We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great big hostel with little nooks”
Review of La Chimba Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Chimba Hostel
Ranked #34 of 536 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Loved this hostel. There are three houses that are connected to each other with a little garden. The houses all have a living and dining room, one even has an pooltable room. So more than enough space for everyone. You could go a day without being seen or socialise the whole day, it is up to you. There are two clean and well equipped kitchens and enough clean showers. The wifi was really good. Just one tip: make sure you are in the second or third house to avoid the partying from house number one. If you can do that than you should have a really nice stay.

Room Tip: Go for the third house, a double as we had is spacious and no party-noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JenJ365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 455 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

I came to La Chimba based on the recommendation of two friends who visited in October 2013. Even though they described it was being a popular hostel with lots of guests to hang out with, my visit was much quieter (actually my preference, so I was pleasantly surprised!) The hostel is very big, but not in a "big and let's squeeze as many beds and people into each room as possible" kind of way. It's spacious, well thought out, and allows guests to be as social or secluded as they wish. Highly recommended!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sarita1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Switched from La Casa Roja to La Chimba and I'm so happy that I did. Really quiet place, with tons of common tables and couches spread throughout the hostel. Great showers with plenty of water pressure and most of the front desk staff was really helpful, especially one young woman.
My only complaints, two small ones, are that the guy at the front desk was a little confused about when we were supposed to check out and walked right into our room one morning to announce that we had to check out. Buy that was easily resolved. And the other is about the ceiling in the kitchen, which was leaking water and seriously caved. I'm worried that'll eventually collapse.
Outside of those two small things, I really liked this hostel. Totally recommend it.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank VictoriaHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

spent a couple of nights here and really enjoyed it! Location is great, rooms are nice, shared bathrooms is very clean and the staff I helpful. Shared kitchen are well equipped and also clean. Common areas good and so is the wifi.
Definitely coming back for another visit!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Joel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

big, internet, beds are huge and unreal, staff are all so friendly, really nice atmosphere. the kitchen is great, there is a proper stone barbeque and a loads of outside lounge areas. Also the breakfast is great, the area it is in is great, its all great!!!!!!! santiago is the best city in the world!

also there is the biggest dvd selection and a large tv!!!

Room Tip: 20 dollars for a dounle bed, or go in an outside dorm, they are spacious and have sofas and tables i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Great hostel. One of the best I've ever stayed in. I don't actually have anything else to say but trip advisor won't let me post a review without 200 characters in this box so I'm hoping that this sentence will be getting me close to that number...

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karl_unique_name
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My three dys in La Chimba and Bella Vista Hostel were great! Good atmosphere in a well kept place, nice people around and gentle staff to support. I recomend La Chimba for travelers in Santiago: pre book and be happy!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Zasplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
The Bellavista Hostel
#30 of 536 in Santiago
396 reviews
Providencia
H Rado Hostel
H Rado Hostel
#2 of 536 in Santiago
844 reviews
Santa Lucia
La Casona Hostel
La Casona Hostel
#7 of 536 in Santiago
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Lucia
Hostal Forestal
Hostal Forestal
#4 of 536 in Santiago
275 reviews
Santiago Backpackers Hostel
#29 of 536 in Santiago
291 reviews
La Casa Roja Hostel
#15 of 536 in Santiago
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Chimba Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chimba Hostel

Address: E. Pinto Lagarrigue 262 | Barrio Bellavista, Santiago 8320000, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 536 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range: $20 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Chimba Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your La Chimba Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Chimba Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing