We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey central hostel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Andes Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Andes Hostel
Ranked #93 of 198 Hotels in Santiago
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pricey central hostel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

The hostel is very clean, very central, has central heating, very helpful staff (English speaking), good breakfast that keeps you on your legs for a day (scrambled eggs).

But, the WiFi does not work in the rooms and is shabby even straight next to the router. Also, it is pricey in a city that does not have much to offer, hit the countryside instead or use the underground to commute.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndesHostel, Director de Recepción at Andes Hostel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you, radekstepan, for your review about our hostel. We're sorry you found our hostel expensive but I can assure you that since we are located in the heart of Santiago (the captial of our country) and steps away from most of the highlights of the city, our prices are not only up to par with the city rates but many of our guests find that our value is incomparable to our rivals´. Also we do not have Wifi in our rooms because we encourage our guests to meet other travellers and participate in our activites instead of staying in their rooms all day. We do apologize if the Wifi in our lobby wasn't working correctly and we have, since then, taken all measures to improve it. Thanks again for your stay and your opinion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    233
    85
    30
    24
See reviews for
45
131
176
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

i'm solo traveler. same everyone will search lot of information and book the hostel i am happy with.i really don't get it.i read lots of comment about this hostel was good.i did a lot traveled also stayed lots of backpacker hostel in the past this one really bad. good=staff really excellent helpful! answer anything you ask.yes! location is prefect! bad= check in time is 2pm but i have to wait half an hour. no elevator! the reception did saw me have one 20 kg luggage but pretend didnt see and walk off let me carried my luggage to third flood!! i stayed room number 32 just right in front of male bathroom and toilet at midnight that door make very noisy!! and smell terrible!! also, that room 24 hour noisy and hot!!! just because closed to everything.i would never go back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherryluvtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndesHostel, Director de Recepción at Andes Hostel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for your review, as a Hostel we are always trying to find ways to improve and your review will be noted. What we do ask is to please read hostel information before booking as different hostels will have different policies. Our check-in time is 2:00 pm, yes, but when we are busy helping other guests it is hard to check in everyone at that time, we ask our guests to be a bit patient so that every guest recieves the quality service we pride ourselves in. In regards to our luggage service, this is NOT included at our hostel (normally you will find this service at a hotel), however if you need help and there is someone available please let us know and we will do our best to help you but please note that this hostel does not have a bell staff. Also, we do not have elevators in our hostel because it compromises the structure of our building but we do have elevators in our apartments which are only one block from the hostel. Thanks again for your stay and your helpful input, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Although the price of this hostel is somewhat expensive than others, It's worthy!
Just in front of hostel, there are subway station, nice Icecream shop and National art museum :)
All of the staff can speak English and friendly.
I stayed in 6 female dorm and the room was clean and really nice.
Breakfast is included and the scrambled egg was really nice :D

And there's a bar but i've never used and never seen someone using...
So it's somewhat quiet bar... Not an party area.

And only one thing i didn't like was Wifi. You can only use it on the first floor where has the quiet bar...
Except for that, everything was so nice. And i met a lot of good friends.
I'll definitely stay in Andes hostel when i visit Santiago, again :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahreum H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Just a night stayover in Santiago so did not have much expectation, we just need a place to stay and rest.

Since we stay in the andes apartment, which is a block away from the hostel, checked in at 2pm something, room is out of our expectation which is good indeed. Equipped with a small kitchen you can cook with, the room is clean and the WIFI is okay during my stay.

The next early morning we check out and go ahead to the airport, we booked the taxi service at the counter and the taxi came on time, much appreciate.

There is a supermarket right next to the apartment, so convenient. And this hostel just across a road to the railway station so is easy to access.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

This is an inexpensive option in the centre of Santiago, well located in the Bellas Artes district. The apartments are located a block away from the hostel, between Merced and Huérfanos. The apartment was tiny but comfortable, with an almost useable kitchenette and a small refrigerator. It is conveniently located next to a good supermarket. Breakfast in the hostel on Monjitas is included, but it is not good -- fake juice, fake coffee, fake dulce de leche, and salty eggs that run out very often, all in a small room with limited places at the basement of the hostel. The apartment was cleaned every day, but we had to ask for a third towel daily because it was always removed when the room was cleaned. This is a reasonably priced option but the apartments are run like a hostel.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

It's a great place to stay! Cheap and clean with plenty of fun events and lots of socializing. Mornings and nights in the common room are very lively, and you can always find someone to talk to. It seems to be very well run, and the people working were always happy to help me! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

The staff were really helpful and the location is pretty good. The main thing to remember is that this is a hostel! So lots of youngsters and the energy that goes with it. The place was very hip and a nice place to hang around but it was a bit noisey at times through the night. The rooms were basic but clean. This place worked for me but it did remind me that I am getting old. I rate it average based on the basic and slightly noisy rooms but I can imagine a younger person rating it very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uktraveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Hotel Paris Londres
#144 of 198 in Santiago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Luna Suite Apart Hotel
#183 of 198 in Santiago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
#64 of 198 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,867 reviews
Santa Lucia
Lastarria 43/61
Lastarria 43/61
#15 of 198 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andes Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andes Hostel

Property: Andes Hostel
Address: Monjitas 506, Santiago 8320107, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Santa Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andes Hostel & Apartments is located in Barrio Bellas Artes/Lastarria, the trendiest neighborhood in downtown Santiago. We are just walking distance away from the must-visit spots in Santiago: Plaza de Armas, Cerro Santa Lucia, Bellas Artes Museum, Parque Forestal, Bellavista, Cerro San Cristobal, La Moneda (government palace) and Mercado Central. Charming cafes and restaurants of all styles surround Andes Hostel. And if you ever feel like visiting other Santiago neighborhoods, the Bellas Artes Metro Station is right across Andes Hostel. Our Apartments are located just one block away from Andes Hostel, but you have to check-in and check-out at Andes Hostel, in Monjitas 506. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andes Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andes Hostel And Apartments
Andes Hostel & Apartments Hotel Santiago
Andes Hostel Santiago
Andes Hostel Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing