We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in a fantastic location”
Review of Andes Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Andes Hostel
Ranked #117 of 204 Hotels in Santiago
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is quite a sociable hostel, definitely better for a younger crowd I think. The dorms were clean and spacious, with lockers. You could buy a lock and a universal plug adaptor at the reception desk, and there are also computers available to use for free. The location is perfect- just cross the road and you´re at the metro station.
This place also provides breakfast, but nothing amazing (scambled eggs, bread, jam and coffee). Overall I´d recommmend this hostel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenMochilera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 615 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

My friends and I had to spend one unexpected night in Santiago, Chile and we booked last minute and were simply hoping we didn't end up in a dump. My friends and I were extremely happy with this place. It was clean, in a great location and had all the amenities of home! Also included was a nice lil breakfast platter. I would totally come back to this place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Everything worked perfectly during our 4 days stay in this apartment. We chose one with 1 bedroom, kitchen, bathroom and living room, and I think it fits a couple just like a glove.
The location is just the best, close to the main streets of Santiago, to nice little cafes, to the Bellas Artes metro station and to the Cerro Santa Lucia. The staff was nice, the place is modern, functional and clean. Super recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larainthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in an apartment which is in a building behind the hostel. It was very clean and in a great location. It felt very safe and the staff were so friendly and helpful. The apartment wasn't huge but it was great for the price. There was a decent little kitchen which was handy. There's a supermarket right next doo too. I would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank champkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed in dorm room in Feb 2012 and can recommend this hostel. From memory, it is conveniently located just opposite the Bella Artes metro, not far from Bella Vista area which is just beautiful and has many little bars/restaurants in close proximity. Also a really good supermarket just 2 mins walk behind the hostel (the best I saw on month trip in Argentina/Patagonia/Chile). Very clean bedrooms/bathrooms, good beds, good sized lockers and had a great breakfast with good bread! Good kitchen - feels quite homely. Staff are very friendly. Definitely check out the ice-cream shop they recommend - don't remember the name but it is on the way to Cristobel. In retrospect, wish I stayed a bit longer.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Researcher_RTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Andes is right in the centre of Santiago and has a great mix of people passing through. The staff are genuinely the best I have ever come across in a hostel, they spoke better English than me (native speaker!) and really made an effort to get to know all the guests. The breakfast is also decent - cereal, rolls, scrambled egg and is served, I think from 7-10 but I missed it most days as the high point of this hostel is the social life. People have said it is noisy and I would have to agree that if you want to go to bed at half 10 this may not be the best choice, but if you choose to stay in the centre of the city you might as well make the most of it and get involved in the action!

There are a range of organised events such as free dinners, bbqs, etc and the hostel has good free wifi and a really well equipped kitchen

I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We wanted to spend a few nights in central Santiago and Andes had very good reviews - the hostel was full and so we took an apartment, which turned out to be amazing! It was on the 22nd floor - really modern with cooking amenities (SuperMarket on the ground floor). If you want to avoid the noise of the hostel, suggest you choose the apartments.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adventurpreneurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Hotel Paris Londres
#158 of 204 in Santiago
214 reviews
Santa Lucia
Lastarria 43/61
Lastarria 43/61
#20 of 204 in Santiago
376 reviews
Hotel Santa Lucia
#179 of 204 in Santiago
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Lucia
Su Merced
Su Merced
#22 of 204 in Santiago
380 reviews
WE Hotel
#115 of 204 in Santiago
96 reviews
Hotel Baleares
#183 of 204 in Santiago
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andes Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andes Hostel

Address: Monjitas 506, Santiago 8320107, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Santa Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Santiago
Price Range: $14 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andes Hostel & Apartments is located in Barrio Bellas Artes/Lastarria, the trendiest neighborhood in downtown Santiago. We are just walking distance away from the must-visit spots in Santiago: Plaza de Armas, Cerro Santa Lucia, Bellas Artes Museum, Parque Forestal, Bellavista, Cerro San Cristobal, La Moneda (government palace) and Mercado Central. Charming cafes and restaurants of all styles surround Andes Hostel. And if you ever feel like visiting other Santiago neighborhoods, the Bellas Artes Metro Station is right across Andes Hostel. Our Apartments are located just one block away from Andes Hostel, but you have to check-in and check-out at Andes Hostel, in Monjitas 506. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Andes Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andes Hostel & Apartments Hotel Santiago
Andes Hostel And Apartments
Andes Hostel Santiago
Andes Hostel Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing