We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the cost!”
Review of Aji Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aji Hostel
Ranked #38 of 536 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here two nights and received free dinner both nights! Clean rooms and common areas, really helpful staff, great location on a quiet street. As a female traveling in south america for the first time, i felt really safe and at ease in this hostel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 243 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

One of the best hostels I have stayed.
The staff are knowledgeable approachable and helpful
Location is good 2 mins walk from Salvador metro station
Even though the place is old and needing a coat of paint outside it was kept very clean .The cleaner made the beds which I had not experienced in hostels I had stayed in previously.
Dinner was provided free.
There was wifi and heating on the landing to each floor . There was hot water in the showers

Room Tip: Light on the second floor landing is very dull ( and since this is the Wifi area and we couldn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madhumbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here and enjoyed our stay. The staff was great to talk to and was helpful when we had tourist questions. The heaters in the private rooms was a nice touch for the chilly evenings. Hostel was a bit worn in and not immaculately clean but nothing major to complain about. Walking distance to the city and very close to the subway as well. As an added bonus free dinner was nice when we wanted to save money/ too tired to go out. Other travelers were very friendly as well.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jakelwill21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Excelllent hostel! I really like it. Dinner was simple, tasty and free. I even got 2 free drinks with free dinner. Place is clean. Staff is awesome. Location is top. Bed is comfy. Dinner time is a good highlight.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yem27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

The staff were excellent. The owner is very cool and helped us out a lot. We enjoyed staying here and would have stayed longer but there was no room for us!! The only thing we didn't like was the strange smells, I think that it was other guests half the time!! The free dinner was really nice as was the breakfast. It's in a safe area of the city. I'd recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sgrange2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

It wasn't a bad place to stay. The staff were very friendly, they very helpful especially the night porter! We got in at 6 in the morning and he let me sleep on the couch! Free of charge! The wifi was good as was the breakfast. They had loads of handy men in trying fix the place up. It is an older building though and had a few flaws. The shower was freezing and sometimes not working. There was a terrible smell from the toilets and the living room. We did meet nice people there however at the free dinner. It's a good plot to get travellers in the same room. The free dinner and wine was also really good! If you are looking for a no frills basic hostel then this is your place!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damo_thebutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

¿Este es un hostel? That's what one of the other passengers in the minibus said when we pulled up to the hostel. I don't know how this place gets such great reviews; nothing particularly special about the place except that dinner is included, except Fridays. The location is good and the staff friendly. The room, a female dorm was clean enough, the bathroom not so much. The pipes had a smell of raw sewage. The frames on the bunk bed felt a little flimsy. The building needs a good paint job, especially when you compare it to the other buildings next to it; It seems like the building is in disrepair, but they are in the middle of doing some construction, to be fair. The breakfast is ok, my complaint being that they only serve you portion of everything, which didn't work for me because I didn't want the cereal but after an hour run, two slices of bed was not going to cut It.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarmenSandiego2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Ecohostel Chile
#83 of 536 in Santiago
151 reviews
Providencia
Hostal Chile Pepper
Hostal Chile Pepper
#43 of 536 in Santiago
71 reviews
Santiago Backpackers Hostel
#30 of 536 in Santiago
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
Ventana Sur Hostel
Ventana Sur Hostel
#36 of 536 in Santiago
134 reviews
Gnomo Hostel
#75 of 536 in Santiago
31 reviews
Princesa Insolente Hostel
#14 of 536 in Santiago
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aji Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aji Hostel

Address: Triana 863 Providencia Santiago Chile, Santiago 7500000, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Providencia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 536 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range: $13 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aji Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ají Hostel offers you the best value for your money! Free dinner every night, except Fridays (our big BBQ night). The best atmosphere and staff will make your stay in Santiago a memorable experience. Our activities provide you the perfect opportunity to meet other travelers, and our young personnel give you the friendliest service in a relaxed atmosphere. Located in the trendy neighbourhoood of Providencia in Santiago, Aji Hostel is a cheerful hostel featuring accommodation with free WiFi access. A complimentary breakfast buffet with seasonal fruits, cereal and bread rolls is served daily. Guests at Aji Hostel can enjoy a complimentary dinner daily, with the exception of Fridays, when the property hosts a traditional barbeque with plenty of regional wine. Guests are also offered complimentary cocktails on certain days of the weel. Aji Hostel features single beds in mixed or female only dormitories, as well as private double rooms with a private bathroom. All rooms are decorated with vibrant colours, modern parquet flooring and local artwork. The Aji is conveniently located only 16 km from Arturo Merino Benitez Airport, and 200 m from the Savior metro station. Santiago's best restaurants, bars and clubs are within walking distance from the hostel. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aji Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aji Hotel Santiago
Chilli Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing