We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable home in Chile”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vilafranca Petit Hotel
Ranked #15 of 159 Santiago B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A comfortable home in Chile”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Gloria and all her staff were great.
I stayed in one of the top floor rooms which was quite small however with the spacious and very comfortable lounge downstairs and the patio this was no problem.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo1925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    76
    19
    3
    4
See reviews for
30
137
28
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is my fourth stay in the Vila Petit and I must say it has become a second home for me in Santiago. Gloria and her stellar staff never fail to please.....Rooms are on the smaller side (except rooms 2 & 3). But then, with the beautiful living room and patio downstairs at your 24-hour disposal, you don't really need to be cooped up in your room. The complimentary breakfast is filling and the ,location of this beautiful old casa in downtown Providencia, minutes away from amazing restaurants and some good shopping can't be beat! I am looking forward to my fifth stay soonest!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Upala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We loved this place. Gloria, the inkeeper was always there to answer our questions or arrange our reservations, and her staff: Milagros, Lucia and Javier were equally friendly and helpful....Twice when we decided to skip dinner and have snacks instead, we set a table in the beautiful courtyard and totally enjoyed it...Bill and I will definitely go back!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmenandBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

A friendly and welcoming B&B/hotel with a comfortable sitting room and a lovely courtyard garden, in a good area which felt safe to walk around. It is nicely decorated and well maintained and clean. There is good free wifi connection and a computer for guest use. It is near metro stations and a Turbus office, and also nearby are a next-day laundry, supermarket, shops and various restaurants.

We arrived early but they let us have our room anyway, which was great as we were very tired after the flight. We were coming back several weeks later for another couple of nights and they were happy to store our (quite large!) paraglider while we were away, and let us in at 4am when we came back. Gloria was very helpful, gave us suggestions about what to do in Santiago and even lent us a UK adaptor for the rest of our trip around Chile.

Breakfast was simple and good. The rooms are compact but clean and had everything we needed, including a wall safe, very comfortable beds, and a small ensuite. I think one of the rooms overlooking the courtyard is larger but we didn’t stay in that one. It is an old townhouse and the floors do creak but that is part of its charm!

The metro is nearby so getting to the centre, bus station etc is easy. We walked through the Bellavista district to go up Cerro San Christobel. The funicular was closed for repairs but there were free buses up the hill. The zoo is there too. We walked up to the large statue of the Madonna. Apparently there are two swimming pools but they were shut in October. We also went up via the entrance off Pedro de Valdivia Norte, which is not so far from the hotel and good for the Japanese garden and the viewpoint.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riverwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Overall our stay at Vilafranca was positive. This small bed and breakfast is beautifully decorated- feels very much like you are staying in someone's home. My main complaint about this hotel is the noise. It is an older building with poor insulation and creaky stairs. There was a gap under our door about 3 inches high and we could hear everything going on in the whole hotel. Any conversation downstairs echoed right to our room- kind of frustrating when you want to sleep in a bit. Anytime someone walked down the stairs it sounded like elephants. Also their is no airconditioning so can get a little warm in the rooms during the night.
However the beds are extremely comfortable, the staff is very friendly, the back patio is lovely and you are in a nice area in the city and the breakfast was very good!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ali_lebhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed in Vila Franca for three nights from 22nd September.
Smallish but adequate and comfortable bedroom, clean bathroom, but squeeky floorboards make it sounds like someone is in your room when climbing the stairs outside. This is just an observation as some may have noise issues.
Veronica was looking after the Hotel for her sister, and I'd have to say it was her personality that made this visit so worthwhile. She made an effort to teach us some basic Spanish as she improved her more than satisfactory English.
Great breakfast each morning consisted of cereal, orange juice, tea or coffee, cheese, toast, home made jam, home made apple and cinnamon sweet.
Vila Franca is located only 5 min walk to the Metro. There are a few shops/restaurants in the area that we went to with recommendation from Veronica.
We had the most amazing dinner at the well known Astrid Y Gaston restaurant which is just one street away. Simply stunning!
Overall, our stay was friendly, comfortable and good value for money. It is a few stops away from the central area, so if you only have one night in santiago, I'd try to stay in the central area for convenience. Two days or more and it's only a 5 min trip on the Metro, which makes it a quieter option.

Room Tip: Try the top floor to avoid squeeky floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjtoohey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here September 22-6 and really enjoyed the stay. Met some friendly fellow travellers. English spoken by the manageress who treated us as her family. Not perfect in every way but good value for what it is. Easy to get to the metro and from then on to all of Santiago. You can walk to a number of restaurants nearby and for the energetic a walk up San Cristobal!

Room Tip: Great location, good restaurants nearby, metro 5 mins walk. Owner on holiday but her sister was just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
#65 of 196 in Santiago
3,956 reviews
Meridiano Sur, Petit Hotel
#46 of 196 in Santiago
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Orly
#25 of 196 in Santiago
1,651 reviews
Providencia
Solace Hotel Santiago
Solace Hotel Santiago
#6 of 196 in Santiago
392 reviews
RQ Providencia
#61 of 196 in Santiago
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilafranca Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilafranca Petit Hotel

Property: Vilafranca Petit Hotel
Address: Perez Valenzuela 1650, Santiago, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vilafranca Petit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Vilafranca Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing