We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and cons”
Review of Happy House Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Happy House Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Pros and cons”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed two nights on the way to Brazil.
Pros: The staff were all lovely and very helpful. All spoke English (which I needed). It was excellent to have a pool (freezing water!). Location is great. Room (private with ensuite) was comfortable. Close to restaurants and bars. Computers were available for use. Wi-Fi also. Good eggs for breakfast.
Cons: Shower was lukewarm on the second day (too cold to wash my hair). The view from my room was an alley where rubbish was piled up (and more kept being added). No fridge or TV in the room (if you expected it). No bar or cafe in the hostel (but a fridge at reception to buy beer, water and diet coke). Very noisy when people are walking in the rooms upstairs (floorboards) or talking in reception (echoes).
Overall: Would stay again for the location, the pool and the staff.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank 295KarinaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    239
    72
    28
    11
See reviews for
57
180
204
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We arrived here without a booking and the guys were good enough to get us a private room which was great.. breakfast is amazing with plenty to eat!Lovely pool area and garden... guys at reception all very helpful and kind! We wanted to go to Vina del Mar for a couple of days they kept our luggage safe and even though they were fully booked they managed to get us a private room that is usually kept for staff when we got back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maura k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

As a chilean, it was a strange situation for me to be a tourist in my own city, but it was a nice experience because of this hostel. Very clean rooms, the clean service ir really good too. It includes a really delicious buffet breakfast between 8 and 10 am, with eggs, cheese, ham, cereal, yogurt, coffee, tea, etc. The neighborhood it not a specially dangerous one, but you have to be careful anyway at night. Finally, the rooms are very big and nice. Conclusion: I definitely recommend it.

Contras: A little bit noisy, because it has a wooden floor. But I think it's not that terrible.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just stayed there for a night, but it was a really bad experience.
Although the staff was really kind, the room wasn't good. There wasn't enough blankets (we were cold all night long) and the ones that we had had a musty smell and we got very allergic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElisaVidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our group of 6 ended up staying a week longer than planned as we could not get back to Argentina because of severe snow over the Andes mountain pass. The staff were so helpful, ringing the border and giving us the latest information regarding the re-opening of the road. The hostel is well located, just a few minutes walk from the subway system and a supermarket. The room we stayed in was very spacious with plenty of storage space. The breakfast was also very good, with a choice of freshly cooked fried or scrambled eggs. The kitchen is well equipped and there is a lovely big table to sit around. We´ll be back if we´re ever in Santiago again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewer169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My daughter is studying in Santiago. She stayed there when she first arrived in Santiago and when I visited with family and friends, we stayed there too. We had two spells there and stayed in different rooms. Very comfortable and great value. Ground floor rooms are very spacious. Top floor not so spacious but still OK. Breakfast wasn't special but was fine. We stayed six night in total for £25 per night. About 400m from Los Heroes metro station which is on two lines, so very convenient

Room Tip: A lot of the double rooms have extra single beds in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillericayBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

I ended up staying here a week, as I had some business to take care of in the city that took much longer than expected. The main reason why I continued my stay is that it is close to a couple of grocery stores and Santiago's excellent subway system, meaning that without any Spanish, one could be in Valparaiso by 9 in the morning for example.

For those who want something quiet, this will fit the bill fine. Otherwise for those returning from a night out, it will feel awkward here: it is not the norm.

If this review sounds lukewarm, it is because it is. The wifi was slow and spotty and computers were poorly maintained, albeit fast when working, but it was also quite clean. Showers were very, especially for South Amerca. The breakfasts were also good, but I would estimate that their price on the street was roughly the premium one pays the stay here.

Overall, I was quite indifferent to this place, but I am sure one could do much worse in Santiago.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dray17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Hostal Providencia
#6 of 488 in Santiago
1,004 reviews
Providencia
H Rado Hostel
H Rado Hostel
#2 of 488 in Santiago
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Lucia
Hostal Forestal
Hostal Forestal
#4 of 488 in Santiago
240 reviews
Santiago Backpackers Hostel
#26 of 488 in Santiago
281 reviews
Princesa Insolente Hostel
#17 of 488 in Santiago
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy House Hostel

Property: Happy House Hostel
Address: Moneda 1829, Santiago 8340493, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 488 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Happy House Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Happy House Hostel An Oasis in the heart of Santiago. Located in Moneda Street in the middle of the historic part of the city and just steps from government palace, main square and the main tourist attractions of Santiago. Happy House Hostel offers a high quality service due to obtaining Q seal of quality the S seal of sustainability granted by SERNATUR (National Tourism Service of Chile), besides having an impressive infrastructure, facilities, long market experience and strong commitment of the staff with each of its guests. Our services are: Buffet breakfast, 24 hours of reception, free internet access (Wi Fi and stationary computers), safes in private rooms and lockers in dorms, tourist information and reservations for tours of the season, free luggage storage, laundry, mini bar at reception with 24 hour service of drinks, mineral water and beers, bilingual staff (Spanish - English), recreational and cultural activities (Dancing classes, Chilean BBQ, movie nights, free tours around town, etc.), bike rental, online bus tickets reservations, organization of transport services (only from the hostel to the airport or elsewhere), free national service calls from reception, book exchange, heating in rooms with private bathroom and common areas (winter season), late check out (asking for availability in advance at reception) and a lot more. Our facilities are: Fully equipped kitchen, comfortable and spacious terraces and living rooms, swimming pool, TV rooms with international signal, outside bar, entertainment area (pool table, tennis table, mini football table, chess table and table games), wine cellar with tasting sessions of national strains, BBQ area (including free use of grills) and a lot more. We wait for you :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Happy House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy House Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing