of the season, free luggage storage, laundry, mini bar at reception with 24 hour service of drinks, mineral water and beers, bilingual staff (Spanish - English), recreational and cultural activities (Dancing classes, Chilean BBQ, movie nights, free tours around town, etc.), bike rental, online bus tickets reservations, organization of transport services (only from the hostel to the airport or elsewhere), free national service calls from reception, book exchange, heating in rooms with private bathroom and common areas (winter season), late check out (asking for availability in advance at reception) and a lot more. Our facilities are: Fully equipped kitchen, comfortable and spacious terraces and living rooms, swimming pool, TV rooms with international signal, outside bar, entertainment area (pool table, tennis table, mini football table, chess table and table games), wine cellar with tasting sessions of national strains, BBQ area (including free use of grills) and a lot more. We wait for you :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Happy House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy House Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing