We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveler rating
18
69
51
11
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
18
69
51
11
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 153 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Riviera Hotel for a night as part of a tour.

Positives first: the hotel was clean and we had good hot water all day. Also, the rooms had comfy beds and both air conditioning and good heating which was much appreciated after a few were much appreciated after a few weeks in the Andes.

And the downsides: the rooms are very very small (barely room to move once you have two people and bags inside), the WiFi wasn’t worth using unless you happened to be awake at 4am when no-one else was on it, and the breakfast was pretty awful. We ate at 9am and there was a very minimal selection of cheese, ham and bread with (plus point) good coffee.

In summary, stay here if you’re travelling on a budget - it’s certainly ok - but it’s not recommended!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank TravellingAl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraHotel_CL, Director General at Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear guest,

We thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel.
Thank you for all the positive notes as well as the negatives, as we're working on improving our operation.

Since your visit, we've made improvements to the breakfast, the coffee, and as well as the internet connection that is now 10X faster than it used to be, thanks to the new fiber optics connection.

Our century-old building used to be a family house, so this is why the rooms are not as spacious as the modern ones but we do make sure our staff is always well trained in providing an honest and warm service for all of our guests.

We thank you again and look forward you had a great overall time in Chile,

Yours truly,

Cecilia Solé
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018 via mobile

We arrived after a long day of travelling to find a pokey room with barely enough room to store our bags. You can't turn around in the bathrooms and the showers are so small that you touch the shower curtain and the wall whilst using it. Breakfast was ok - toast and cheese/ham but nothing special. The good thing about this hotel is it's central location but I otherwise wouldn't recommend it.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank AvidGlobeHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraHotel_CL, Director General at Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel!

We are sorry to hear that your room was not exactly what you had expected after a long day of traveling. We hope this was not because of our false advertisement, as our century-old building used to be a family house, so this is why the rooms are not as spacious as the modern ones but we do make sure our staff is always well trained in providing an honest and warm service for all of our guests.

We appreciate that you like the location because as you said, we're right in the heart of Santiago downtown, by the Santa Lucia Hill, Lastarria Artsy Neighborhood and Fine Arts Museum.

Thank you again for taking the time to write this note,


Yours truly,

Cecilia Solé
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights recently. Whilst clean enough the rooms are incredibly small - barely enough room to walk around the bed. The bathroom is also very small and the water pressure wasn’t good. The location isn’t too bad though. I probably wouldn’t stay there again.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank RedhairMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraHotel_CL, Director General at Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel!

We are sorry to hear that your room was not exactly what you had expected. We hope this was not because of any false advertisement, as our century-old building used to be a family house, so this is why the rooms are not as spacious as the modern ones but very cozy, and we do make sure our staff is always well trained in providing a familiar service for all of our guests.

We appreciate that you like the location because as you said, we're right in the heart of Santiago downtown, by the Santa Lucia Hill, Lastarria Artsy Neighborhood and Fine Arts Museum.

Thank you again for taking the time to write this note,

Cecilia Solé
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2018

A hotel that's close to just about everything, in a safe and relaxed neighbourhood and with a park nearby (the Santa Lucia). A metro station is handily placed, the tiny breakfast bar - sometimes overcrowded if a group is staying and they all want to have their first meal of the day together - does good juice and the usual cheese and jams, and the - again cramped - reception seems to function alright.
Allow time to check out, because if you're standing at the desk with your bags, there's no room for anyone to get past you, and you're constantly having to say 'Excuse me'.
The rooms are clean, tidy and well-maintained, the small en suite showers are fine (the mini baths are too small to sit in, so you just use it as a bowl-shaped shower tray) and there's enough cupboard space.
We enjoyed a three-day stay here. It's very central and handy for everything, it's quiet at night - the city babble dies down by about 9pm - and it's reasonably priced.
All in all, no major issues.

Room tip: Sixth or seventh floors are quietest
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank PUMBRIDGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraHotel_CL, Director General at Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with us.

We're reading all the comments with our customer experience team to implement some new improvements to our day-to-day operation so thank you for your kind words.

As most guests express, our location is definitely one of the highlights, with the main subway line station just less than a block away, across the Santa Lucia Hill and the Lastarria's artsy neighbor, so we appreciate this was a great highlight for you too and would love to welcome you again in the near future,


Thank you again for taking the time to write this note,

Cecilia Solé
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2018 via mobile

This hotel is just two blocks from the Santa Lucia metro station. It is a small hotel which is kept clean and tidy. The rooms are small, the bathrooms are tiny. Beds are comfortable, and most of the rooms have a/c. The staff are friendly and helpful, and speak some English. The breakfast was disappointing, and scant. However, there are other breakfast options nearby, and also there is a nice little convenience store next door.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Eileen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraHotel_CL, Director General at Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with us.

We're reviewing all the comments with our customer experience team to implement some new improvements to our day-to-day operation so thank you for your kind words.

We've made some improvements to our breakfast menu since your last visit! We listened to our guests' feedback!
Also, we have A/C in all of our rooms in preparation for hotter summers.

We're also very glad that you enjoy our friendly staff, as they're who make our hotel a very charming one.

Thank you again for taking the time to write this note,

Cecilia Solé
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews