We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, great people”
Review of Happy House Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Happy House Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

We were originally going to stay one night as we had heard mixed reviews about the place but we ended up staying 5 nights. The rooms are great and beautifully decorated, the staff English speaking are friendly but not over the top and you are located about 10min walk to the main plaza of Santiago. We were well looked after, the staff had great info on the area, were happy to have a beer and talk about everything Chile and negotiated a cheap rate with our taxi driver so we didn't get ripped off. You will not regret staying here, it has definitely been one of my highlights in terms of accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RonnieCootes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra L, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear Guest:

estimates, many thanks for your comment.
We are very pleased to provide what you need and satisfy your requests during your stay with us.
We are working to improve and continue to deliver a service that appeals to our guests and also be in a familiar place, entertaining and friendly.

Have a good travel in Chile,
Yours sincerely

Alejandra López R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (762)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 762 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2012

In addition to comfortable facilities and a beautifully decorated hotel provided me with very interesting to meet people who work with heart and affection.
like that of people who were staying there. All with the same intention of interacting with other cultures and languages, The hostel gives intense pleasure than a great bartender French, Fabien and especially a maid called Gilda and Alejandra manager, always smiling and helpful with guests, not to forget the Ricardo, recepicionista, very helpful, number one. I can only thank the pleasure it gave me a week's stay. Really thank you. I urge all who love Hostels know this is for me a 10.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carlos Eduardo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra L, Manager at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear guest, we are very happy to know we have given you a pleasure and warm stay in Santiago. We aim to be a happy and close team that can give you support while you are traveling. The staff is carefully choosen and trained to give their best in every single detail.

We also appreciate to hear that our facilities were comfortable for you, though we keep on working, day to day, in their improvements.

Thank you for choosing us, and be aware you will be always welcome to our Happy House.

Best Regards
Alejandra Lopez
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

we stayed in a double room (private bathroom) for two nights and then ran away from here.

ok, in general, dont go to barrio brazil - the plaza italia and bellavista are much better place to stay in. for some reason the books and websites say this area is nice and funky, in reality it is dead with many cheap hotels for hookers (pay by the hour) and garages. there is a reasonable amount of restaurants and small bars in plaza brazil but nothing compared to bellavista.

now, for the hostel:
I will be fair and say that for a hostel, this is a very nice place. it is VERY spacious with lots of public areas, in general the facilities are ok with good kitchen, small pool, etc.
but, there is a but:
1) most of the hostels we went into looked quite about the same regarding facilities and cleanliness, except for the big space you have in this hostel so I wouldnt count the facilities as a big plus here.
2) it was sooooo expensive!!!!! the most expensive place we stayed in south america and definetly not worth the money! it was 77 USD for a night in the double room and it is low season now... in our search for a better and cheaper place we found very good places for less then half the price. we paid for a 3 star hotel about 2/3 the price we paid here and it was much much better.
4) although the place was very expensive (and our expectations for a good place acordingly...) we did have a lot of problems:
we didnt have hot water in the shower - twice during the couple of days we were here before we ran out of it!!!
the wooden floor is very noisy so if you stay in the first floor (double rooms) you will hear people walking above your head all night long.
the toilet and sink in our room got flooded all the time so we couldnt even take a do #2 in our own room and had to use the shared ones.
speaking of which - shared bathrooms are army style - not the type you could lock with a key and anyone walking in the corridor can look inside (unlike most of other hostels we have been to in santiago).
wifi reception is all around but very poor unless you are in the lobby and the internet is VERY slow and there were times there was no internet at all (on the hostel computers as well).
the reception guys are nice but some are not very helpful - didnt really know much about the city and more important were incapable handling facilities problem like no hot water and no internet.
cleanliness - in general it was clean but still dusty and rustik in some places and a very rustik wooden floor.

dont go here unless you dont have any other choice or if they put their prices down...

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra L, Manager at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear guest, we appreciate you have taken the time to give us your valuable comment, it is a good way to focus in what needs to be improve.
We share your feeling of inconvenience, and feel sorry for it. We would have loved to have the opportunity of giving you a better stay. Nevertheless we are working already over the key points that can be improve.
We need to be honest, during your stay, we suffered difficulties with some basic services in couple of rooms (per hours), and fortunately they have been 100% fixed.
We wish you a nice journey.
Best regards,
Alejandra Lopez
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

First of all, Happy House Hostel is very well located, on the same Metro line as the bus terminal and also close to the city center. But above all, HHH is an experience with its 2-floor building with patio, terrace and... swimming-pool! (and even a brand new bar). Moreover, the HHH staff is very friendly and will help you to find your way in Santiago. I decided to came on a friend's warm advice, so now let me do the same by recommending you to spend a few nights here!!! Romain

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romsverts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

the walls and decor are so cute and quirky, the pool- FREEZING btw- is still lovly but we are yet to stay in for more than a few minutes. geat italian across the road, good if your jet lagged but need dinner. pretty close to town, you can walk most places easily.

Room Tip: we got put in a room with snorers so maybe ask if you can get a room for just the amount of people y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thalz294305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

The hostel is so great!The place is quiet and the staff are so friendly! I was so surprised there is s pool!!! I will recommend the hostel to all travelers who want to Santiago.I enjoyed so much!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kawamotoryutaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Huge hostel, nice pool, great staff... Have to see, big rooms

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ranisharoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#117 of 202 in Santiago
613 reviews
Hostal Providencia
#6 of 507 in Santiago
1,054 reviews
Santa Lucia
Hostal Forestal
Hostal Forestal
#4 of 507 in Santiago
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Providencia
H Rado Hostel
H Rado Hostel
#2 of 507 in Santiago
834 reviews
La Casa Roja Hostel
#12 of 507 in Santiago
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy House Hostel

Address: Moneda 1829, Santiago 8340493, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 507 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range: $21 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Happy House Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Happy House Hostel An Oasis in the heart of Santiago. Located in Moneda Street in the middle of the historic part of the city and just steps from government palace, main square and the main tourist attractions of Santiago. Happy House Hostel offers a high quality service due to obtaining Q seal of quality the S seal of sustainability granted by SERNATUR (National Tourism Service of Chile), besides having an impressive infrastructure, facilities, long market experience and strong commitment of the staff with each of its guests. Our services are: Buffet breakfast, 24 hours of reception, free internet access (Wi Fi and stationary computers), safes in private rooms and lockers in dorms, tourist information and reservations for tours of the season, free luggage storage, laundry, mini bar at reception with 24 hour service of drinks, mineral water and beers, bilingual staff (Spanish - English), recreational and cultural activities (Dancing classes, Chilean BBQ, movie nights, free tours around town, etc.), bike rental, online bus tickets reservations, organization of transport services (only from the hostel to the airport or elsewhere), free national service calls from reception, book exchange, heating in rooms with private bathroom and common areas (winter season), late check out (asking for availability in advance at reception) and a lot more. Our facilities are: Fully equipped kitchen, comfortable and spacious terraces and living rooms, swimming pool, TV rooms with international signal, outside bar, entertainment area (pool table, tennis table, mini football table, chess table and table games), wine cellar with tasting sessions of national strains, BBQ area (including free use of grills) and a lot more. We wait for you :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Happy House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy House Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing