We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Chimba Hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Chimba Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Chimba Hostel
Ranked #14 of 470 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
puerto escondido, oaxaca
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“La Chimba Hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

La Chimba Hostel is located in the 'bohemian' part of Santiago called Bella Vista. The staff are friendly and helpful, speak multiple languages and there is someone on staff all night. There is a good common area with a heater and pay TV for those slow or freezing cold days. The showers are hot and may require some fiddling with at first but work well. there is some partying at this hostel however after 11 or 12 everyone is asked to go out or to bed.
good location (although Bella Vista is a little expensive- restaurants, Bars etc)

Room Tip: the rooms in the other buildings (not the building that reception is in) will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldlooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    148
    85
    25
    19
See reviews for
4
79
164
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

The main selling point of the hostel is its location which is conveniently in the Bellavista area close to some trendy restaurants, bars and clubs. It's quite a large hostel with an odd layout which is quite charming and quirky. There are several outdoor areas to sit in assuming the weather is ok (June wasn't the best!). We stayed in a dorm which had a proper duvet which was good and then in a double room which had blankets. We were never cold despite the low temps outside and lack of heating inside. Staff were always willing to help and friendly but I felt they were being overstretched with long shifts and could appear tired out.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandyman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

Where to start... Fantastic location, comfortable rooms, nice breakfast, great staff but best of all brilliant pubcrawl! Definitely stay here & say hello to Ben & Joe for us!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitzgelo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

This hostel is awesome apart from the fact that it is so noisy that we only managed a few hours sleep both of the nights we stayed. The issue is that they have communal areas to hang out dotted amongst the rooms. On the first night we stayed a bunch of people sat right outside our room and decided to have a sing along with a guitar from midnight till 3am. The next night another group sat around the corner from our room and partied until the early hours of the morning. I never sleep well and so wear ear plugs but not even this was enough. My husband usually has no problem but it was so noisy that not even he could sleep. It is such a shame because otherwise this hostel is great. The location is fabulous in the heart of the bella vista area. The room was huge and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was average with the usual Chilean offerings of toast and cereal. Staff weren´t very interested in interacting and were not helpful. If you have no problem sleeping then stay here, you will love it. Otherwise pick somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieFreeSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asunción, Central, Paraguay
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Huge expansive property that you can get lost in.
Friendly staff who will advise you of parties nearby with other hostels, and help with any queries you need.
Comfortable 6 bed dorm, and plenty to do in and around the area. San Cristobal hill is a must.
The breakfast was typical of S American hostels, basically bread, cereal and jams.
Only problem at times was finding out which staff member was on duty. Some would be off duty drinking etc so couldn't answer questions/help with anything.

Would go again, and reccomend.

Room Tip: 6 bed mixed dorm can get a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Booked this hostel on a whim because we needed a place to stay after lollapalooza. First off this place is in an amazing part of town! Super hip with bars, restaurants and shops.

We stayed in a mix dorm of 6 and it was great. There was an "en suite bathroom" in our room as well as other restrooms with showers scattered throughout the house. They have a full communal kitchen downstairs as well as a lounge and an outdoor courtyard where you can find many different travelers resting from all over the world.

The place is really hip, from the "we dont' accept nerds" sign out front, to the old school Nintendo duck hunt system in the common room. Some of the bathrooms were super nice and updated, some were just meh, regular hostel quality.

The location is premium. Like others said its in a hip part of town with shops and restaurants and right down the street from the base of San Cristóbal Hill with the famous Virgin Mary statue on top and a great view of Santiago (if you can see through the smog that is)

They were very cool in keeping our bags safe after checking out in the morning so we could explore Santiago before our evening flight. I felt very safe here, they did a good job of making sure the gate would stay closed, and only students/guests would be let in. If you're staying in Santiago for one night or 4 i would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helloSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and actually enjoyed it. But I can not decide if I like it a lot or just enough to recommend it further. The atmosphere is very cozy, the place is decorated very nicely, I enjoyed walking through the rooms and staying here. On the other hand, it is big. Did not have problems with the orientation, but it is additionally expanding, you can see, that the owners want to make money. There are 3 houses all in all, but you do not have the feeling to be in a big construction, it is airy and with a lot of light.
The prices for the accommodation are not very low (11.000 CHP) and the laundry costs with 1000 CHP / kg so much like nowhere else I have been before. The breakfast is ok, but not more then that (bad coffee, cheap juice, marmelade, bread, kellogs, milk, sometimes bananas). Sometimes I had problems with the warm-water supply in the shower in the evening,but after going to another shower I always found one, were the water was warm.
The internet is good, but when some receptionists come to the idea to stream the hostel-music through the wi-fi connection....then you actually do not have internet any more. That happenes every second day or so.
The bellavista-area is really chilled, safe in the night and good for going out.The metro is 15 min. walk away, supermarket...did not see any, certainly there are no ones near by.

Room Tip: I suppose, the rooms in "casa 3" are the most modern ones, nicely placed and furnished, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Hotel Boutique Castillo Rojo
#12 of 197 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Providencia
H Rado Hostel
H Rado Hostel
#2 of 470 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bellavista Hostel
#35 of 470 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Hostal Providencia
#6 of 470 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Happy House Hostel
#4 of 470 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Chimba Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chimba Hostel

Property: La Chimba Hostel
Address: E. Pinto Lagarrigue 262 | Barrio Bellavista, Santiago 8320000, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 470 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Chimba Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your La Chimba Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Chimba Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing