We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't trust the fees, can be changed in any time!”
Review of Hotel Maria Angola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Maria Angola
Ranked #120 of 196 Hotels in Santiago
Milwaukee
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Don't trust the fees, can be changed in any time!”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stay there, because a reservation made by the Institution that invite me to Chile. I was informed about the price of the room at the check in, but at the end, they charge me more, with no reason. The room was only decent, located on the first floor, and very noisy. The breakfast fine, as well the location, but be careful with how much they charge you, if still decide to stay there!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carcalumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    27
    21
    8
    3
See reviews for
14
21
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I am an African American female who stayed at this hotel at the end of a cruise to explore Santiago for a few days before returning home. First, the desk clerk asked me if I lived in a ghetto in the US; then, the restaurant staff was very rude and refused to serve me and I finally fled to another hotel when I started receiving several telephone calls in the middle of the night forwarded to my room by the switchboard asking me for sex for pay!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank myriam t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santiago hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Antonio, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We were in Chile for two weeks and took several trips but always came back to Maria Angola for our Santiago nights. The staff were very helpful, even thru language barriers, and Sam on the evening shift was our go-to guy for all info and assistance, He is a great guy. The hotel is a good value and plenty of shopping and dining within walking distance of the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony, nice for evening bottle of Chilean wine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdefranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

This hotel is rated as four star accomodation. From the outside it looks very smart and initial impressions were good. Unfortunatley for us that is where it ended. We thought that the hotel reception staff were not at all welcoming and the rooms that we stayed in on two seperate occasions were not up to the rating that it displays. We did not have any hot water, the lights did not work, toilet seat broken, bed was uncomfortable, t.v aerial did not work correctly and there was not protection for the outside noise of the city. We are usually pretty chilled out when it comes to hotels, but we paid alot of money and felt that the value was no where near delivered. The only plus points are that it is very close to the city centre and the breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Im the kind of guy that does everything before cuz I hate surprises. I made the reservation 6 months before, and I reserved a superior room (which should be bigger) when I arrived they sent me to a small room, very small, I never saw a room so small, I felt so abused and complained demanding to relocate me to a bugger room, they said they were booked but they had a bigger room with two beds I said NO, I MADE THIS RESERVATION AND I DEMAND MY ROOM, in the end they said my room would be ready only tomorrow, I choose to stay on this bigger room with two beds and decided not to switch for the third time.
The staff was horrible and the guy kept telling me he hated to work there, there was to many problems.
The only good thing here is the location, its 5 min walk to the subway and its located in a nice part of town.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasontrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2010

Very friendly and helpfull staff despite my lack of Spanish. Walking from the tube to the hotel was a mere pleasure. Lots of activities around the station and trees in all streets towards the hotel. Nice and quiet neighbourhood also within walking distance from the centre.
Excellents price/quality. The rooms were ok and with excellent showers. I had both a single and a double room. Breakfast was the best I had during my 2 weeks in Latin America.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artipi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

It's so far from subway and fast traffic ways. Nothing to do. Excellent to job trips only.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielRossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Gen Rooms
#94 of 196 in Santiago
589 reviews
Hotel Alcala Del Rio
#123 of 196 in Santiago
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Baleares
#172 of 196 in Santiago
92 reviews
Providencia
Tulip Inn Presidente Hotel Santiago
Nippon Hotel
#109 of 196 in Santiago
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maria Angola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Angola

Property: Hotel Maria Angola
Address: Avenida Miguel Claro 425, Santiago, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 196 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maria Angola 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maria Angola , belonging to the hotel chain Diego de Almagro is located steps from two of the most important avenues of Santiago , Av . Providencia and Av . 11 de Septiembre , plus stations Salvador metro and Manuel Montt , which will facilitate travel to anywhere in the city. Also, its proximity to commercial and financial centers , the Costanera Andrés Bello and San Cristobal Hill, among other attractions, the Hotel Maria Angola a place of prime location for your stay quiet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Maria Angola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing