We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazon experience”

Museo Interactivo Mirador
Ranked #11 of 502 things to do in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Museo Interactivo Mirador is a huge interactive science museum with lots of educational activities for children and young adults. It also has a playground outside..
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Stairs / elevator
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazon experience”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Mainly for kids as well as for adults its an amazing experience. All physical laws you learnt in school showed in a practical way.
I suggest to arrive early and spend many hours to see every thing.

Helpful?
2 Thank Helena D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,206
    475
    68
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome place!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very interesting place! I felt myself a kid again. With different toys and machines they explaine how things works in nature.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Vic N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
130 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Reasonably entertaining, but sub-par by global standards”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We've been living in Chile for 3 years and have visited the MIM several times with our young children. Having been to many science centers in Canada and the US, the MIM does not compare - it is small and the quality and variety of exhibits pales in comparison. With that said, as far as Chile goes, the MIM is the only venue of its type and can be a great way to pass a rainy / cold day with young children. Our kids particularly love the bubble room, where they can make giant bubbles of different shapes, in some cases encasing themselves in the bubbles. There are a number of other interactive exhibits that really captivate our kids, like construction sites where they can load and transport dirt, balls that balance on upward airstreams, drawing tables, peg boards where you can make hand / body impressions, etc. Upstairs there are also some good exhibits on electricity and outer space. For very young children (under 4 years, I believe), they have an area where they can colour and play simple computer games. There is also a building block area that is similarly tailored to younger children.

In addition to the exhibits, they have a daily schedule of workshops and shows you can sign up for as part of the entrance fee. Unfortunately many of the really interesting ones, like building a robot, are only for older children (over 10 years old)... which really disappointed our 6 and 4 year old boys. Occasionally they have workshops for young children (which my kids never find interesting). They also always have some sort of short movie on a specific topic, like dinosaurs or Chile. The movies are somewhat entertaining, but nothing spectacular or memorable.

So, if you are travelling to Santiago with young children and have some time to kill and want to spend it in a kid-tailored venue that is educational, the MIM is a viable option. Personally, we continue to go to the MIM for something to do for 3-4 hours with the kids during the shoulder seasons when the weather is poor and ski season is closed. In good weather there are many other more compelling options (beach, parks, hiking in nature parks, Mampato amusement park, etc.) to entertain the kids.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WeylandFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great for Kids”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We visited the Museo Interactive Mirador (MIM) and spent several hours there. Everything is about exploration!

We started off by programming robots to collect little plastic logs and sort them. We then went on to lay on a nail bed (doesn't hurt, trust me!), get spun in a chair (with weights in our hands), test out simple machines, and explore the space and music labs.

We finished the day off with a short video about Santiago (which wasn't that good).

They give you two free activities (we did the robots and virtual tour). The robots were awesome; I'd recommend that.

The MIM is really cool and it is worth the trip to the outskirts of Santiago. I would love to go back!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Far away, only for kids”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I would skip the MIM as the location is inconvenient and it is on par (or worse) than children´s museums in other countries. The museum has interactive displays for children and may be worth a visit if you need to get the kids out of your hair but my personal opinion is that the museum is a bit rundown, poorly located and not worth the trip.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank caitlaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Interactivo Mirador also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Museo Interactivo Mirador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing