We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hostel and apartments”
Review of Andes Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Andes Hostel
Ranked #117 of 204 Hotels in Santiago
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our stay was great, breakfast ok , the receptionists and maids very helpfull, we are planning to come back to santiago de chile and staying at Andes again.
Apartments are in another building, 100 metres from the hostel, breakfast is served in the hostel, but this is no a problem beacause is very close one building to the other we were a group and some stay in the apartments and some of us at the hostel, the hostel is very clean and they have activities like Karaoke on friday with free hotdogs and very very nice enviroment
Thank you guys

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank SonDeCuba G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 615 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

I can´t speak for the hostel itself but the Andes apartments are really fantastic! Can´t really fault it. It was spotless, got cleaned every day mid afternoon. We felt very safe as there was a gate with a security guard 24/7.
It was lovely to come back to the apartment after a day of sight seeing - there was a lovely lounge and kitchen (although there is no need to use it when food in Santiago is that cheap!).
I would definitely recommend the apartments to anyone staying in Santiago - well worth the very reasonable room rate!

Room Tip: Go for an apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimmyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I dtayed here for 13 days in total. And though i wasnt much for thr city of santiago (not enough to do in two weeks...bad planning on my part) the hostel was great. You are made to feel very welcome and its a good atmosphere as you sit down in the common room, which is a bright lounge with comfortable couches and chairs. There is a pool table and a bar, which isnt stocked so alcohol is absolutely allowed. The wifi works particularly well in these rooms. The kitchen is also excellent, and breakfast is included. A special word on the breakfast. Eggs every morning which are heavily salted and delicious, thry continue to cook in the ban marie and everyone gets scrambled eggs how they like them. Good selection of bread, jams, dulce de leche, cereals, cakes, coffee, tea and juices. They also do meals at night but you pay for those, not particularly worth the price. The beds are comfortable, lights so you can read, though the rooms are a little hot. Good showers. The wifi doesnt work above level two but overall works very well. The staff are great, alonso is particular is very welcoming and organises nights out. The american girl is also very helpful. All in all a really good stay in a city that doesn't offer a lot after a while.

Room Tip: Any room on the second floor if you want constant wifi but really any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lara e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Andes is divided cinto anos hotel with dorms and private rooms, as well , apartment blocks located on a separate building a block away.
We spend 3 nights in one of the standard apartments. This is a private residential high rise block where Andes has a few flats.
These allow a bit more flexibility as they are fully furnished, have a small all equipped kitchen, Wi-Fi, gym and 2 lane lane swimming pool on the top floor. Cleaners also come late morning. There is a big supermarket on the bottom floor which is open until 10pm on weekdays.
Basic breakfast is also provided back at the hostel.
We found the apartments to be spotless, and still benefited from being able to leave our bags during our travels, at the storage room on the main hostel building.
Would happily stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nuno R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Arrived in late, met by friendly multilingual staff. Rooms were as expected, basic, clean and comfortable. Staff answered any queries and made very good recommendations re places to eat. Down side.... was noisy out side and in the early hours when some residents arrived back in from the bars. That said my companion heard nothing. great central location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent-in-Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

pros:
Place is nice. May be a little bit too expensive to be honest, but other hostels charge you the same for less, so its ok.
nice bed linen
kitchen-sofas tv-pool table-breakfast

cons:
although towels are included, its VERY hard to get them. They are constantly "out of towels" (??)

wifi NOT in the rooms

we switch one night to a double bed room and it wasnt that nice, it was very very little, no window, and the bed was still a weird kind of bunk bed: a double bed down and a single one over (??)

--------------------------------------------

breakfast is fine or ok (accurate):
thee/nescafe(not real coffee)
bread/toasts with one kind of jam, dulce de leche, butter
two kinds of cereals
scramble eggs
hot/cold milk

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank myradio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

After exploring the entire city, Bella Artes is by far the best area to stay in. We booked in for 4 nights and two apartments for three of us. These are studio apartments in a large multi building apartment complex. 'The Andes Apartments' are just a small random collection in this skyrise complex. They are all identical, nicely decorated and very comfortable. They desperately need better quality knives and a coffee maker or French press though. The grocery store is next door and there are lots of restaurants and sites within walking distance (get a map from the front desk at the hostel building check-in). Supposedly, you get a fantastic view of the city from the rooftop at night (we made the mistake of going to The W Hotel, which no longer offers a rooftop bar).

Our stay here was fantastic except that the electricity blew on our second night, so the flustered receptionist guy moved us from one on the 3rd floor to the 8th floor and then for some reason made us move to one on the 6th floor the following night. I thought they were upgrading us for a night, but no they were all the same. This was a hassle with all the luggage and groceries, but at least there's an elevator.

Walk or take the tram if possible. Taxis are as expensive as NYC. Negotiate a price ahead of time. We got in one with a rigged meter.

Autumn and Abe Shelton
Asquaredadventures.com

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Asquaredadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Hotel Paris Londres
#157 of 204 in Santiago
214 reviews
Santa Lucia
Lastarria 43/61
Lastarria 43/61
#20 of 204 in Santiago
376 reviews
Hotel Santa Lucia
#179 of 204 in Santiago
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Lucia
Su Merced
Su Merced
#21 of 204 in Santiago
380 reviews
WE Hotel
#116 of 204 in Santiago
96 reviews
Hotel Baleares
#183 of 204 in Santiago
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andes Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andes Hostel

Address: Monjitas 506, Santiago 8320107, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Santa Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Santiago
Price Range: $14 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andes Hostel & Apartments is located in Barrio Bellas Artes/Lastarria, the trendiest neighborhood in downtown Santiago. We are just walking distance away from the must-visit spots in Santiago: Plaza de Armas, Cerro Santa Lucia, Bellas Artes Museum, Parque Forestal, Bellavista, Cerro San Cristobal, La Moneda (government palace) and Mercado Central. Charming cafes and restaurants of all styles surround Andes Hostel. And if you ever feel like visiting other Santiago neighborhoods, the Bellas Artes Metro Station is right across Andes Hostel. Our Apartments are located just one block away from Andes Hostel, but you have to check-in and check-out at Andes Hostel, in Monjitas 506. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Andes Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andes Hostel And Apartments
Andes Hostel & Apartments Hotel Santiago
Andes Hostel Santiago
Andes Hostel Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing